Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Stutter/lag issue with mouse and interface in v10 SVN on Maverick
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello Smile

I'm trying to set up XBMC on Kubuntu Maverick RC using the PPA repos for SVN builds.

The build I've installed is 33778.

My kernel is Linux lnxsrv 2.6.35-22-generic #33-Ubuntu SMP Sun Sep 19 20:32:27 UTC 2010 x86_64 GNU/Linux

I'm on a Pentium Duo, I believe an E2200...

My graphics is nVidia Geforce 6600 AGP, using the open source nv driver.

The problem is that when I launch XBMC, the interface crawls along at what seems to be about 2 fps, including mouse movements. I haven't had the patience to actually try to play something in it, given that I'm completely new to it and still don't know how, and using the interface with all the lagging of the mouse makes me hold my breath and feel queasy (not sure why, LOL).

I've noticed, though, that if I use SMPlayer and don't set xv or xv40 as output renderer, but use opengl instead, something similar happens to the video playback there, crawling down to just a little more than 1 fps. I may be way wrong here, but that just makes me think that maybe it has to do with the renderer, but I have no clue about where to change it, as the only options I get inside XBMC is two different kinds of shaders, software, and the default...

I tried the other video options mentioned, which didn't help, and I haven't changed anything else in the program, skin is what's default and so on. I just did an rm -rf ~/.xbmc, started it up again and pastebinned the resulting log here:

http://pastebin.com/LjQDYeQt