Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Moving media files (new path) without re-scraping?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
The main disk on my media server is full and I need to move movies and tv shows to another disk. That means a new path for all these files.

If I just move them, add the new disk as another source and scan it I guess I'll end up with duplicate library entries and re-scraped info, correct? And lost viewed status etc...

Is there an easy way to just update the filesystem paths after the move?

I've looked at the DB file in SQLiteSpy but I'm no database expert... I found the path table and the strPath column but I'm not sure updating just these values will be enough. There's also a idPath and strHash column etc...
Does anyone know if I can just update the strPath values and it'll work?
If so, can I search-and-replace all these values?
i.e. search for "smb://server/files01/movies" and replace with "smb://server/files02/movies"
I guess for that I will need to do a SQL query of some kind?

I'd love to see some kind of GUI tool for media file management (with preserved scraped info etc). Either built-into XBMC or separate.
You could export the database, edit the resulting text file, using any text editor, to change the path and import again.

Alternatively, on your server unshare the original "files01" share then share the new location as "files01". That way XBMC wouldn't realise anything had changed.

JR
Thank you for the reply!

So you think export/import is better/safer than editing the DB? And these export and import commands can be found in the XBMC GUI..?

Is there any risk of creating duplicate entries or is it completely safe if I only change the path values and nothing else?