Kodi Community Forum
[Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Development (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=32)
+--- Forum: Kodi Application (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=93)
+--- Thread: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only (/showthread.php?tid=124600)



RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - Raytestrak - 2012-09-21

(2012-09-21, 20:47)rkismet Wrote: @ Raytestrak
asuming you are running your audio via hdmi through the ATI card....i agree with DDDamian
read my long winded post earlier in the tread...you might want to avoid the realtek altogeather and disable it in the bios Nod

ATI/AMD does have alot of junk in there that you can exclude from the install (that you have to manually exclude EVERY Damn time) but the the core of it i have found helpful (recently) with my HTPC builds...im a nvidia convert...atleast for HTPCs

@rkismet. The AMD HDMI audio device is built by Realtek,so it's the only audio device I have (Foxconn NT-A3500 barebone). Disabling is not an option Wink
The realtek drivers are capable of playing HD audio, Daniela build proves that, but I'll try the AMD drivers tomorrow. Like DDDamien says, the audio drivers are small and Windows 8 has pretty decent driver management, a rollback is easily done and so is an uninstall of the AMD drivers should I want to do that.

For anyone who's interested: If you extract the installer with 7zip, the drivers are located in \$_OUTDIR\Packages\Drivers. WDM for audio and Display for ... display (thank you Captain Obvious). You then have a 76MB set of basic drivers instead of 206MB of drivers and utilities and services.

In the past I needed CCC for overscan only, but now that I can turn on overscan via the registry I only want the drivers.

Edit:
Okay, I've had my sleep. Installed the AMD audio drivers, HD audio works fine in AE now. BUT, with these drivers my Onkyo switches to analog the second it doesn't receive input from my HTPC. So every time I push my remote, the receiver has to switch back to hdmi/digital before I hear anything. This is not an AE issue, it happens in Windows too. Has anyone else heard of or experiences this?


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - divingmule - 2012-09-22

Hi, using nightly from 9/21, analog 5.1 pc speakers.

Channels seem to be mapped incorrectly, ie center channel playing through right front.

Here is the start of a log, showing the system info -> http://pastebin.com/W0R6nUna

Let me know if or what other information I can provide.

Edit: sorry, problem was mis-configured windows setttings.


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - opelolaf - 2012-09-24

hey everyone,

i simply do not get the nightly builds running properly at my machine so i am desperately searching for XBMC-AE-20120406 which works for a mate of mine,
but i cannot find working downloadlinks anymore. is there maybe even a never version?

thanks for help!


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - atlind01 - 2012-09-24

(2012-09-24, 17:12)opelolaf Wrote: hey everyone,

i simply do not get the nightly builds running properly at my machine so i am desperately searching for XBMC-AE-20120406 which works for a mate of mine,
but i cannot find working downloadlinks anymore. is there maybe even a never version?

thanks for help!

http://mirrors.xbmc.org/nightlies/win32/



RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - opelolaf - 2012-09-24

thanks atlind01, but i wrote, the nightlies dont work here :/


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - Martijn - 2012-09-24

(2012-09-24, 22:41)opelolaf Wrote: thanks atlind01, but i wrote, the nightlies dont work here :/

maybe if you tell us what is wrong they can fix it.....

You can help by at least telling what the problem is and perhaps provide a Debug Log


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - DDDamian - 2012-09-24

@Raytestrak - see the <streamsilence> tag in post #2 of this thread.


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - Raytestrak - 2012-09-25

(2012-09-24, 23:41)DDDamian Wrote: @Raytestrak - see the <streamsilence> tag in post #2 of this thread.

Damn you DDDamien Wink

I've just reverted back to Daniela's build icw the Realtek drivers, now I MUST try this.

But seriously, thanks for this.




RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - DDDamian - 2012-09-27

Fix for transcoding glitches pushed in https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/commit/a3aef739a90682c5f5703401d7d7c574650ce020

For anyone having issues with transcoding pcm/dts/etc to AC3 this will solve the discontinuities or stutter issues reported.


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - mirpet - 2012-09-30

Hi all!

I am having issues with latest nightlies (with Audio Engine). I have my external decoder (AC3 capable) connected with optical cable from my motherboard Realtek chip.
Issue is that XBMC detect only two speakers for my configuration and I can't find anywhere in Windows 7 or Realtek Audio Manager to configure that I have 5.1 speakers. Is there any solution for this, because all my DTS 5.1 movies are transcoded to 2.0? Here is my debug log: http://pastebin.com/eKv0DN0C

Thanks in advance!


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - DDDamian - 2012-09-30

(2012-09-30, 02:38)mirpet Wrote: Hi all!

I am having issues with latest nightlies (with Audio Engine). I have my external decoder (AC3 capable) connected with optical cable from my motherboard Realtek chip.
Issue is that XBMC detect only two speakers for my configuration and I can't find anywhere in Windows 7 or Realtek Audio Manager to configure that I have 5.1 speakers. Is there any solution for this, because all my DTS 5.1 movies are transcoded to 2.0? Here is my debug log: http://pastebin.com/eKv0DN0C

Thanks in advance!

The full log isn't there (cut off in pastebin) but enough to see a couple of things:
1) You are using the USB device, not the SPDIF
2) Your USB device is not reporting that it supports AC3

Go to XBMC's System>Settings>System>Audio Output and set the devices (both Audio Output Device and Passthrough Output Device) to:
WASAPI:SPDIF - Realtek Digital Output (Realtek High Definition Audio)

If your intent is to use the USB device, which I doubt since you say you are connected via optical, then you need to get drivers from the maker of your USB device that are compatible with WASAPI, or at least show the correct number of supported channels.


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - DDDamian - 2012-09-30

One other thing of note from your log:
Code:
88.02:12:51 T:2368    INFO: DTS pass through is disabled

Have you enabled DTS in System>Settings>System>Audio Output? Your USB device doesn't support it but your SPDIF (Realtek) optical device does.


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - mirpet - 2012-09-30

Hi!

Thanks for your response.
WASAPI:SPDIF - Realtek Digital Output (Realtek High Definition Audio) is set in XBMC as 'Passthrough output device' and also for 'Audio output device'. USB device is also present but I'm using it just for my PC sound, not in XBMC.
Unfortunately my external audio decoder (Creative Inspire Digital 5500) doesn't support DTS decoding (just AC3), before AudioEngine merge XBMC (if just AC3 option is set) was doing realtime transcoding of DTS to AC3 and then pass AC3 to external system. Did that changed somehow in AudioEngine?


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - DDDamian - 2012-09-30

@mirpet - not according to that log - it showed the USB device being used. Can u post a full log pls? If everything is set right you should have no difficulties transcoding 5.1 DTS to 5.1 AC3. A full log will show me if that occurred correctly and then the issue would be with the external decoder, but I need the info.


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - mirpet - 2012-09-30

Hi DDDamian!

Here is full log: https://www.dropbox.com/s/pndkpbyrc9w1lyt/xbmc.log (I played movie Prometheus which has DTS sound, and it played stereo on my 5.1 system)

Please let me know if you found something, because sound is coming from my 5.1 system (not USB speakers) but only stereo sound. I think there is an issue with Realtek drivers (I have newest) and Windows because XBMC reads only two channels for Realtek Digital Output Device: "m_channels : FL,FR" and there isn't configuration option (in windows Control Panel or Realtek Audio Manager) to configure number of speakers for digital output (optical in my case). In XBMC Audio configuration I have set number of speakers to 5.1 but I think XBMC reads from WASAPI two speakers (FL,FR) and uses that.

Thanks again


This forum uses Lukasz Tkacz MyBB addons.