Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Five external hard drives - solution??
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi, I'm a newb. Just struggling with this one.

I use xbmc on a PC - Windows XP.

I have 5 external hard drives. 2 have movies, 2 TV and one music.

Only 2 of these drives can be plugged into my machine at once.

Can I have one movies folder within xbmc which stores the movies from multiple hard drives - even if one of them is not connected to my computer?

Do I need to create two movie folders within xmbc - Movies1 and Movies2 which relate to the two movie hard drives I have?

Same question applies to my two TV drives.

Thanks
Why don't you buy a usb hub?
Windows Home Server can pool the drives into one storage area.... no need for multiple folders... personally I'd take the drives outa the enclosures and use them internally with something like WHS or FreeNAS...
Thanks for the replies. I'm not going to take my drives apart to be honest.

Hub would be good but I just don't want to have all drives connected at once - they're not always in the same place - that's why I bought portable USB drives in the first place. Often they are with friends and family.

So, can anyone answer my questions?
You can add multiple movie locations, spread across several hdd's, just add each movie folder then set content to movie, and they all get pooled into the movies on XBMC, and if a film is on a drive that's not connected, it will still show, but wont play, obviously. Just dont "clean" the library without all the drives attached, as it will delete all the movies that are not available at the time.

Same for TV obviously.

I currently have 4 drives with content on them all, all external, but soon to be put into a home server rig (if i can find a donor pc to use)
Also note that if your on linux name the drives differently! otherwise they'll fight over which is named what.