Kodi Community Forum
[Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Development (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=32)
+--- Forum: Kodi Application (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=93)
+--- Thread: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only (/showthread.php?tid=124600)



RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - thrak76 - 2012-12-01

(2012-12-01, 16:32)Bertuz Wrote: Guys,

I need some help with a SACD Flac rip! During playback i have alot of very hard cracks out of my speakers, when i use foobar200 it plays normal. I have my Xbmc in WASAPI mode. It only occurs when i play very large FLAC files. Some are 300mb per file. Other smaller flac files play without problem

Any idea!??

Spec
Zotac Zbox A02
Hdmi to Marantz sr5006 + Kef IQ90

Size of the file does not make a difference.

Post up a debug log so folks can take a look at what is going on.



RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - Bertuz - 2012-12-01

(2012-12-01, 17:48)thrak76 Wrote:
(2012-12-01, 16:32)Bertuz Wrote: Guys,

I need some help with a SACD Flac rip! During playback i have alot of very hard cracks out of my speakers, when i use foobar200 it plays normal. I have my Xbmc in WASAPI mode. It only occurs when i play very large FLAC files. Some are 300mb per file. Other smaller flac files play without problem

Any idea!??

Spec
Zotac Zbox A02
Hdmi to Marantz sr5006 + Kef IQ90

Size of the file does not make a difference.

Post up a debug log so folks can take a look at what is going on.

okay here is the log. the file is back to tupelo

http://pastebin.com/cvBH30uc


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - Bertuz - 2012-12-01

(2012-12-01, 19:19)Bertuz Wrote:
(2012-12-01, 17:48)thrak76 Wrote:
(2012-12-01, 16:32)Bertuz Wrote: Guys,

I need some help with a SACD Flac rip! During playback i have alot of very hard cracks out of my speakers, when i use foobar200 it plays normal. I have my Xbmc in WASAPI mode. It only occurs when i play very large FLAC files. Some are 300mb per file. Other smaller flac files play without problem

Any idea!??

Spec
Zotac Zbox A02
Hdmi to Marantz sr5006 + Kef IQ90

Size of the file does not make a difference.

Post up a debug log so folks can take a look at what is going on.

okay here is the log. the file is back to tupelo

http://pastebin.com/cvBH30uc

Is there a possibility that it is because its a 5.1 FLAC? Or has any 5.1 flac file a stereo output. I tried converting it to ALAC and WAV, and that fixes my problem. But i dont get it that foobar just plays is normal en XBMC produces heavy crack sounds. Anyone a idea?


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - thrak76 - 2012-12-01

I noticed your advancedsettings.xml is throwing an error.

Code:
12:41:07 T:6088   ERROR: Error loading special://profile/advancedsettings.xml, Line 3
                                            Error reading Attributes.

Maybe it's related...

Also what do you have setup in the GUI for your sound settings (system settings, audio output)?


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - Bertuz - 2012-12-01

(2012-12-01, 20:50)thrak76 Wrote: I noticed your advancedsettings.xml is throwing an error.

Code:
12:41:07 T:6088   ERROR: Error loading special://profile/advancedsettings.xml, Line 3
                                            Error reading Attributes.

Maybe it's related...

Also what do you have setup in the GUI for your sound settings (system settings, audio output)?

fixed the advadcedsetting. this did not fixed it.

Marantz SR5006 receiver

Image



RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - thrak76 - 2012-12-01

Change speaker config to 5.1 - or you only using a 2 channel speaker system? If so, you shouldn't have all the surround modes checked.


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - Bertuz - 2012-12-01

(2012-12-01, 21:34)thrak76 Wrote: Change speaker config to 5.1 - or you only using a 2 channel speaker system? If so, you shouldn't have all the surround modes checked.

I have a stereo setup (2 KEF iQ90), If i change it to 5.1 in xbmc the cracks disapear! But doesnt that mean i lose information of the other channels? If i set to 2.0 and uncheck all the option i have the crack again:-s

Doesnt a multichannel flac have also a 2.0 stereo stream?


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - thrak76 - 2012-12-01

(2012-12-01, 22:19)Bertuz Wrote:
(2012-12-01, 21:34)thrak76 Wrote: Change speaker config to 5.1 - or you only using a 2 channel speaker system? If so, you shouldn't have all the surround modes checked.

I have a stereo setup (2 KEF iQ90), If i change it to 5.1 in xbmc the cracks disapear! But doesnt that mean i lose information of the other channels? If i set to 2.0 and uncheck all the option i have the crack again:-s

Doesnt a multichannel flac have also a 2.0 stereo stream?

I think that your AVR will take care of the 5.1 --> 2.0 conversion, and no info would be lost. I'm not sure if multichannel flacs have the stereo stream, but my instinct is to say no.



RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - Dixon Butz - 2012-12-01

Multichannel flacs are still not supported in Frodo. Only Daniella's build plays them.
I don't know what Bertuz is playing. Post a media info.


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - thrak76 - 2012-12-01

(2012-12-01, 22:41)Dixon Butz Wrote: Multichannel flacs are still not supported in Frodo. Only Daniella's build plays them.
I don't know what Bertuz is playing. Post a media info.

Completely untrue.

I have dozens of multichannel flacs that play perfectly.


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - Dixon Butz - 2012-12-01

Multichannel flacs from DTS CD's don't play in Frodo.


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - thrak76 - 2012-12-01

(2012-12-01, 22:50)Dixon Butz Wrote: Multichannel flacs from DTS CD's don't play in Frodo.

DTS wav is not supported. Flac is different.

Here's some proof of multichannel flac support from two minutes ago Smile

Image
Image


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - Bertuz - 2012-12-01

(2012-12-01, 22:25)thrak76 Wrote:
(2012-12-01, 22:19)Bertuz Wrote:
(2012-12-01, 21:34)thrak76 Wrote: Change speaker config to 5.1 - or you only using a 2 channel speaker system? If so, you shouldn't have all the surround modes checked.

I have a stereo setup (2 KEF iQ90), If i change it to 5.1 in xbmc the cracks disapear! But doesnt that mean i lose information of the other channels? If i set to 2.0 and uncheck all the option i have the crack again:-s

Doesnt a multichannel flac have also a 2.0 stereo stream?

I think that your AVR will take care of the 5.1 --> 2.0 conversion, and no info would be lost. I'm not sure if multichannel flacs have the stereo stream, but my instinct is to say no.
Ok, thx for the help. A SACD has a stereo stream and sometimes multichannel streams, i thought that it would produce 1 Flac file



(2012-12-01, 22:41)Dixon Butz Wrote: Multichannel flacs are still not supported in Frodo. Only Daniella's build plays them.
I don't know what Bertuz is playing. Post a media info.

Are you sure? Im running the latest beta, and when im streaming a multichannel flac to my receiver its says the format: 3/2/.1 and when im streaming a 24/96 stereo flac it says 2/0/.0. Im not really sure, but it looks the receiver receives multichannel PCM stream.

Edit: too slow:-)



RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - Dixon Butz - 2012-12-01

Is there another way I can rip these DTS CD's so they play in Frodo? I used Foobar.


RE: [Windows] AudioEngine testers - Windows platform only - thrak76 - 2012-12-01

(2012-12-01, 22:55)Dixon Butz Wrote: Is there another way I can rip these DTS CD's so they play in Frodo? I used Foobar.

Just convert the wav to flac. Foobar can do that pretty quickly as well. There's also another utility called DVD audio extractor that i used to convert from DTS to flac. It's a 30 day trial for that program.


This forum uses Lukasz Tkacz MyBB addons.