Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Few questions about my skin
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2

well i decided if xbmc was going to be my default dash i might as well start making skins for it. while reading through the skinning documentation it made references to being able to use toggle buttons rather than fonts. looking at the media center skin that was included with the 1.0 release i can see how to set this up but noticed that a font 16 is referenced in the xml in the button setup portion. is this needed? i can't see the need to specify a font if your not going to use one.

also all the other skins i've made for various programs all use the 640x480 dimensions while i see xbmc skins using a 720x576 setup. is it ok to use 640x480?

i'd appreciate any info you guys can give, and here's what i've got so far. any comments welcomed as i'm new to xbmc skinning and i'm not sure if this will turn out ok once it gets put on the screen. thanks.

hi, and welcome!

the look of that skin is very, very nice indeed Smile

as for the fonts stuff, i don't think you'll need to define the font parameter - we check if it's valid only after rendering the button's image.

as for the coordinates system, we use 720x576 to get the most out of the screen realestate with minimal scaling. basically, if you are designing for pal, stick to 720x576. ntsc uses 720x480. if you just design for the 1 system you use, xbmc will stretch it to fit the other resolutions reasonably well, although you may find you need a few tweaks here and there.

you'll find your best bet is using the project mayhem files to base your skin off, as that is the default, and thus the only skin that is always up to date.

if you have any queries whatsoever, please don't hesitate to ask (after searching, of course).

cheers,
jonathan
puddwakkr

i really like the look of the skin thus far.