Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: XBMCLive impressions and comments
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I am fairly new to this world, but I am very old in the digital world (I am 70+ years; started in the digital Hardware/Software game in 1960)

I am very impressed with XBMC and this community from several standpoints. Not being vary familiar with Linux I was a little nervous but all is working out well and my slightly arthritic fingers are getting a reasonable workout from typing.

I run a high end Home Theater which has been my hobby for several years now. The theater has a 10 TB raid system with a maximum capcity of 20 TB. It is the unRaid system from limetech, but I did the build as a custom rack mount as I enjoy doing that. The main A/V processor is an Anthem AVM 50v feeding a JVC RS2 projector for a stunning 10 foot wide screen in a dedicated theater room. The sound array is a full 7.1 system at 200 watts per channel and much more for the sub.

The Theater is controlled by a dedicated PC with the user interface being a Pronto 9800. If I get the urge I will do the work to replace the Pronto with an iPAD. The control system has a complete movie librarian spanning over 500 titles (BR and DVD) based on the DVD Profiler system. I have two Players, a Dune unit which is very good, the only disk that gave it an issue is Avatar and that should be resolved this month. It properly handles True HD and Master Audio feeding them out over HDMI along with the video. The Dune player is as close to a appliance movie player I have seen. The Theater now has the XBMC as a second player and I can set which player I want to use just prior to selecting the movie to play.

Bluray rips are to the same format as a BR disk with the trailers and dire warnings removed. Same for the DVD's. All music is ripped to FLAC.