Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: After running ‘apt-get upgrade’ getting ‘hardware OpenGL rendering error’
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi Guys,

I am trying to install XBMC-Live on AsRock 330HT. Everything was fine until I ran below command.

apt-get update
apt-get upgrade

The reason I ran these commands was to upgrade the system to configure wireless N to get the stable connection.
My wireless connection was very fragile. When ever I tried to view an 4GB MKV files from my network, the movie my freezes and give the message – Connection is lost.

It looks like the above command messed up the Nvidia driver, so I downloaded Linux version from Nvindia website.
I am new to Linux, so kindly let me know the steps and commands to install the driver from USB stick.

Thanks,
Code:
sudo service xbmc-live stop
sudo sh /path/to/NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-195.36.08-pkg1.run
sudo reboot
JumJum Wrote:
Code:
sudo sh /path/to/NVIDIA-Linux-x86_64-195.36.08-pkg1.run
sudo reboot

Thanks JumJum for your reply.
Do I have to copy the driver in USB stick to make the commands work?

Thanks,
mgoyalcan Wrote:Thanks JumJum for your reply.
Do I have to copy the driver in USB stick to make the commands work?

Thanks,

No, you can place it anywhere you have access to. Just change the "/path/to/" part to the path of the file.
Hi JumJum,

Sorry for bothering you. I am very new to Linux and did not understand when you are saying changing "/path/to/".

Is it possible to give me command for USB stick as it is the easiest way for me.

Thanks again.
the /path/to is just where the driver is located.

so if you are trying to install it from your usb drive, you would need to know where your usb drive is mounted.

Code:
sudo fdisk -l

will tell you where the stick is mounted to.