Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: [depricated] old YouTube Plugin - XBMC 13.0 Frodo/Gotham only
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
soder Wrote:What are the update for the Leanback function in Youtube plugin for XBMC?

It would be great to just have a link that bring up the leanback, and then we can browse YouTube with our Android phones.

/Söder

As far as I can see this would be a major rewrite of the addon to function as a script, so its not something we're working on as we're pretty happy keeping this addon a plugin. But if anyone else wants to spend their time working on this we'll gladly yield our spot in the official repo for such an addon.
HenrikDK Wrote:As far as I can see this would be a major rewrite of the addon to function as a script, so its not something we're working on as we're pretty happy keeping this addon a plugin. But if anyone else wants to spend their time working on this we'll gladly yield our spot in the official repo for such an addon.

I know nothing about this kind of stuff, but is it harder to start this stream then another youtube stream?

/Söder
soder Wrote:I know nothing about this kind of stuff, but is it harder to start this stream then another youtube stream?

/Söder

There is much more to this than just requesting a stream. Actually the stream is just the video, and you get the same video stream no matter which interface you use (standard or leanback), so the only difference is the interface, not the videos.

Look, to do what you request we might as well just throw out the entire plugin as it is, and start it all over as a script. We are not going to abandon what is already there because of what is, quite honestly, a minor feature.

As it is you can already tell the youtube plugin to play a specific video, and if you so please you can make a program for android that will do just that.

But it is something that is beyond the scope of what we want to do with this plugin, but we welcome any programs/plugins that interface with our plugin. It should be quite doable to make something for the android that will hook into our plugin.

As i see it leanback is mostly just another interface/gui to youtube. There is no possibility of the plugin to provide a different interface than what we currently do.

The only way to provide a different interface is to make a script. We have no intention of doing that.

There is a youtube script out there. If you really want this you can either a) Ask the developer of the youtube script to implement it. or b) Implement it yourself based on that youtube script.

It is not going to be possible to give you what you want with our plugin, and there is currently no possibility of that changing. It would require a HUGE change in XBMC, and i have no interest in trying to persuade the core XBMC developers to change this. If you really want this to happen with our plugin, you will have to take it up with the core XBMC developers, or do it yourself.

Sincerely
Tobias Ussing
Thanks for a very nice post. =)

/Söder
Ok, just played around with proxychains, but sadly couldn't get it to work Sad
I won't get any Internet-Connection when using proxychains and therefore videos won't load either.
Any hints, how the proxychains.cong has look like?
My proxy definitely works - jzst tested it in firefox.
eistee Wrote:Ok, just played around with proxychains, but sadly couldn't get it to work Sad
I won't get any Internet-Connection when using proxychains and therefore videos won't load either.
Any hints, how the proxychains.cong has look like?
My proxy definitely works - jzst tested it in firefox.

Having never used it, no clue.

Let me google that for you.
http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forums/ba...hains.html
http://sickness.tor.hu/?p=227
Hi,

I have problems playing videos on Fedora 14. My XBMC version is xbmc-10.0-1.fc14.x86_64 (installed through yum). Search function returns "uncaught error" - log below... I installed the 2.0 plugin through the Add-ons interface. I can see thumbnails in the predefined categories but no videos actually start playing. I tried with the firewall turned off and I got the same results. I would appreciate any help. Thanks,,,


00:16:20 T:139716147590912 M:5523431424 NOTICE: -->Python Interpreter Initialized<--
00:16:20 T:139716147590912 M:5523431424 NOTICE: YouTube-2.0.0
00:16:20 T:139715470677760 M:5519810560 WARNING: CreateLoader - Unsupported protocol(addons) in addons://sources/poster.jpg
00:16:21 T:139715199854336 M:5519642624 WARNING: Previous line repeats 1 times.
00:16:21 T:139715199854336 M:5519642624 WARNING: CreateLoader - Unsupported protocol(plugin) in plugin://plugin.video.youtube/poster.jpg
00:16:21 T:139716147590912 M:5519400960 NOTICE: -->Python Interpreter Initialized<--
00:16:21 T:139716147590912 M:5519400960 NOTICE: YouTube-2.0.0
00:16:43 T:139716147590912 M:5527142400 NOTICE: -->Python Interpreter Initialized<--
00:16:43 T:139716147590912 M:5527142400 NOTICE: YouTube-2.0.0
00:16:44 T:139716495153376 M:5526249472 ERROR: GetDirectory - Error getting plugin://plugin.video.youtube/?path=/root/login&action=settings&
00:16:44 T:139716495153376 M:5526249472 ERROR: CGUIMediaWindow::GetDirectory(plugin://plugin.video.youtube/?path=/root/login&action=settings&) failed
I am sorry to bring this up again but I am confused...

Do I understand this correctly and is this expected behavior?
1) I have to play a video while adding to queue for the queing to work?
2) I cannot see the queue anywhere?
3) If I select a new video from the add-on (instead of nexting the queue) the queue will be cancelled?

