Kodi Community Forum
[RELEASE] Twitch.tv - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Add-on Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=27)
+---- Forum: Video Add-ons (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=154)
+---- Thread: [RELEASE] Twitch.tv (/showthread.php?tid=134538)



RE: [RELEASE] Twitch.tv - chronaden - 2015-08-08

For the past week or so, I've been having a very annoying issue with this add-on. I click my stream, and 80% of the time I only get audio, meaning that the streams load but the only way I can get it to display the video, is pressing back until I get to the home screen, and then back once more. This is occurring on both my pi's, both version 1 and 2. Only thing that have changed recently has been updates to OSMC.


RE: [RELEASE] Twitch.tv - hewwra - 2015-08-11

(2015-07-23, 04:53)ShaithEatery Wrote: I've been really enjoying the addon so far as I just recently built my first dedicated HTPC with Kodi at the forefront. However, I can't seem to get anything to play in 1080p, whether it is a VOD or live stream. I can confirm that the streams I have been testing with broadcast in 1080p, and can load up a VOD in Chrome and show via the Twitch Video Stats that it is in 1080p when under source quality. I believe that the issue could be related to the addon pulling the high quality version of the VOD as opposed to the Source quality version as when playing the VOD the URL that scrolls by on the Kodi video player shows it under the category of High. Of course, I have the addon set to play the best quality possible, so that isn't it. Is there something that I'm missing as far as Source quality playback? I've tried searching this thread and other various places and there doesn't seem to be much of any discussion about it that I can find which leads me to believe I'm probably missing something obvious. For my setup, I'm running Kodi on Windows 8.1 64 bit with an i7 2700k (so I know it can handle the playback of course), and I am using version 1.3.3 of the addon just downloaded and installed from the main github page. Thanks for any replies!

There is a bug in this addon that causes Kodi to play VOD's in high quality and not in source quality.

To fix this open C:\Users\YourUserName\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\plugin.video.twitch\twitch\__init__.py in your favorite editor and go to line 340 (its at the end of the file) and change:
Code:
VOD_PLAYLIST = 'http://usher.twitch.tv/vod/{0}?nauth={1}&nauthsig={2}'
To:
Code:
VOD_PLAYLIST = 'http://usher.twitch.tv/vod/{0}?nauth={1}&nauthsig={2}&allow_source=true'

In short you need to add &allow_source=true to the variable VOD_PLAYLIST and you will be able to enjoy glorious source quality.


RE: [RELEASE] Twitch.tv - killbom - 2015-08-24

(2015-08-08, 07:43)chronaden Wrote: For the past week or so, I've been having a very annoying issue with this add-on. I click my stream, and 80% of the time I only get audio, meaning that the streams load but the only way I can get it to display the video, is pressing back until I get to the home screen, and then back once more. This is occurring on both my pi's, both version 1 and 2. Only thing that have changed recently has been updates to OSMC.

I'm having the same problem om my Windows computer :/


RE: [RELEASE] Twitch.tv - Smultie - 2015-08-28

Hey all,


since a couple of weeks I've been noticing jerky playback on my RPi2 with XBian, Kodi 15.1, as if the frames aren't played in the right order.

Because I don't notice the same behavior on my Windows/Mac systems, I assume there's something wrong with the install on the Pi.
Is there any way to trace what's going wrong? Log maybe?

Any help would be appreciated!


RE: [RELEASE] Twitch.tv - wmansir - 2015-08-29

I've been using this plugin for a while and have always had this problem, but recently it became an issue because I don't have my remote right now and am using an XBOX controller.

I'm having an issue playing streamer's past broadcast listings. Using Kodi 14.2 with Twitch addon 1.3.1 in Win 8.1.

If I scroll to an entry and just hit "enter" on the keyboard or "A" on the controller, nothing happens. If I right click on the first entry and select "play from here" it will play, but if I try that on any other entries I only get the error: "Playlist - Can't find next item to play" and sometimes playback failed popups. If I go to the second page "play from here" will work on the first entry of the page, but not the rest.

However, if I'm using my remote and just hit the "play/pause" button, or P on the keyboard, it will play any of the items in the past broadcast listings.


RE: [RELEASE] Twitch.tv - chronaden - 2015-09-02

Do anyone know of an alternative addon that's more maintained?


