Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Need Some Help On Audio - Please Im A Noob:(
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi all,
Ok so heres the problem. I just bought a apple tv Generation 1. Installed XBMC using a patchstick etc. Added all my library.

Nowww..
When i play any of my old movies (around 700megs, and running steero sound it works) but when playing the rest of my collection (which movies are around 3 gigs and running AC3 5.1) a loud high tone machine gun sort of noise is all i get from these. Iv tried to fiddle with the settings and all i get it sometimes no sound with bigger movies.
Any ideas, was really excited about getting xbmc and now i cant run 99% of my collection..

The apple tv is connected to my Sony Bravia via HDMI.
I used to have a WDTV Live conected and it played everything. So im guessing its not the TV?

Can someone let me know if im doing something wrong or what settings i should be using as im a bit of a noob.
Thanks all!
"a loud high tone machine gun sort of noise", your Sony Bravia via HDMI is not an AC3 compatible receiver, turn these settings off.
hi when you say turn them off do you mean in xbmc? cause i did that then i lost all sound to those movies and could only see video.
select 'downmix multichannel audio to stereo' in xbmc.
Another noob here after much searching I can not find this option I got rid of machine gun but now no sound at all
hi all,
just to update you guys on whats going on.
i tried all the audio settings.. (and all combinations) still had no luck.
so i decided to move the apple tv to a samsung lcd (series 6)
sound is now working on my whole collection.
apprantley my NEW! sony bravia lcd cant decode the sound but my samsung canHuh dont know exaclty what is going on here but seems to be the tv which is really strange becuase the movies played through the WDTV LIVE (running of ps3 media server) previously??