Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: AAC audio over HTSP(TvHeadend) not working?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
Hello.

I've been using Xbmc for many years on Xbox, Linux and Windows.

Now I'm trying to use Xbmc as frontend to my HTS TvHeadend backend, and have run into some problems.

The tvheadend is receiving H.264 streams with AAC audio.

I can view / hear these streams perfectly wth HTS Showtime; but in XBMC I get video only.

Some of these streams have secondary AC3 audiostreams, and switching to AC3 in XBMC works.

- Is there any way to "forward" the streams from xbmc to some external player?
- Are there any plans to support AAC in Xbmc any time soon?
- Any "trick" to solving my problem?

Regards, Anders
we do support aac for the most part.. just that hey are running AAC-HE which is very badly supported currently. I've seen it crash xbmc badly too. Think the ffmpeg support is better than libfaad that we currently use, but it was shaky too.. Thou last time i tested we had a much older ffmpeg.

Will most likely switch over to the ffmpeg one soon.
Well, ok.
I suspected something like that. :-)
Showtime uses ffmpeg - and it works perfectly.

So what I'll have to do is just wait until (if) xbmc switch to ffmpeg?
No way to circumvent the problem by routing the htsp-stream to a filter or external player of some sort?

I've been testing the pvr-testing2 branch too, stil the same problem (of course). But that really shows some promise for the future!
No suggestions?

Is it in any way possible to forward the htsp-stream to some external player / filter that supports AAC-HE?
I have the same problem with AAC HTSP (tvheadend).

Any solution?
I will most likely switch us over to using ffmpeg aac decoder. But i need to verify that it doesn't break anything first.
Thanks for the fast answer. Then we will wait...
You know what they say....: "If it ain't broken.... break it!" :-)