Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Help me Help you get PVR to skin PVR
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Alrighty I got a TV Tuner, set it up in WMC to make sure it works - yes it does...

I got Ubuntu 10.10. I've installed the packages from dushmaniac but I'm at a loss at the tvheadend part...It definably not as simple as WMC- click cable, enter zip code, press scan.

I'm at the web interface for TVHeadEnd but no clue what to do.
Quote:navigate to the web user interface, drill into the TV adapters tab, select your current location and Tvheadend will start scanning channels and present them to you in just a few minutes

Love some help! Bare with me as it took 1hr to install XBMC, 1.5 hours to add my advancesettings.xml and so on... I have no Linux experience.
So happy to see you are looking at integrating PVR functionality in to your skins.

I have no experience with Linux and have only ever used the windows PVR builds of xbmc for use with mediaportal supplied by Margro here: http://www.scintilla.utwente.nl/~marcelg...build.html

Sorry I can't help and I hope you can find someone who can soon I just wanted to say thanks and bump the thread a little.Rolleyes
I used to run a mythtv server a year or so back. I haven't touched tvheadend. So someone else would be of more help. But there seemed to be a general order in getting dvr software setup.
Typically it goes like
Install card/drivers -> install software -> Configure software.
Setup card in software -> scan for channels -> Set up electronic program guide -> choose storage point -> set up what you want to record.

The DVR software generally needs electronic program guide data, Mediacenter has this pretty much built in. For linux last I checked schedules direct was the primary EPG service. Looking on tvheadends site xmltv is referenced quite a bit. It seems like it also offers data, not 100% sure see