Kodi Community Forum
OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - Printable Version

Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: General Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Raspberry Pi (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=166)
---- Thread: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi (/showthread.php?tid=140518)



RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - thesuffering - 2013-02-03

(2013-02-03, 03:55)MilhouseVH Wrote:
(2013-02-03, 01:51)woodypecker Wrote: I would like to know how rbej final version 2 is installed on sd card from windows. anyone?
Thanks

Fresh install or upgrade? If you're upgrading it's pretty easy...

1) Download the latest rbej version 2 image - as this is a bz2 archive you'll need something like 7-Zip installed on your Windows PC to open it.

2) Open the archive and drill down into the "target" folder, then drag and drop the four files in this folder to the "Update" folder on your Pi (access your Pi using its IP address eg. \\192.168.0.12, or possibly \\openelec)

3) Reboot your Pi, wait for it to update itself to the new version, and enjoy.

If you just want to install a fresh image, then follow these instructions using rbej's version 2 image.
I dont see the update folder...where should it be?



RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - Milhouse - 2013-02-03

Connect to your Pi using Windows Explorer, it should be in the top level along with other folders such as Configfiles, Downloads, Emulators, Logfiles etc.


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - thesuffering - 2013-02-03

(2013-02-03, 19:10)MilhouseVH Wrote: Connect to your Pi using Windows Explorer, it should be in the top level along with other folders such as Configfiles, Downloads, Emulators, Logfiles etc.

I cant seem to find a way to connect via windows explorer.

via winscp i have the following

hidden folders:
.cache
.config
.smb
.ssh
.xbmc

unhidden folders:
lost+found
music
picturess
screenshots
tvshows
videos


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - sdsnyr94 - 2013-02-03

I loaded rbej's final version 2.... and noticed something a little odd. While playback was smooth, pressing "o" to show the codec information displayed the frame rate at between 8-10 fps. Playback was very smooth, even when displaying the OSD.... but my system still locked up after about 2 hours of Lord of the Rings.

I think I have found a solution to my crashes. As I have said in the past, Xbian Alpha 3 plays the videos to completion. Xbian Alpha 4 showed the same symptoms that I see with Openelec... in that version Xbian removed the swap file. If I create a 128Mb swap file, Xbian Alpha 4 plays the videos to completion.

I would like to see if enabling a swap file would resolve my issues on Openelec... can I easily add one? Are there instructions on how to do so?



RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - mactalla - 2013-02-03

(2013-02-03, 19:13)thesuffering Wrote: hidden folders:
.cache
.config
.smb
.ssh
.xbmc

Add one here called ".update" (no quotes) and use that.


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - lowridin_guy - 2013-02-04

(2013-01-31, 20:04)rbej Wrote: My new custom build.

Rbej Frodo Final Version 2

http://www.mediafire.com/?10456ccz13ard

- OpenElec build r13143
- Xbmc Frodo 12 Final with new Rpi patch:

- new video codecs: VP6, VP8, Ogg Theora and audio codec: Ogg Vorbis for Rpi.***
- Avoid blocking the video thread keeping the video fifo full.

- Rpi kernel 3.6.y (01.02.2013)
- Rpi firmware (30.01.2013)
- Pvr Addon (18.01.2013)
- Xvdr Addon (29.01.2013)
- Gpu memory set to 100mb on default for Rpi 256mb (fix kernal killing Xbmc task on Rpi 256mb board) and Gpu memory set to 256mb on default for Rpi 512mb.
- Memory cache set to 2621440 on default
- GUI resolution switch (taken from XBIAN)

Add to advencedsettings <guires>XXXX</guires>

XXXX = GUI resolution. 480p,720p,900p,1080p. <guires>720</guires>, <guires>1080</guires> etc...

Update Instruction:

http://openelec.tv/installation/updating

For Rpi 512Mb set gpu_mem=256, cachemembuffersize to 5242880 and change GUI to 1080p.

For Rpi 256Mb set gpu_mem=100, cachemembuffersize to 2621440 and change GUI to 900p.

