Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: iOS 4.3 and XBMC
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2 3
With iOS 4.3 released today is anyone updating their ATV2's? I presume we lose the jailbreak and xbmc along with it.
Anyone already freshly jailbroken their 4.3 ATV2? Any problems?
Their is no jailbreak for 4.3 Oo
Fire69 Wrote:Their is no jailbreak for 4.3 Oo

I'm pretty sure that every current iOS device has been jailbroken for 4.3, it's just untethered.
Not to sound like a n00b here, but I'm new to all this.

Currently I have a jailbroken ATV2 running iOS 4.2.1 with XBMC.

Am I to assume if I upgrade to iOS 4.3-- I'll lose that functionality? At least until a 4.3 jailbreak comes? And what happens to my current XBMC install during all of this? Is it 'deleted' or something?

Much thanks.
trilidar Wrote:Not to sound like a n00b here, but I'm new to all this.

Currently I have a jailbroken ATV2 running iOS 4.2.1 with XBMC.

Am I to assume if I upgrade to iOS 4.3-- I'll lose that functionality? At least until a 4.3 jailbreak comes? And what happens to my current XBMC install during all of this? Is it 'deleted' or something?

Much thanks.

Correct.

IF YOU UPGRADE, YOU WILL LOSE THE JAILBREAK AND ALL JB'D APPS.

There is a JB for 4.3, but it's tethered only for now.

I would wait if I were you.

Also hopefully you ran TinyUmbrella. If not.. oops.
keith Wrote:Correct.

IF YOU UPGRADE, YOU WILL LOSE THE JAILBREAK AND ALL JB'D APPS.

There is a JB for 4.3, but it's tethered only for now.

I would wait if I were you.

Also hopefully you ran TinyUmbrella. If not.. oops.

Thanks. That's what I was afraid of.

Could you please clarify the part about TinyUmbrella. From what I understand, it allows fw 'rollback'. I haven't updated ANYTHING and I've disabled iOS auto-update (just being paranoid).