Kodi Community Forum

Full Version: The Evolution of XBMC Skinning
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Now that I've finally got a handle on how the skinning system works and how all the pieces fit together, I've got some thoughts.

I'm an Android app developer. I've noticed that the XBMC ecosystem is a lot like the Android system (XML gui, and java APIs) in some ways. XBMC has XML GUI, some core APIs (http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title...t_In_Functions) and Python scripting.

The big difference is that XBMC programmatically limits the structure of the overall skin by by making the built-in controls available only in the context of certain windows, which are predefined and are not skinner configurable.

http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Lis...n_Controls

XBMC as a media engine could be used for many more things than just a typical media center. Right now it's limited to a certain way of doing things by exposing only certain controls in certain windows. It could be a one-stop shop for creating any kind of media based application.

Here's a hypothetical example. Say I want to make a skin that turns the computer into a basic, mulitlingual CD player. I want to only have one screen that shows playback controls, language selection, and displays fetched cover art when a CD is inserted. Right now I can't put the language selection on the home screen, because that built-in control can only be accessed from WINDOW_SETTINGS_APPEARANCE.

Likewise, when building a Boxee-like home screen. Say I want to place a group list on the home screen that was, for example, a list of all the videos in the Classic Cinema App in the Sci-Fi category. Currently I can't display that list on any screen except WINDOW_ADDON_BROWSER ( I think).