Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Live Install - Zotac GT210 HDMI Sound
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi All,

I decided to attempt to build up a media centre using an old HP computer and a Zotac GT210 Graphics card.

I have installed the latest ALSA drivers;
Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Driver Version 1.0.23.
Compiled on Aug 2 2010 for kernel 2.6.31-16-generic (SMP).

I now have a device showing up in the XBMC GUI - Sound as "NVIDIA HDMI" so I selected this for all sound output, however I'm not getting any sound across the HDMI at all. From what I can see the device is unmuted in alsamixer.

What else do I need to do to get sound over the HDMI? BTW I'm a linux noob so I will need exact commands to follow Sad

Thanks.

Billy.
Make sure first you have run:
Code:
sudo alsaconf

Then follow this guide - http://forum.xbmc.org/showpost.php?p=502129&postcount=1
Hey thanks for the fast reply, when I run "sudo alsaconf" I get the following error;

andrew@XBMCLive:~$ sudo alsaconf
sudo: alsaconf: command not found

Any ideas?

Thanks.
Check this out - http://monespaceperso.org/blog-en/2010/0...ynx-10-04/

Works for me everytime
I did another clean install of XBMC Live to disk and followed the link u sent me but still same issue, I noticed several problems along the way....also googled them and noticed others with same issue but couldnt find a resolution....is it because I'm using the live version?

Problems;

bill@XBMCLive:~$ cat /proc/asound/version
Advanced Linux Sound Architecture Driver Version 1.0.20.

First issue cant stop alsa-utils
bill@XBMCLive:~$ sudo /sbin/alsa-utils stop
sudo: /sbin/alsa-utils: command not found

Nothing updated
bill@XBMCLive:~$ sudo apt-get -y install build-essential ncurses-dev gettext xmlto libasound2-dev
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done