Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: shutdown/reboot does not work while SSH session open
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
I have noticed that the Shutdown and Reboot commands from the XBMC GUI do not work when I have another machine connected to my XBMC machine via SSH.

If no one is SSH'd in, the GUI power commands work fine.
ltwally Wrote:I have noticed that the Shutdown and Reboot commands from the XBMC GUI do not work when I have another machine connected to my XBMC machine via SSH.

Whats wrong with this? its a feature.
Weird, this doesn't happen for me. I can reboot no problem either through the gui or by sudo reboot while logged in over SSH. Using Live 10.1 anyway. Don't know about shutdown though...
sraue Wrote:Whats wrong with this? its a feature.

I'm new to the linux-htpc crowd, so maybe this is how other such products operate... but it's definitely contrary to how other OS's operate. Coming from a general computing background, I would expect the reboot/shutdown buttons to do what they say they do, regardless of whether someone is SSH'd onto the machine.

Perhaps XBMC should instead display a prompt "Other users are connected to this device. Do you wish to continue? YES/NO".

Or, at the very least, it should throw up a message window saying that it will not power off as instructed because of someone SSH'd in.
Also, this raises the question: what happens if there is a hung SSH connection?
Quote:Also, this raises the question: what happens if there is a hung SSH connection?
I am sure you will find away to sort it out if that happen...

This could be due to policy settings, what I find strange is that when I tested this SSH did not NOT block reboot/shutdown while background x (gnome) session did.

You could check you settings in

Quote:sudo nano /usr/share/polkit-1/actions/org.freedesktop.consolekit.policy
change