Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: A few basic questions
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I am very new to this and have searched for hours and come up empty on a few basic questions. Hopefully someone can put me in the right direction.

I have XBMC running on my Acer Revo. I have had it for about 5 months now and it is running great but I would like to take it to the next level.

How do I update to the latest build of XMBC?
Should I update to Dharma?
Where can I get the latest version of Python so I can start downloading scripts?

Thanks for your help.
Knowing which Linux Distro you're running would help.
oy, i don't even understand what you are asking

if its the operating system then it is linux 2.6.31-16-generic #53-ubuntu smp
Sounds like he is running XBMC LIVE or on top of Ubuntu. I would not recommend upgrading until the next official release. You do not appear to have the knowledge of linux to troubleshoot some of the issues you will run into upgrading to SVN builds. If you want to stay stable and functional I'd leave it alone for now. Only try upgrading if you can handle your HTPC being down for several days. I've been down for over a week trying to get things back in order on top of Lucid and even though I'm running and can watch videos again....I still have lots of little issues to sort out. Just a suggestion. As far as learning more about linux, this site is great......just read through some posts and follow some of the guides.......but only if you have the patience. Good Luck!

-hogfan