Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Handbrake settings for DVD encoding to MKV (h.264 + AC3 or DTS)
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I've been using XBMC for several months for movie rips encoded by others. I'm now starting the task of encoding my DVD collection to MKV using h.264 video compression and pass through of the existing primary AC3 or DTS audio tracks. The software is easy to use and I'm getting files that seem passable at first, but then seem to have a major flaw.

When I check playback in MPC-HC everything seems to work, though I'll have pockets of dropped frames, usually 10-20, here and there but always at the same location for a particular file (though in different spots from file to file). In MPC-HC, playback will continue through the problem sections. When I import the files into XBMC and play them back, these problem areas seem to choke the player and playback stops and exits back out to the library.

My basic Handbrake settings are Single Pass video, Loose Anamorphic with Automatic Crop, Audio pass through of AC3 or DTS, and target file size of 1.5gb for AC3 or 2gb for DTS audio.

Obviously I'm doing something wrong with my video encoding. Are there any Handbrake settings I need to change, or supplemental codecs or splitters I need to install outside of Handbrake?

Thanks in advance.
I use a constant quality of 20 and the rest on normal setting and get no problems (knock on wood) Also try downloading the latest handbrake version.
I have the latest version. What file sizes are you getting, and using what type of audio?

Thanks!
I'd use constant quality rather than a target file size. I use CQ 19.25 and always keep the original audio (use AC3 or DTS passthru), High Profile but change anamorphic to strict.