Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: Problem MCE remote Unbranded
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Hello! Sorry for my English
I am new to XBMC, I come from other frontend (Meedios) and I must say that I found very well with the move to xbmc!

Xbmc is great.

Within minutes I was able to configure everything.
I only have a small problem with the remote.

I bought a MCE remote Unbranded
http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Rem...MCE_remote

It works very well it's just that I should configure the buttons that are missing.

C Context Menu
I Media Info
S Activate Shutdown Menu

I have many unused keys in the remote and I would use those for these three missing.

How can I catch three buttons not used in LIVE and see what they do and then change it?
Tell us which buttons you want to execute which actions (e.g. Green = C, Orange = I, or whatever) and I can post a keyboard.xml to do this.

JR
Thank you!!!!

Context Menu green button
Media Info orange
Activate Shutdown Menu yellow
I'm trying to change the keyboard.xml alone, but I have some doubts.
<keymap>
<global>
<keyboard>
<p> Play </ p>
<q> Queue </ q>
<f> FastForward </ f>
<r> Rewind </ r>

<keyboard>
<global>
<keymap>

What should I put between <> and </> to indicate the yellow button, the green button, red button, etc?
Ok, assuming that your remote is the same as the one reviewed on the Wiki, those keys send:

green - ctrl-alt-F1
orange - ctrl-alt-F2
yellow - ctrl-alt-F4

Don't modify the existing keyboard.xml. Instead you need to create a new keyboard.xml in your profile. In Windows the new keyboard.xml needs to go in %appdata%\XBMC\userdata\keymaps while in Linux and OSX it's in $home/.xbmc/userdata/keymaps. The contents of the new keyboard.xml should be:

Code:
<keymap>
  <global>
    <keyboard>
      <f1 mod="ctrl,alt">contextmenu</f1>
      <f2 mod="ctrl,alt">info</f2>
      <f4 mod="ctrl,alt">ActivateWindow(shutdownmenu)</f4>