RE: [RELEASE] Twitch.tv - fuxxi - 2016-04-03

(2015-09-02, 18:25)chronaden Wrote: Do anyone know of an alternative addon that's more maintained?
There have been some updates in the meanwhile.. however the kodi addon in the repo doesnt get updated and is still at 1.3.1 where just 1.4.0 got released, which was a very huge update. Look at the changelog here:

https://github.com/StateOfTheArt89/Twitch.tv-on-XBMC/blob/master/changelog.txt

Quote:1.3.1
- fixed bug: addon would not play non-transcoded streams if requested quality was lower than source
1.3.2
- added followed games Thanks to stevensmedia
1.3.3
- added French language
1.4.0
- Major code refactoring + IRC integration. Thanks to anxdpanic

Find the complete changelog of 1.4.0 here:

https://github.com/StateOfTheArt89/Twitch.tv-on-XBMC/pull/150


Could anybody compile these for usage in Windows version of Kodi or tell me/us how to get it working?


RE: [RELEASE] Twitch.tv - m4xc4v413r4 - 2016-04-04

Why isn't this updated through the repo?


RE: [RELEASE] Twitch.tv - Slurrrp - 2016-04-07

(2015-08-11, 19:41)hewwra Wrote: There is a bug in this addon that causes Kodi to play VOD's in high quality and not in source quality.

To fix this open C:\Users\YourUserName\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\plugin.video.twitch\twitch\__init__.py in your favorite editor and go to line 340 (its at the end of the file) and change:
Code:
VOD_PLAYLIST = 'http://usher.twitch.tv/vod/{0}?nauth={1}&nauthsig={2}'
To:
Code:
VOD_PLAYLIST = 'http://usher.twitch.tv/vod/{0}?nauth={1}&nauthsig={2}&allow_source=true'

In short you need to add &allow_source=true to the variable VOD_PLAYLIST and you will be able to enjoy glorious source quality.

Do you know how to fix this in the 1.4.0 version?

/never mind. Its fixed now.


RE: [RELEASE] Twitch.tv - SnakeEyes - 2016-04-11

over the last week or two streams will freeze for a couple of seconds and then continue playing. this happens randomly once every 30 to 60 minutes. i can hear the cpu fan go into overdrive while this happens. as the stream resumes the fan drops back to normal. i watch Twitch daily for several hours and just started having this issue. in troubleshooting, i checked my version and noticed that i am on 1.3.1. i have "auto update" enabled. i also tried a manual update and got a confirmation message that the app was updated, but it is still showing 1.3.1. i have no other video playback issues (live tv, movie files, streaming, ect). i also do not have this issue when watching Twitch using chrome on the same machine.

for reference:
Jarvis 16.0
i7 920
12gb ram
GTX 660Ti
Win 7 Pro x64 with most current updates


RE: [RELEASE] Twitch.tv - elchupete - 2016-04-22

I am trying Krypton at the moment.

The Twitch Add-On is casting an "HTTP Error" No additional information is given.

I can provide a debug log if needed / wanted


RE: [RELEASE] Twitch.tv - elchupete - 2016-04-25

OK, this Addon is dead, isn't it?


RE: [RELEASE] Twitch.tv - zoydberg - 2016-04-27

(2016-04-25, 20:08)elchupete Wrote: OK, this Addon is dead, isn't it?

no, but the repository doesn't seem to be updating, thats why it's not auto-updating. but you can download the latest version from github, https://github.com/StateOfTheArt89/Twitch.tv-on-XBMC/archive/master.zip


RE: [RELEASE] Twitch.tv - SnakeEyes - 2016-04-27

(2016-04-27, 07:18)zoydberg Wrote:
(2016-04-25, 20:08)elchupete Wrote: OK, this Addon is dead, isn't it?

no, but the repository doesn't seem to be updating, thats why it's not auto-updating. but you can download the latest version from github, https://github.com/StateOfTheArt89/Twitch.tv-on-XBMC/archive/master.zip

thanks for posting this. my problem (posted above) was resolved with the update.


RE: [RELEASE] Twitch.tv - Vel2101 - 2016-04-27

(2016-04-27, 07:18)zoydberg Wrote:
(2016-04-25, 20:08)elchupete Wrote: OK, this Addon is dead, isn't it?

no, but the repository doesn't seem to be updating, thats why it's not auto-updating. but you can download the latest version from github, https://github.com/StateOfTheArt89/Twitch.tv-on-XBMC/archive/master.zip

yeah. Thanks. I was shortly shocked. latest version works.


This forum uses Lukasz Tkacz MyBB addons.