Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Is it possible to scroll smoothly with fanart?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Without fanart I can scroll up and down a list at blistering speed, with it on it stutters alot. Yes I'm on limited hardware, but I'm not complaining about that.

The fanart changes the instant a new item is selected yes? Is there a proper method to add a delay, thus the fanart won't continually try to change while scrolling or advancing in quick steps? i.e. it only loads when I stop moving. Or is it not possible at the minute to stop fanart loading affect the scrolling?

Thanks
I'm trying to figure this out as well.. I'm still learning how XBMC works too.

I'm not sure how the fanart loads... it it just directly pulls it from the internet each time but having it stored on the local hard drive wouldn't bother me. (does it do that already?)
Whenever you scrape your stuff the fanart gets saved into your userdata folder so it loads pretty quickly from there each time. I just want to know about delaying the loading into the gui so that it doesn't affect scrolling/stepping through a list smoothly.
Are you using:

<control type="largeimage">

or

<control type="image">

With background loading, <control type="largeimage">, the texture will load in the background and allowing smooth scrolling...

On my low end PC even in Confluence fanart doesn't show instantly but scrolling is fine...
I've tried 'largeimage' and 'image' with background loading set to true. Doesn't make a difference, the scrolling is still affected by the fanart rapidly trying to change. It's isn't unbearable or anything but I was just wondering if a delay can be added so that the fanart only loads when I settle on an item, thus scrolling won't be affected at all.