Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Digital Audio Problems on Revo 3610 Running Ubuntu 10.4
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi there,

I recently bought a Acer Revo 3610 to create a Media PC for the front room by installing Ubuntu + XBMC. I installed Ubuntu with ease and since i am relatively new to Ubuntu i folowed some online guides to to install XBMC, again with very few issues.

I have an older Yamaha Amp which does not have HDMI input and therefore wish to use the digital optical SPDIF out provided by the REVO for all sound whilst outputting video via HDMI. After fiddling and reading lots of forums i have managed to get almost there but not quite enough for me to be satisfied..... Summary of my issue is that I can succesffuly play music via SPDIF in Ubuntu apps and XBMC but attempting to playback video in XBMC i get a "Failed to initialize audio device" blah blah. Strangely if i fiddle with the audio source on the DVD playback menu it suddenly kicks in and my amp gets dolby dts OK. So it does work but not without manually fiddling!! So here is what i did:

-- Installed Ubuntu following a recent forum guide ensuring i downloaded the up to date NVidia ION drivers
-- Hooked up the TV via the HDMI port
-- fired up alsalmixer and unmuted all sound channels
-- fired up sound preferences and changed audio output to "Digital Stereo (IEC958) + Analog Stereo Input"
-- fired up XBMC and changed the System Sound Output settings as follows:
Audio Output=Digital
Dolby AC3 Capable Receiver=true (ticked)
DTS Capable Receiver=true (ticked)
Audio Output Device="Internal Audio Digital Stereo (IEC958)"
Passthrough Device=iec958
Downmix Multichannel=true (ticked but i have also tried this as unticked)