Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: [depricated] old YouTube Plugin - XBMC 13.0 Frodo/Gotham only
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
(2014-05-30, 01:39)NoMad28 Wrote: [ -> ]BTW: Is anybody in for a crowd-funded youtube plugin? I don't mean to blame the developers, I appreciate their hard work - but it's volunteer work. The YouTube-Plugin didn't work for me since months. And since this thread has more than 4000 posts I can't be the only one struggling with this software... Maybe we need some paid developer(s) to fix this? I'd happily spend $20 for a working YT plugin with proper support and reliable updates.

I think I might agree to that. I have no idea how to use this plugin in anyway that makes it convenient. I'm trying to figure out how to access channels and playlists at the moment and can't make head or tails of it. I'm starting to think I can't access those things without logging in.

EDIT:
I'm not talking about subscriptions but just finding channels. Then going and accessing their playlists. I don't sub to people right away but I still want to be able to access their channels and all their videos, without having to make a blind youtube search.
The notion goes against the fundamentals of what the open source nature that the XBMC Community has been about for more than 10 years.
@dCypher there is nothing inconsistent between paying a developer and opensource.

@NerdyPi does this work for you? http://addons.xbmc.org/show/plugin.video....channels/
in 4.4.8 version the duration of clips showed is incorrect. there are two zero after the effective time.
41 seconds are showed as 41.00
Peppe
@nickr, I have it installed as well because it has been a lot more convenient for most of my youtubing on xbmc. However, it has no playlist support that I've been able to discover.

I did manage to get logged in on this plugin yesterday and now I can finally access playlists of people I'm subscribed to. I don't like that I have to subscribe to a channel to access it and it's playlists though. I still haven't been able to find a way to search by channel and through that, access any playlists. Now that I have managed to log in, I think this plugin might serve me much better.

I was a bit frustrated the other day because I've been having trouble with several other plugins on xbmc lately; they seem like popular plugins but the threads feel mostly dead and I haven't managed to get help in them.
(2014-05-29, 19:59)SomeOne2367 Wrote: [ -> ]Download from youtube not working after I upgraded raspbmc and youtube plugin to latest versions.

Is anyone else same problem?
Problem was with socket lock. Its works after I deleted commoncache.db and commoncache.socket files and restarted raspberry.
(2014-05-31, 12:33)peppe_sr Wrote: [ -> ]in 4.4.8 version the duration of clips showed is incorrect. there are two zero after the effective time.
41 seconds are showed as 41.00
Peppe

i'm getting the same thing.
here's my log -- http://pastebin.com/kJbqLaCq
4.4.8 works correctly on my minix neo x7 on android 4.2.2, login issue fixed again.
Can the following change be made to the getFolderInfo function in the Core file?

Code:
title = title.replace(": "," - ");
title = title.replace("Activity of - ", "")
title = title.replace("Videos published by - ", "")

instead of
Code:
title = title[title.find(": ") + 2:]

You can lose a lot of title information by just truncating it, and it's annoying changing it myself every time there's a new release :-)
(2014-05-31, 12:33)peppe_sr Wrote: [ -> ]in 4.4.8 version the duration of clips showed is incorrect. there are two zero after the effective time.
41 seconds are showed as 41.00

I had the same problem. I see there was a commit earlier today that looks like it is addressing this problem. I made the change manually on my local installation and the issue is fixed.

https://github.com/HenrikDK/youtube-xbmc...0a43ec8108
Guys,

The search function is NOT working for me. It comes back with a "connection failed" msg saying:

"failed to connect to url
http://www.primewire.ag"

I can connect just fine to the above site using my browser, but xbmc chokes!!!

I'm using v 2.2.0!

Anyone ha s a clue on how to fix that?

THX
(2014-06-03, 07:21)pmolson Wrote: [ -> ]Guys,

The search function is NOT working for me. It comes back with a "connection failed" msg saying:

"failed to connect to url
http://www.primewire.ag"

I can connect just fine to the above site using my browser, but xbmc chokes!!!

I'm using v 2.2.0!

Anyone ha s a clue on how to fix that?

THX

What does this have to do with YouTube? That URL has absolutely nothing to do with YouTube. Post a full log in xbmclogs.com or pastebin and post the link so someone can help you.
You are absolutely correct. My bad, I've posted in the wrong section..I don't what I was thinking about LOL. This search problem is with the 1Channel plugin, not Youtube.
And what is more 1channel is a banned topic here.
(2014-06-01, 20:32)Kaylakaze Wrote: [ -> ]<snip>

When i changed that i got a scripted failed with v 4.4.8.
I changed it to this:
Code:
if title.find(": ") > 0:
    #title = title[title.find(": ") + 2:]
    title = title.replace(": "," - ");  # also tried to remove this semicolon
    title = title.replace("Activity of - ", "")
    title = title.replace("Videos published by - ", "")
    title = self.common.replaceHTMLCodes(title)

If I just changed it to this:
Code:
if title.find(": ") > 0:
    #title = title[title.find(": ") + 2:]
    title = self.common.replaceHTMLCodes(title)
I didn't notice much difference except for the string "Activity of:" in front of the channel names in my subscriptions. So what sort of information might potentially be lost?

(I don't know Python, just php, javascript and a few others, so this went by trail and error ...)