Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: HOW-TO Using old lirc_mceusb in place of new mceusb on Maverick 10.10 for HP remote
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I have an HP Pavilion HDX Remote which hardware is not supported OTB with Ubuntu Maverick 10.10.
lsmod output:
Code:
1934:5168 Feature Integration Technology Inc. (Fintek) F71610A or F71612A Consumer Infrared Receiver/Transceiver
It's not yet supported by the stock mceusb kernel module nor by the old lirc_mceusb, but should be easier to patch and use the old lirc_mceusb module in place of patching and poking whole linux kernel to use the new mceusb.

I follow guide on https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Instal...%20remotes
to add USB_DEVICE 0x5168 on lirc_mceusb.c.

Briefly:
sudo apt-get install lirc lirc-modules-source

When requested choose "Windows Media Center Trasceivers/Remotes (all)" as remote control e "None" as Transmitter.

Then modify /usr/src/lirc-0.8.7~pre3/drivers/lirc_mceusb/lirc_mceusb.c as follows:
Code:
diff -aburN lirc_mceusb.c.orig lirc_mceusb.c
--- lirc_mceusb.c.orig    2010-12-22 13:35:55.932312000 +0100
+++ lirc_mceusb.c    2010-12-22 13:40:57.960312004 +0100
@@ -232,6 +232,8 @@
    { USB_DEVICE(VENDOR_NORTHSTAR, 0xe004) },
    /* TiVo PC IR Receiver */
    { USB_DEVICE(VENDOR_TIVO, 0x2000) },
+        /* XBMC HP Pavilion HDX Remote */
+        { USB_DEVICE(VENDOR_FINTEK, 0x5168) },
    /* Terminating entry */
    { }
};

then from console:
sudo dkms remove -m lirc -v 0.8.7~pre3 --all

sudo dkms add -m lirc -v 0.8.7~pre3
sudo dkms -m lirc -v 0.8.7~pre3 build
sudo dkms -m lirc -v 0.8.7~pre3 install


Now kernel module should be compiled correctly, I have blacklisted mceusb:
sudo sh -c 'echo "blacklist mceusb" > /etc/modprobe.d/blacklist-mce.conf'

Now edit /etc/lirc/hardware.conf as follows:
Code:
# /etc/lirc/hardware.conf
#
#Chosen Remote Control
REMOTE="Windows Media Center Transceivers/Remotes (all)"
REMOTE_MODULES="lirc_dev lirc_mceusb"
REMOTE_DRIVER=""
REMOTE_DEVICE="/dev/lirc0"
REMOTE_SOCKET=""
REMOTE_LIRCD_CONF="mceusb/lircd.conf.mceusb"
REMOTE_LIRCD_ARGS=""

#Chosen IR Transmitter
TRANSMITTER="None"
TRANSMITTER_MODULES=""
TRANSMITTER_DRIVER=""
TRANSMITTER_DEVICE=""
TRANSMITTER_SOCKET=""
TRANSMITTER_LIRCD_CONF=""
TRANSMITTER_LIRCD_ARGS=""

#Enable lircd
START_LIRCD="true"
#Don't start lircmd even if there seems to be a good config file
#START_LIRCMD="false"

#Try to load appropriate kernel modules
LOAD_MODULES="true"

# Default configuration files for your hardware if any
LIRCMD_CONF=""

#Forcing noninteractive reconfiguration
#If lirc is to be reconfigured by an external application
#that doesn't have a debconf frontend available, the noninteractive
#frontend can be invoked and set to parse REMOTE and TRANSMITTER
#It will then populate all other variables without any user input
#If you would like to configure lirc via standard methods, be sure
#to leave this set to "false"
FORCE_NONINTERACTIVE_RECONFIGURATION="false"
START_LIRCMD=""

Reboot!
even following your guide still cant get my HDX to work Sad

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=90600&page=5
worked like a charm! thank you very much!

although i used nano for editing the lirc_mceusb.c file, because I don't know how to execute the editing script you provided Blush:
Code:
cd /usr/src/lirc-0.8.7~pre3/drivers/lirc_mceusb
sudo cp lirc_mceusb.c lirc_mceusb.c.old
sudo nano lirc_mceusb.c
and insert the following after line 234:
Code:
/* XBMC HP Pavilion HDX Remote */
{ USB_DEVICE(VENDOR_FINTEK, 0x5168) },


one small question remains: why do you have to blacklist mceusb?

thanks!
Hiya ....

I have a HP HDX remote and was finaly able to get it working by compiling an adjusted lirc_mceusb.c file. I did a lot of searching to find out how to do that, but unfortunately, my search didn't bring upo this page which would have made my life a whole lot easier. Oh well, at least I'm learning about Linux.

My remote is working properly now (XBMC Live Install). However, one button is none functional. The Play/Pause button. Does anyone know how to set this dual button up so that it works?

Thanks

Greg