Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Platform advice
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hi all,

I am new to XBMC and HTPCs in general, though I am an experienced software professional. I have an Acer Revo AR3700 on the way and plan to put XBMC on it.

I'm looking for advice on what OS to use as a platform. Many of tips blogs I have read are Windows based. However I like the idea of getting closer to the metal with an XBMC Live install.

Initially I'd just like to have a system that:
- boots quickly to xbmc
- stores all its media locally
- works well with my harmony remote
- makes downloading certain (strictly legal) TV show torrents dead simple, perhaps even automatic.

So which OS do you experts recommend to support this initial setup?
XBMCLive

Install sabnzb+, couchpotato and sickbeard

Couchpotato will handle your movies and sickbeard will take care of your tv shows.
"stores all its media locally"

On a Revo? You're gonna run out of space pretty quick.

I'd run out in days.
Local storage is just for starters to simplify setup. I don't expect to store bucket loads of media and the 250GB drive on this model should hold me over until I get proper NAS set up.

I noticed Sickbeard comes precompiled for Windows. Is installation on XBMC Live a lot more complex?
No, much simpler if anything. There is a thread on how to do it - no need to compile, just grab the release and unzip and your pretty much good to go.
I would say your "ideal" setup would be XBMC Live or minimal ubuntu based. I've tried this though and unfortunately I'm going to have to end up going to Windows 7 pretty soon for two main reasons:

1) As a linux novice, the prospect of setting up secondary features/add-ons such as emulators or web browsers from a command line is a bit hairy.