Kodi Community Forum
[Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Development (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=32)
+--- Forum: Kodi Application (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=93)
+--- Thread: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only (/showthread.php?tid=124600)



RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - thrak76 - 2012-10-06

(2012-10-06, 16:57)sialivi Wrote: Just so we are on the same page here, do you have "Multichannel LPCM capable receiver" enabled in the settings? Cause the file is *decoded* just fine with it disabled, but when bitstreamed to an AVR it fails.

I do indeed have it enabled. All boxes, save for AAC, boost on downmix, and output stereo to all, enabled. Denon 2809ci.


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - zotnick - 2012-10-06

Here is my log.
http://goo.gl/9q9RV

I tried playing the LPCM version of the file first, then the FLAC version.

I do have "Multichannel LPCM capable receiver" enabled.


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - thrak76 - 2012-10-06

(2012-10-06, 19:22)zotnick Wrote: Here is my log.
http://goo.gl/9q9RV

I tried playing the LPCM version of the file first, then the FLAC version.

I do have "Multichannel LPCM capable receiver" enabled.

Could you please use a paste site for your log, so that people are not forced to download the file?

Please use pastebin.com, or xbmclogs.com



RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - zotnick - 2012-10-06

My apologies. Here it is.

http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=10026


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - Morphello - 2012-10-07

Hi DDDamian,

I've just installed alpha 6, coming from Eden release, and Stereo Upmixing isn't working. I believe it's the same problem as mirpet posted a few pages back.

I have the Z5500's as a receiver, which are capable of DD, DTS decoding at 24/96. I'm connected to them with a toslink optical cable from a realtek ACL889 chip inbuilt into the motherboard. Everything not encoded with AC3 or DTS will play stereo, regardless if it contains more channels. Everything also seems to play 44khz. I have the system set to output 24bit/96khz, and outside of XBMC everything is being played accordingly (as indicated by an icon on the speakers).

I have MPC-HC setup with AC3 to upscale all 2.0 sound to 5.1 with a few tweaks and it works perfectly. I can also choose to resample up to 24/96 and that also works.

Here's a log http://pastebin.com/vJWWXfHE. Please tell me if this contains the information you need. It seems a bit too big (257kb), but a quick browse through it myself (I am unfamiliar with these logs) seems to indicate the audio engine is playing at 16/44 @ 2.0. The log shows me attempting to play a 2.0 audio file (Breaking.Bad.S01E01.mkv AAC stereo @ 48khz), followed by a 5.1 file (Man.vs.Wild.S07E05.mkv 5.1 AC3 @ 48khz). The 2.0 content seems down sampled then played at 2.0 while the 5.1 content was passed through.

I've attempted to try the advancedsettings.xml with the <streamsilence> tag = to 1, it didn't change anything.

I may just be doing something wrong, but i've had this setup in the past (back with the original xbox outputting 2.0 to 5.1), I can do it manually with MPC-HC, however every PC version of xbmc containing the expand to stereo feature has not worked for me.




RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - atlind01 - 2012-10-08

Hi DDDamian,

I think I found a bug with the resample option. I have been using this option in advancedsettings at 96000 and the audio streams were working perfectly fine. However right from the version initial version of the AE I was always having problems with ally my DVDs that had DTS and AC3 streams. It appears that the resample option is getting triggered for videos selection as well.




RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - sialivi - 2012-10-08

@DDDamian,

I'm noticing a slight distortion in some audio files. It's hard to describe because it's quite subtle. It's like a jitter in the loud sections, almost like a soft clipping (not the very sharp clipping one usually hears when not applying replaygain) or volume undulation.

I have "replaygain" and "avoid clipping" enabled in the settings. I have also played the files in mpc-hc without experiencing this problem.

Log is available here but I see nothing out of the ordinary: http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=10229

I'll PM you a link to a file were this occurs.


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - HeresJohnny - 2012-10-09

Possibly not a bug but your equipment revealing some processing. "Avoid clipping" possibly degrades the sound because of the additional clipping filter. If you've replaygained your files and use the lower volume there should not be any reason to use that additional filter.


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - rat666 - 2012-10-10

i noticed the same behavior like sialivi in the actual openelc nightly (october 8th), so it looks like that it´s not a windows problem.
the sound is in my ears only bitperfect without replaygain and clipping filter, but then i can´t play my HDCD coded Tracks. see my logfile in the linux AE thread.



RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - sialivi - 2012-10-10

DDDamian responded in a PM that he also has noticed this issue and will fix it ASAP


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - rat666 - 2012-10-11

(2012-10-10, 02:25)sialivi Wrote: DDDamian responded in a PM that he also has noticed this issue and will fix it ASAP

Good to hear, i hope the fix will work for the linux and the windows version of XBMC.




RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - EKRBoi - 2012-10-20

I posted in the main AE thread til I realized its been dead since July.. so Im pasting this here in hopes of a reply.

