Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: [depricated] old YouTube Plugin - XBMC 13.0 Frodo/Gotham only
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
While I'm 95% sure the answer is 'No', will this addon work for YouTube rentals and commercial purchases? I'm interested in buying The Interview on YouTube but watching it via XBMC. But I'm guessing that this certainly won't play via the YouTube addon even if I buy it ligit on my YouTube account?
What happen to my favorites now that its the default YouTube plugin . Bromix YouTube that is.
(2014-12-24, 20:09)DJ_Izumi Wrote: [ -> ]While I'm 95% sure the answer is 'No', will this addon work for YouTube rentals and commercial purchases? I'm interested in buying The Interview on YouTube but watching it via XBMC. But I'm guessing that this certainly won't play via the YouTube addon even if I buy it ligit on my YouTube account?

I have added purchase support. You can't directly open these videos in xbmc because they have DRM. So I added support to launch a chrome browser. You need to have logged into the chrome browser first time for this to work.

This code is based on what's in the netflixbmc plugin

https://github.com/pellcorp/youtube-xbmc...se_support

Its only been tested on Linux
just updated to the new version, seems like unicode search is broken, was supported in the past,
hope to see it again, thanks!
here's the exception log:

17:08:38 T:5048 ERROR: EXCEPTION Thrown (PythonToCppException) : -->Python callback/script returned the following error<--
- NOTE: IGNORING THIS CAN LEAD TO MEMORY LEAKS!
Error Type: <type 'exceptions.UnicodeEncodeError'>
Error Contents: 'ascii' codec can't encode characters in position 0-1: ordinal not in range(128)
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "C:\Users\<myuser>\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\plugin.video.youtube\default.py", line 7, in <module>
runner.run(__provider__)
File "C:\Users\<myuser>\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\plugin.video.youtube\resources\lib\kodion\runner.py", line 16, in run
__RUNNER__.run(provider, context)
File "C:\Users\<myuser>\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\plugin.video.youtube\resources\lib\kodion\impl\xbmc\xbmc_runner.py", line 22, in run
results = provider.navigate(context)
File "C:\Users\<myuser>\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\plugin.video.youtube\resources\lib\kodion\abstract_provider.py", line 103, in navigate
result = method(context, re_match)
File "C:\Users\<myuser>\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\plugin.video.youtube\resources\lib\kodion\abstract_provider.py", line 277, in _internal_search
return self.on_search(query, context, re_match)
File "C:\Users\<myuser>\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\plugin.video.youtube\resources\lib\youtube\provider.py", line 343, in on_search
q=search_text, search_type=search_type, page_token=page_token)
File "C:\Users\<myuser>\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\plugin.video.youtube\resources\lib\kodion\utils\function_cache.py", line 108, in get
cached_data = partial_func()
File "C:\Users\<myuser>\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\plugin.video.youtube\resources\lib\youtube\client\youtube.py", line 340, in search
return self._perform_v3_request(method='GET', path='search', params=params)
File "C:\Users\<myuser>\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\plugin.video.youtube\resources\lib\youtube\client\youtube.py", line 368, in _perform_v3_request
result = client.get(_url, params=_params, headers=_headers)
File "C:\Users\<myuser>\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\plugin.video.youtube\resources\lib\kodion\client\api.py", line 82, in get
return _request('GET', url, params=params, headers=headers)
File "C:\Users\<myuser>\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\plugin.video.youtube\resources\lib\kodion\client\api.py", line 32, in _request
query = urllib.urlencode(params)
File "C:\Program Files (x86)\XBMC13\system\python\Lib\urllib.py", line 1326, in urlencode
v = quote_plus(str(v))
UnicodeEncodeError: 'ascii' codec can't encode characters in position 0-1: ordinal not in range(128)
-->End of Python script error report<--
Hi all,

I have strange issue with the addon (it is not patched, installed from official xbmc repo) until few weeks ago i was unable to login for more than a year. Finally logged ind but it whenever I use the addon i get buffering message in menu's. Even if i leave the youtube addon, is still get buffering message, menu's is very slow to respond when in movies library or any other section except main menu.

Thank you
undefined
When I went to use this today a message popped up telling me to go to youtube.com/activiate to enter a code to activate my device. Never seen this before. Did Youtube change something where this won't work anymore unless you activate on their site? When I go there to activate it says something about if I do this I must allow Youtube TV access to my history and information.

Confused.
(2015-01-01, 00:42)StinDaWg Wrote: [ -> ]When I went to use this today a message popped up telling me to go to youtube.com/activiate to enter a code to activate my device. Never seen this before. Did Youtube change something where this won't work anymore unless you activate on their site? When I go there to activate it says something about if I do this I must allow Youtube TV access to my history and information.
The Youtube plugin in Kodi has been switched to this plugin, and it uses a different login system than the old plugin.

jonib
OK thanks.
This addon updated automatically a few days ago, and I can no longer sign in. When I click "Sign In" I just get the busy icon spinning and spinning. I'm on Gotham 13.2. Any suggestions for a fix? Everything worked perfectly up until a few days ago Sad
Hello can anyone help please I'm new I maked a playlist on YouTube addon I have Gotham 13.2 I clicked my options under settings video play next video and music play next song but when I'm in the playlist of YouTube its for nothing only play 1 music video and stops it's very nice when I'm cleaning my house see some videos and prepare things, is there any other way when I click more options on video it's says "play only this" nothing else thanks.

cheers
Happy weekend
Hey updated to 5.0.0 and it was working after I activated it but when you sent update 5.0.1 update fail is there a fix coming for it or a way to manually update it to 5.0.1? Very time I try in XBMC it fails.

Thanks for time
(2015-01-03, 21:55)lowrider3121 Wrote: [ -> ]Hey updated to 5.0.0 and it was working after I activated it but when you sent update 5.0.1 update fail is there a fix coming for it or a way to manually update it to 5.0.1? Very time I try in XBMC it fails.

Thanks for time
Wrong thread, you want the one for the current addon.

1880102 (post)
Hello from my previous message its okey on YouTube now I have the play all playlist + shuffle it's very cool thanks to anyone that make it I love you!!
I'm on recent version and I noticed some options missing:
- no movie max resolution settings (720p always), no support for 1080p
- I can't see any option for download movie, is this removed? Any plans to add it again in new version?