It would not be a huge problem if this part of xbmc wasn't a bit challanging for the user. (press the green button, press guide, select queue, press home, press enter)
Perhaps there is a simple way to do this or I am otherwise mistaken?

I gather it is not possible to implement "play playlist"?
I don't want to questioning it too much considering the obviously superior quality of this add-on. I have to look in the code to grasp that issue.
TobiasTheCommie Wrote:Having never used it, no clue.

Let me google that for you.
http://www.backtrack-linux.org/forums/ba...hains.html
http://sickness.tor.hu/?p=227

Yet found those links too, but they didn't help me.

I've just pm'ed ChinaXBMCer - maybe he can help me out.
vikjon0 Wrote:I am sorry to bring this up again but I am confused...

Do I understand this correctly and is this expected behavior?
1) I have to play a video while adding to queue for the queing to work?
2) I cannot see the queue anywhere?
3) If I select a new video from the add-on (instead of nexting the queue) the queue will be cancelled?

It would not be a huge problem if this part of xbmc wasn't a bit challanging for the user. (press the green button, press guide, select queue, press home, press enter)
Perhaps there is a simple way to do this or I am otherwise mistaken?

I gather it is not possible to implement "play playlist"?
I don't want to questioning it too much considering the obviously superior quality of this add-on. I have to look in the code to grasp that issue.

Your right in you assesment of the situation and we're not happy about it.

That being said we've recently been investigating this issue and besides our current trac request http://trac.xbmc.org/ticket/10959, we've discovered an option that might present a solution, though it's not gonna be pretty Smile.
vaclav77 Wrote:Hi,

I have problems playing videos on Fedora 14. My XBMC version is xbmc-10.0-1.fc14.x86_64 (installed through yum). Search function returns "uncaught error" - log below... I installed the 2.0 plugin through the Add-ons interface. I can see thumbnails in the predefined categories but no videos actually start playing. I tried with the firewall turned off and I got the same results. I would appreciate any help. Thanks,,,


00:16:20 T:139716147590912 M:5523431424 NOTICE: -->Python Interpreter Initialized<--
00:16:20 T:139716147590912 M:5523431424 NOTICE: YouTube-2.0.0
00:16:20 T:139715470677760 M:5519810560 WARNING: CreateLoader - Unsupported protocol(addons) in addons://sources/poster.jpg
00:16:21 T:139715199854336 M:5519642624 WARNING: Previous line repeats 1 times.
00:16:21 T:139715199854336 M:5519642624 WARNING: CreateLoader - Unsupported protocol(plugin) in plugin://plugin.video.youtube/poster.jpg
00:16:21 T:139716147590912 M:5519400960 NOTICE: -->Python Interpreter Initialized<--
00:16:21 T:139716147590912 M:5519400960 NOTICE: YouTube-2.0.0
00:16:43 T:139716147590912 M:5527142400 NOTICE: -->Python Interpreter Initialized<--
00:16:43 T:139716147590912 M:5527142400 NOTICE: YouTube-2.0.0
00:16:44 T:139716495153376 M:5526249472 ERROR: GetDirectory - Error getting plugin://plugin.video.youtube/?path=/root/login&action=settings&
00:16:44 T:139716495153376 M:5526249472 ERROR: CGUIMediaWindow::GetDirectory(plugin://plugin.video.youtube/?path=/root/login&action=settings&) failed

Hi vaclav77, we need the entire log with the plugins debug mode enabled, your specific section doesn't really say anything.
Quote:Your right in you assesment of the situation and we're not happy about it.
Thank you.

I am not a big youtuber, but since they cancelled MTV in basic cable locally I needed some new background video/sound while doing other stuff. A youtube playlist is the solution for this. All I really want is to loop the items in the playlist in one flow. I assume there is a good reason why this is not easily done.
vikjon0 Wrote:Thank you.

I am not a big youtuber, but since they cancelled MTV in basic cable locally I needed some new background video/sound while doing other stuff. A youtube playlist is the solution for this. All I really want is to loop the items in the playlist in one flow. I assume there is a good reason why this is not easily done.

In the mean time, you can create playlists on youtube on any computer (and some phones), and queue the entire playlist from the plugin.

So while managing playlists is probably going to be implemented(ugly, but still), you can still play playlists you have created through other methods.
Quote:In the mean time, you can create playlists on youtube on any computer (and some phones), and queue the entire playlist from the plugin.

Yes, thats is what I want to do. Problem is that I can only play one item at the time unless I use the described queue up procedure.
Or did HenrikDK and I talk passed each other and I have misunderstood?
vikjon0 Wrote:Yes, thats is what I want to do. Problem is that I can only play one item at the time unless I use the described queue up procedure.
Or did HenrikDK and I talk passed each other and I have misunderstood?

If you press the context menu button (i don't know what it is on your setup) there should be an item called "Now playing...", that will give you your current queue.

You don't have to start playback before you add to a queue. You can "Add folder to queue" and then use "Now playing...", and just start the first item in the queue.