Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: XBMC on the Giada N20
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi,

I've written-up some notes on configuring XBMC-Live on the Giada N20. This is a nice little Atom/ION machine with built-in IR that can do 1080p and HDMI:

http://haltcondition.net/?p=2455

Questions and corrections welcome.

Cheers,
Steve
Thanks Steve for this little write up. The N20 is a very nice little machine for both XBMC Live and Windows 7. The only problem I had was the audio and you mentioned how to set XBMC correctly for it to work.

My only question now is, how do I exit XBMC from the Live install to modify or add the file that is needed so I get UI sounds? Yes, I am a Linux NOOB.

Thanks for any help
If you can ssh into the machine (use putty) you should be able to do just paste the following command:

echo ‘pcm.!default { type plug slave { pcm “hw:1,3″ } } ‘ > ~/.asoundrc

That said, now I’ve used it for a while I’ve noticed the UI sounds sometimes disappear.
TarkaSteve Wrote:Hi,

I've written-up some notes on configuring XBMC-Live on the Giada N20. This is a nice little Atom/ION machine with built-in IR that can do 1080p and HDMI:

http://haltcondition.net/?p=2455

Questions and corrections welcome.

Cheers,
Steve

Hi Steve,

How quiet is it? Newegg claim "Silent Operation under 26dB"
It's not completely silent; the fans are audible but it's far from intrusive. It's certainly quieter than the v1 Xbox it replaced.
Not bad..... my friend might get this and try win 7 / 64bit on it.... I hope it works for him.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.as...6856176006
I am considering this box for an XBMC platform. I am glad you got the HDMI audio working.

Has anyone been able to get audio output from the SPDIF optical port? I would really like to have simultaneous audio output over HDMI and the optical port. I don't want to have the TV on to listen to .mp3 audio files.