Hope this is in the right place. my apologies if it is not. Went and installed Frodo Alpha 6 after reading about all the awesome new AudioEngine features. Maybe I interpreted wrong but isn't it suppose to be able to decode DTS-HD MA 7.1 to the 7.1 analog channels on my sound card which are hooked up to my receiver (not through HDMI or optical.. good ol' analog)? I have been recoding my MA tracks to FLAC 7.1 for the longest time.. while this works it takes extra time obviously. I tried it today and while xbmc shows TrueHD content as 7.1 and outputs as such, but it is reporting DTS-HD MA still as 5.1 when I KNOW the 7.1 track is there. Am I doing something wrong or am I still going to have to re encode my stuff to flac to play it this way?


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - rat666 - 2012-10-21

(2012-10-10, 02:25)sialivi Wrote: DDDamian responded in a PM that he also has noticed this issue and will fix it ASAP

After some testing with r12195 i´m quite shure that the problem is related to the Preamp level setting, see my post in the Linux AE thread for details.



RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - kuzmi4 - 2012-10-22

(2012-10-20, 18:26)EKRBoi Wrote: Hope this is in the right place. my apologies if it is not. Went and installed Frodo Alpha 6 after reading about all the awesome new AudioEngine features. Maybe I interpreted wrong but isn't it suppose to be able to decode DTS-HD MA 7.1 to the 7.1 analog channels on my sound card which are hooked up to my receiver (not through HDMI or optical.. good ol' analog)?

Cheers to all!
I have a somewhat related question. Guess this is due to lack of DTS-HD to LPCM decoding... Prove me wrong, (I sure hope someone would)) but do we still have the DTS core decoded to LPCM?

I need this info to make my audio settings correct for my rig once and for all, till we get this feature.

Running Frodo September cycle.

Thanx


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - atlind01 - 2012-11-06

Will there be a fix to multichannel assignment? I have a huge collection of 5.1 audio in FLAC and Vorbis. When I use the PAPlayer the channel assignment is L,C,R,BL,BR,LFE whereas for the same file if I select DVD player the assignments are L,R,C,LFE,BL,BR.



07:12:38 T:3192 INFO: CSoftAE::MakeStream - AE_FMT_S16NE, 48000, FL,FC,FR,BL,BR,LFE
07:12:38 T:4264 DEBUG: CSoftAE::Run - Sink restart flagged
07:12:38 T:4264 DEBUG: CAESinkWASAPI::IsCompatible: Formats Incompatible due to different :Channels:Sample Rates
07:12:38 T:4264 INFO: CSoftAE::InternalOpenSink - sink incompatible, re-starting
07:12:38 T:4264 INFO: CAESinkWASAPI::InitializeExclusive: Format is Supported - will attempt to Initialize
07:12:38 T:4264 INFO: CAESinkWASAPI::InitializeExclusive: WASAPI Exclusive Mode Sink Initialized using: AE_FMT_S24NE4, 48000, 6
07:12:38 T:4264 DEBUG: CSoftAE::InternalOpenSink - WASAPI Initialized:
07:12:38 T:4264 DEBUG: Output Device : HDMI - AMD HDMI Output (3- AMD High Definition Audio Device)
07:12:38 T:4264 DEBUG: Sample Rate : 48000
07:12:38 T:4264 DEBUG: Sample Format : AE_FMT_S24NE4
07:12:38 T:4264 DEBUG: Channel Count : 6
07:12:38 T:4264 DEBUG: Channel Layout: FL,FC,FR,BL,BR,LFE
07:12:38 T:4264 DEBUG: Frames : 2400
07:12:38 T:4264 DEBUG: Frame Samples : 14400
07:12:38 T:4264 DEBUG: Frame Size : 24


07:13:57 T:4560 DEBUG: FactoryCodec - Audio: passthrough - Opening
07:13:57 T:4560 DEBUG: FactoryCodec - Audio: passthrough - Failed
07:13:57 T:4560 DEBUG: FactoryCodec - Audio: FFmpeg - Opening
07:13:57 T:4560 DEBUG: SECTION:LoadDLL(special://xbmcbin/system/players/dvdplayer/swresample-0.dll)
07:13:57 T:4560 DEBUG: FactoryCodec - Audio: FFmpeg - Opened
07:13:57 T:4560 NOTICE: Creating audio thread
07:13:57 T:4392 NOTICE: Thread CDVDPlayerAudio start, auto delete: false
07:13:57 T:4392 NOTICE: running thread: CDVDPlayerAudio:Tonguerocess()
07:13:57 T:4560 DEBUG: CDVDPlayer::SetCaching - caching state 3
07:13:57 T:4560 WARNING: CDVDMessageQueue(video):Tongueut MSGQ_NOT_INITIALIZED
07:13:57 T:4392 NOTICE: Creating audio stream (codec id: 86021, channels: 6, sample rate: 48000, no pass-through)
07:13:57 T:4392 INFO: CSoftAE::MakeStream - AE_FMT_S16NE, 48000, FL,FR,FC,LFE,BL,BR

thanks in advance



This forum uses Lukasz Tkacz MyBB addons.