Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: complete noob requires help please
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
Hi all,
I am looking to set up xbmc so that I can run it on my TV in the living room.
I cannot seem to find any threads that will tell me what equipment I need to run this.
I may be blind, or stupid, or both but what I really need is a step by step guide to set up that includes options on what equipment i need, what OS to run on it and how to attach this to my TV.
I'm certainly not a complete novice with computers and have installed xbmc on my pc and have had a play around with it, but how to get it onto my TV is a bit confusing.
Any help would be appreciated.
Well, a full "how to" would take quite some time. The information is there if you look for it. I`ll give you a rundown.

Hardware:
Processor - Just about any processor will do.
RAM - 1GB is sufficient
Graphics Card - It's highly recommended you have an NVIDIA brand 8-series or above
Sound Card (IF your TV or NVIDIA card doesn't have HDMI)
USB External Hard Drive or Thumb Drive

Your TV needs to accepts any one of the following: Component, VGA, DVI, HDMI inputs.

1- Download the XBMC-Live ISO

2- Burn the ISO to disc

3- Put the Computer together

4- Connect your TV and USB Drive to the Computer

5- Turn on the Computer and go into the BIOS

6- Change the Boot order to "1st: CDROM and 2nd: External Drive"

7- Insert Disc into Computer and Exit BIOS

8- The XBMC Live CD will load -- Choose "Install XBMC LIVE" on the options screen and just follow the prompts to magically turn it into an HTPC.

9- Remove the Disc when prompted and restart the HTPC

10- Put Popcorn in the microwave and grab a beer.
The only issue you may encounter is if your mobo is picky and does not boot from USB properly.
Doctor3D Wrote:Well, a full "how to" would take quite some time. The information is there if you look for it. I`ll give you a rundown.