***
If you want try new codecs add this line to config.txt

start_file=start_x.elf
fixup_file=fixup_x.elf

or clean install:

http://wiki.openelec.tv/index.php?title=Installing_OpenELEC_on_Raspberry_Pi

Hi rjeb,

Regarding this:
- Gpu memory set to 100mb on default for Rpi 256mb (fix kernal killing Xbmc task on Rpi 256mb board) and Gpu memory set to 256mb on default for Rpi 512mb.

I was under the assumption that this issue was fixed a little while ago? I'm running OE RC2 with no additional settings/tweaks and I haven't had the reboot issue that was present previously. Is this GPU memory split necessary? Also, are there any drawbacks to doing this?


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - rbej - 2013-02-04

Yes, because Rpi 256 Mb still hang on, when watch online movies (icefilm, 1channel). Set gpu mem to 100 mb resolve this problem.


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - zoltan - 2013-02-04

Hi rbej, can I upgrade from openelec official 2.99.2 release to your Frodo final version 2 or I must do a clean installation?


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - spjonez - 2013-02-04

(2013-02-04, 14:52)zoltan Wrote: Hi rbej, can I upgrade from openelec official 2.99.2 release to your Frodo final version 2 or I must do a clean installation?
You can upgrade using the normal method, MilhouseVH describes it a few posts above if you need the exact steps.


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - lowridin_guy - 2013-02-04

Okay I just thought this was already resolved when JasonPC was also testing and trying to troubleshoot this issue. I have watched some long TV shows using those plugins (not movies so much) and I haven't had it crash like it used to. I thought it was fixed without splitting the GPU memory like that.


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - rbej - 2013-02-04

My new custom build.

Rbej Gotham Version 2

http://www.mediafire.com/?10456ccz13ard

- OpenElec build r13165
- Xbmc 13 Gotham Alpha 1 (03.02.2013)
- Rpi kernel 3.6.y (01.02.2013)
- Rpi firmware (03.02.2013)
- Pvr Addon (18.01.2013)
- Xvdr Addon (29.01.2013)
- Gpu memory set to 100mb on default for Rpi 256mb (fix kernal killing Xbmc task on Rpi 256mb board) and Gpu memory set to 256mb on default for Rpi 512mb.
- Memory cache set to 2621440 on default
- GUI resolution switch (taken from XBIAN)

Add to advencedsettings <guires>XXXX</guires>

XXXX = GUI resolution. 480p,720p,900p,1080p. <guires>720</guires>, <guires>1080</guires> etc...

Update Instruction:

http://openelec.tv/installation/updating

For Rpi 512Mb set gpu_mem=256, cachemembuffersize to 5242880 and change GUI to 1080p.

For Rpi 256Mb set gpu_mem=100, cachemembuffersize to 2621440 and change GUI to 900p.

***
If you want try new codecs add this line to config.txt

start_file=start_x.elf
fixup_file=fixup_x.elf

or clean install:

http://wiki.openelec.tv/index.php?title=Installing_OpenELEC_on_Raspberry_Pi


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - vlad59 - 2013-02-04

Hi,

I think I'm the only one but I'll post anyway.

I use Xbmc a lot with RTSP stream provided by my ISP. I was a bit lazy and did not update since 12012013's rbej version.

Last weekend tried to update to frodo version 2 and every video is working fine except those RTSP streams : audio and video are not in sync (really not).

I did my homework and tried every version provided by rbej and the last one working for me is 12012013 ....

I even tried a full reinstall but no luck either Sad

Did anybody have an idea ?


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - rbej - 2013-02-04

Vertical blank sync to Always enable and enable Adjust display refresh rate to match video.


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - vlad59 - 2013-02-04

@rbej

Already tried it and it doesn't change a thing. The only stange line I see in the log is many

20:23:59 T:2887677024 WARNING: CRenderManager::FlipPage - timeout waiting for flip to complete

but that's all


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi - woodypecker - 2013-02-04

What is new or changed in gotham version 2?


This forum uses Lukasz Tkacz MyBB addons.