Kodi Community Forum
OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - Printable Version

Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: General Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Raspberry Pi (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=166)
---- Thread: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi (/showthread.php?tid=140518)



RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - rbej - 2013-06-30

If only ONE person have problem with smb, this is no problem. Sorry. OpenElec team not help you too.


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - evanspae - 2013-06-30

(2013-06-30, 07:57)Koloss Wrote:
(2013-06-29, 22:53)rbej Wrote: I dont have any problems with smb shares.

This is wonderful for you and not for me!
In Openelec 3.0.x i have no problems with smb-shares!

Please not ignore my problem!

I had a lot of problems upgrading from Frodo to the latest Gotham builds, last but one release. In my situation which you may want to check on your system, a lot of the new configuration updates to network settings etc had been zapped from my previous configuration and I too could not get previous smb shares to be recognized.

You should manually and painfully set up and your network settings particularly NTP time server, workgroup (case sensitive) and DNS, gateway and ip settings

Openelec>Network>NTP Servers
Openelec>Network>Connections.

Then check in information
System>System info>Network
System>Settings>Services>SMB client to check Wins server and workgroup are set correctly for your network


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - Vimes - 2013-06-30

@Koloss I don't think that you are being ignored but it might be difficult for rbej to be more helpful if your logs are not showing an issue, and no one else seems to be reporting similar problems....?

For me SMB shares are perfect when using any of the official builds of OpenElec including the latest 3.10 or, as I am now doing, these Gotham builds kindly supplied here.

Have you looked at your network etc for transfer issues (Ethernet I assume) or tried a different port of XBMC for your Pi...?
Check your Pi settings also.

Good luck with your problem Smile


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - Koloss - 2013-06-30

I can not believe it, but it works!
I update my PC LAN Driver and suddenly it runs with Openelc 3.1.0!!!

Can I now update from 3.1.0 to Gotham Testbuilfd?

I wil copy files to update Folder and restart my PI!

(2013-06-26, 19:41)Koloss Wrote: can't open : /sbin/init/ line 49 var/config/settings.conf
In the test builds I have still this problem, who can explain me this error?

In the afternoon I will again test a recent test build


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - Vimes - 2013-06-30

(2013-06-30, 11:26)Koloss Wrote: I can not believe it, but it works!
I update my PC LAN Driver and suddenly it runs with Openelc 3.1.0!!!

Can I now update from 3.1.0 to Gotham Testbuilfd?

I wil copy files to update Folder and restart my PI!

(2013-06-26, 19:41)Koloss Wrote: can't open : /sbin/init/ line 49 var/config/settings.conf
In the test builds I have still this problem, who can explain me this error?

In the afternoon I will again test a recent test build

There you go - glad that you are making progress Smile

IIRC I too had that error. What I did (not too good or experienced here) is install a fresh copy of the 3.0.6 build of OpenElec and then when that was running I placed the Gotham files from the target folder into the update folder of the OpenElec 3.0.6 build and it updated to the Gotham version and worked fine. It no longer give me that error.

There maybe a more elegant solution but the above worked for me.


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - zoltan - 2013-06-30

Hi rbej, upgrading from your old Fordo final. Should I change some settings my advancedsettings.xml?
My current file is:
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<advancedsettings>
  <cputempcommand>cputemp</cputempcommand>
  <gputempcommand>cputemp</gputempcommand>
  <showexitbutton>false</showexitbutton>

  <destroywindowcontrols>false</destroywindowcontrols>
  <fanartres>540</fanartres>
  <imageres>256</imageres>
  <bginfoloadermaxthreads>2</bginfoloadermaxthreads>
  <useddsfanart>false</useddsfanart>

  <video>
    <defaultplayer>omxplayer</defaultplayer>
    <defaultdvdplayer>omxplayer</defaultdvdplayer>
  </video>

  <audio>
    <defaultplayer>omxplayer</defaultplayer>
    <streamsilence>false</streamsilence>
  </audio>

  <network>
    <alwaysforcebuffer>true</alwaysforcebuffer>
    <freememorycachepercent>5</freememorycachepercent>
  </network>

  <samba>
    <clienttimeout>30</clienttimeout>
  </samba>

  <network>
    <curlclienttimeout>30</curlclienttimeout>
  </network>

</advancedsettings>

Thanks


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - rbej - 2013-06-30

If you dont have any problems dont change anything.


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - zoltan - 2013-06-30

I have cache problems streaming through smb from my wdtv live any mkv 720p videos.
Cache becomes empty faster than it refills...so I have many pauses during streaming to refill cache.


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - rbej - 2013-06-30

Add this:

<network>
<cachemembuffersize>5242880</cachemembuffersize>
<alwaysforcebuffer>1</alwaysforcebuffer>
</network>


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - zoltan - 2013-06-30

I already have "true" for alwaysforcebuffer. Should I replace true with 1?


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - rbej - 2013-06-30

Yes and delete freememorycache.


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - zoltan - 2013-06-30

I copied advancedsettings.xml from openelec github and addes your suggested settings. Now it looks like this:
Code:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<advancedsettings>
  <showexitbutton>false</showexitbutton>

  <destroywindowcontrols>false</destroywindowcontrols>
  <fanartres>720</fanartres>
  <imageres>540</imageres>
  <bginfoloadermaxthreads>2</bginfoloadermaxthreads>
  <useddsfanart>false</useddsfanart>

  <video>
    <defaultplayer>omxplayer</defaultplayer>
    <defaultdvdplayer>omxplayer</defaultdvdplayer>
    <busydialogdelayms>750</busydialogdelayms>
  </video>

  <audio>
    <defaultplayer>omxplayer</defaultplayer>
    <streamsilence>false</streamsilence>
  </audio>

  <network>
    <cachemembuffersize>5242880</cachemembuffersize>
    <alwaysforcebuffer>1</alwaysforcebuffer>
  </network>

  <samba>
    <clienttimeout>30</clienttimeout>
  </samba>

  <network>
    <curlclienttimeout>30</curlclienttimeout>
  </network>

</advancedsettings>

Is it good?


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - zoltan - 2013-06-30

It's slower than before in cache loading....

If I try to copy a video from my PC to my RPI through smb sharing I have a tranfer speed of about 300 KB/s. Is this the cause? Slow connection?

Sometimes at playback start I get a warning like this: "Cache saturated before reaching the level required for smooth playback". What does it means?


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - rbej - 2013-06-30

300kb/s is too slow.


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - Koloss - 2013-06-30

YES, Gotham Testbuild is running and the MKV starttimes are fast!
I updated from Openelec 3.1.0!

I have this problem:
(2013-06-26, 20:03)delinend Wrote:
(2013-06-26, 19:41)Koloss Wrote: The start problem when the folder has for example 2 Files, the starttime is 2-3 seconds.
When the folders has many Files starttime is very slow.
I normaly only have max 3 movies in one folder. I think XBMC is trying to calculate the hole movie lenght (see lower right corner), if you have one folder with many movies.

When i have 3 movies in one folder, I see not the working message (lower right corner),
When i have more files, I see shorty this Message and is a littlebit slowly!


This forum uses Lukasz Tkacz MyBB addons.