Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: [LIVE] Video card change
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi guys,
I have installed some time ago the xmbc live 9.11 on my pc (Core 2 duo, 4gb ram, radeon hd 3450).
I then discovered that the video card was not supported and had to turn to software rendering (thanks to the suggestions of this great forum Smile.
I noticed, after some tests, that XBMC on windows plays videos more smoothly than on the Live version, and I think it's because under windows I have the drivers for the video card and under the Live version I haven't them.

I now decided to buy a nvidia video card (geforce 210) because it supports the vdpau rendering.
Since I'm not experienced with linux, if I change the video card, do I have to do something with the Live installation to make it work?
Or have I to format and reinstall?
In the second case, can I save the settings and restore them after the reinstall? (I mean, the sources, the 'V' check near any film I already watched, and so on)

Thanks for any help, and sorry if my questions looks very basic for linux users Blush
Hi guys,
I finally bought the new geforce 210 video card, and it works much better than the old radeon under win7.

The problem is that now the xbmc live doesn't boot anymore No
Well, to be more clear ubuntu boots correctly, but xbmc doesn't start anymore.
It is not a problem since I can erase the partition and reinstall it from scratch, but I would like to save the config files to save the sources.xml and the file(s) where the already watched films are stored, I mean that I want to keep the 'V' check mark near every video I already watched.

But:
1) I don't know where the files are located in linux
2) I don't know which files to save and restore in the new installation
3) Is there a simple way to 'export' the settings and import to the new installation? (I mean without playing with the xbmc conf files)