Kodi Community Forum
Allwinner A10 : Is XBMC ported to MALI-400MP ? - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Discussions (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=222)
+--- Forum: Hardware (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=112)
+--- Thread: Allwinner A10 : Is XBMC ported to MALI-400MP ? (/showthread.php?tid=126995)



RE: Allwinner A10 : Is XBMC ported to MALI-400MP ? - P.Kosunen - 2012-11-28

Ok, i will try it. Thanks.


RE: Allwinner A10 : Is XBMC ported to MALI-400MP ? - Intenza - 2012-11-28

upnp don't work. If i try to play upnp XBMC is rebooting.
CD do not work too. If i try to play CD XBMC is rebooting.
Is this error image, or i do something wrong?


RE: Allwinner A10 : Is XBMC ported to MALI-400MP ? - CreaB - 2012-12-02

Hey there!

On my MK802 v2 i was able to get wifi with wpa_supplicant working, using the script bin from the miniand-image linaro-alip-armhf-t4.img (available here).

But the next problem appeared, no matter which script.bin i am using, i only get ~350MB memory working. I tried different uImages, but can not get any of them to work. I also searched for a guide howto modify the uImage/uboot but not really successfull.

Can anybody give another hint how to modify for usage of 1024mb?

Thanks in advance!


RE: Allwinner A10 : Is XBMC ported to MALI-400MP ? - mtx512 - 2012-12-03

(2012-12-02, 15:16)CreaB Wrote: Hey there!

On my MK802 v2 i was able to get wifi with wpa_supplicant working, using the script bin from the miniand-image linaro-alip-armhf-t4.img (available here).

But the next problem appeared, no matter which script.bin i am using, i only get ~350MB memory working. I tried different uImages, but can not get any of them to work. I also searched for a guide howto modify the uImage/uboot but not really successfull.

Can anybody give another hint how to modify for usage of 1024mb?

Thanks in advance!

You need to create or find a valid uboot for your MK802, memory settings are done there.



RE: Allwinner A10 : Is XBMC ported to MALI-400MP ? - Mixx - 2012-12-03

Seems like Allwinner lost their opportunity. And others (Odroid and even Rockchip devices) are overtaking left and right. I would still love to have a decent Linux&XBMC image for my MK802+.
So at the moment, what is the one to try out?


RE: Allwinner A10 : Is XBMC ported to MALI-400MP ? - Kavika - 2012-12-04

The latest "Frodo" version of XBMC claims to be working with MK802 ... anyone tried and can report findings?
Please and Thanks!


RE: Allwinner A10 : Is XBMC ported to MALI-400MP ? - Reed Solomon - 2012-12-04

(2012-12-03, 19:15)Mixx Wrote: Seems like Allwinner lost their opportunity. And others (Odroid and even Rockchip devices) are overtaking left and right. I would still love to have a decent Linux&XBMC image for my MK802+.
So at the moment, what is the one to try out?

I like the Odroid devices. Very tempting.


RE: Allwinner A10 : Is XBMC ported to MALI-400MP ? - gimli - 2012-12-04

(2012-12-04, 07:30)Reed Solomon Wrote:
(2012-12-03, 19:15)Mixx Wrote: Seems like Allwinner lost their opportunity. And others (Odroid and even Rockchip devices) are overtaking left and right. I would still love to have a decent Linux&XBMC image for my MK802+.
So at the moment, what is the one to try out?

I like the Odroid devices. Very tempting.

When the Odroid is getting proper mali drivers for linux, it is more interesting than that A10 crap. Allwinner is a Android company and not able to think outside the box.


RE: Allwinner A10 : Is XBMC ported to MALI-400MP ? - Katch - 2012-12-04

yup - that odroid-u2 is very tempting indeed - I've been finger on the buy button for a day or two now...


RE: Allwinner A10 : Is XBMC ported to MALI-400MP ? - gimli - 2012-12-04

(2012-12-04, 15:58)Katch Wrote: yup - that odroid-u2 is very tempting indeed - I've been finger on the buy button for a day or two now...

Me too, but when i think about the Taxes in Austria ....... Seems to expensive for me at the moment.


RE: Allwinner A10 : Is XBMC ported to MALI-400MP ? - j1nx - 2012-12-04

(2012-12-04, 16:00)gimli Wrote:
(2012-12-04, 15:58)Katch Wrote: yup - that odroid-u2 is very tempting indeed - I've been finger on the buy button for a day or two now...

Me too, but when i think about the Taxes in Austria ....... Seems to expensive for me at the moment.

Same to me, because of the $40,- shipping by EMS, I know for sure I can pay import duty and VAT here in Holland. So the board+power+uart+eMMC+Shipping+VAT+Import Duty < "click buy now" Angry


RE: Allwinner A10 : Is XBMC ported to MALI-400MP ? - dhead - 2012-12-04

(2012-12-04, 10:52)gimli Wrote: When the Odroid is getting proper mali drivers for linux, it is more interesting than that A10 crap. Allwinner is a Android company and not able to think outside the box.
They're probably just like my former boss, his exact words "money, money, money, I only care about money, bring me money".
Such an ignorant company, this only bring people to the conclusion that Allwinner == s***.
I wish this CedarX stuff would just work, the A13-OLinuXino and upcoming A10-OLinuXino looks quite nice boards to play with.


RE: Allwinner A10 : Is XBMC ported to MALI-400MP ? - nabberuk - 2012-12-04

I decided to the buy button on odroid-u2. Will be interesting to see what its like.


RE: Allwinner A10 : Is XBMC ported to MALI-400MP ? - Katch - 2012-12-04

what extras did you buy?

I think the only thing holding me back is that it is still an unknown quantity - I'd like to see some more results before springing for one - that and the ouya is just around the corner.

By the time you have the odroid-u2 with all the extra bits you could have an ouya with 2 controllers...


RE: Allwinner A10 : Is XBMC ported to MALI-400MP ? - nabberuk - 2012-12-04

(2012-12-04, 22:43)Katch Wrote: what extras did you buy?

I think the only thing holding me back is that it is still an unknown quantity - I'd like to see some more results before springing for one - that and the ouya is just around the corner.

By the time you have the odroid-u2 with all the extra bits you could have an ouya with 2 controllers...

Didn't get any extra's, I'll get those bits myself, may have some laying around already. My requirements might be a bit different to yours. I want to hide it behind the tv, might even see if I can squeeze it behind a wall mounted tv. Cant do that with a ouya.

Will be making use of tablets/phones to control it.
I'm wondering if the usb port can be used on my tv to power it, would obviously turn on with the tv then.