Kodi Community Forum
Linux XBMCBuntu Frodo RC - AE: Error - no devices found - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: General Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Linux (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=52)
+---- Thread: Linux XBMCBuntu Frodo RC - AE: Error - no devices found (/showthread.php?tid=145451)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9


RE: XBMCBuntu Frodo beta 1 - AE: Error - no devices found - Quiptix - 2012-12-09

(2012-12-07, 03:04)Martijn Wrote:
(2012-12-07, 02:03)Quiptix Wrote: Allthough I'm an IT-man I'm lost in your discussion now.
Who has the ball?

Vincent

You Smile

Create the ticket with enough information and putt DDDamian (for now) in the CC box
trac.xbmc.org and use your forum user/password

Ok, will do that!

Ticket: http://trac.xbmc.org/ticket/13703
To start with. If more info needed, please let me know!


RE: XBMCBuntu Frodo beta 1 - AE: Error - no devices found - tripkip - 2012-12-15

I also have an SSD. This needs to be fixed before Frodo comes out.


RE: XBMCBuntu Frodo beta 1 - AE: Error - no devices found - tripkip - 2012-12-15

(2012-11-30, 11:11)Quiptix Wrote: I have slightly changed the workaround:

I have changed /etc/init/lightdm.conf

In the conditions:
Code:
start on ((filesystem
           and runlevel [!06]
           and started dbus
           and started udev-finish
           and (drm-device-added card0 PRIMARY_DEVICE_FOR_DISPLAY=1
                or stopped udev-fallback-graphics))
          or runlevel PREVLEVEL=S)

I have added the condition 'started udev-finish'. This event is fired when the udev-initializer thinks it is finished. This still doesn't mean that all devices are up and usable. That's why I still of the sleep command in the script, however reduced to 3.

Now the system is up and running in 10 to 15 seconds.

Be aware that with the next beta these changes probably will be lost! (I'm not sure who to contact to have this solved in the distribution)

Vincent

This doesn't work for me. It stuck at the xbmc splash screen.




Re: XBMCBuntu Frodo beta 1 - AE: Error - no devices found - Quiptix - 2012-12-15

I'm sorry to hear that.
I have discovered this by trial and error and maybe it doesn't work for all platforms.

I hope that the TRAC issue will give a general solution for this.

Vincent



RE: XBMCBuntu Frodo beta 1 - AE: Error - no devices found - tripkip - 2012-12-18

I'd really be disappointed if this is not fixed before the final release of Frodo.
This is something a lot of people will experience making a move from Eden to Frodo and using a fast SSD.
And having no sound is not a good media center experience :-p


Re: XBMCBuntu Frodo RC - AE: Error - no devices found - Quiptix - 2012-12-18

I fully agree with you.


RE: XBMCBuntu Frodo RC - AE: Error - no devices found - wsnipex - 2012-12-18

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/lightdm/+bug/1066410
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/lightdm/+bug/969489


RE: XBMCBuntu Frodo RC - AE: Error - no devices found - lcapriotti - 2012-12-18

can anyone try the -d trick described in the launchpad page?


RE: XBMCBuntu Frodo RC - AE: Error - no devices found - tripkip - 2012-12-18

(2012-12-18, 17:02)lcapriotti Wrote: can anyone try the -d trick described in the launchpad page?

Om no expert here but enabling debugging will just slow the process down and therefore could "fix" the race issue.
It's the same as adding sleep before the exec. If there is one thing I want my HTPC to do except playing movies, is booting up fast Wink
This needs a proper fix.



RE: XBMCBuntu Frodo RC - AE: Error - no devices found - DDDamian - 2012-12-18

Essentially it's an OS problem - running apps before the system is ready - no different on Windows stripped down with a fast SSD. Delaying until the OS is ready whether it's inside or outside the program is the only solution.


RE: XBMCBuntu Frodo RC - AE: Error - no devices found - tripkip - 2012-12-18

(2012-12-18, 20:17)DDDamian Wrote: Essentially it's an OS problem - running apps before the system is ready - no different on Windows stripped down with a fast SSD. Delaying until the OS is ready whether it's inside or outside the program is the only solution.

Yes but there has to be a way to be notified of "hey the os is ready" ---> ok exec lightdm.
And not randomly sleep x seconds longer.


RE: XBMCBuntu Frodo RC - AE: Error - no devices found - DDDamian - 2012-12-19

Yes, that would be just to loop the audio initialization code until we get a good response, subject to an overall timeout. That assumes the OS / driver gives that response - no idea about lightdm. As mentioned, it's worth considering after Frodo.


RE: XBMCBuntu Frodo RC - AE: Error - no devices found - kbriggs346 - 2013-01-29

How do i add this code i really need this xbmc i s driving me nutts but i just cant figure out where yo input this thanks



RE: XBMCBuntu Frodo RC - AE: Error - no devices found - fritsch - 2013-01-29

Perhaps something like this might work:
Code:
diff --git a/xbmc/cores/AudioEngine/Engines/SoftAE/SoftAE.cpp b/xbmc/cores/AudioEngine/Engines/SoftAE/SoftAE.cpp
index 2403bd1..81b372f 100644
--- a/xbmc/cores/AudioEngine/Engines/SoftAE/SoftAE.cpp
+++ b/xbmc/cores/AudioEngine/Engines/SoftAE/SoftAE.cpp
@@ -39,6 +39,7 @@
#include "Interfaces/AESink.h"
#include "Utils/AEUtil.h"
#include "Encoders/AEEncoderFFmpeg.h"
+#include <unistd.h>

using namespace std;

@@ -74,7 +75,14 @@ CSoftAE::CSoftAE():
   m_outputStageFn      (NULL        ),
   m_streamStageFn      (NULL        )
{
+  unsigned int c_retry = 5;
   CAESinkFactory::EnumerateEx(m_sinkInfoList);
+  while(m_sinkInfoList.size() == 0 && c_retry > 0)
+  {
+    CLog::Log(LOGNOTICE, "No Devices found - retry: %d", c_retry);
+    CAESinkFactory::EnumerateEx(m_sinkInfoList);
+    usleep(2000000);
+    c_retry--;
+  }
   for (AESinkInfoList::iterator itt = m_sinkInfoList.begin(); itt != m_sinkInfoList.end(); ++itt)
   {
     CLog::Log(LOGNOTICE, "Enumerated %s devices:", itt->m_sinkName.c_str());



RE: XBMCBuntu Frodo RC - AE: Error - no devices found - StrungOutPunk - 2013-01-30

I was also having this exact issue. I fixed it using the information on the first post. I'm sure the instructions were posted at least once before but here is what I did anyways.

Code:
sudo cp /etc/init/lightdm.conf ~/lightdm.conf.bkp
sudo nano /etc/init/lightdm.conf

Find the line that contains:
Code:
exec lightdm -d

Add this in the empty line right before it:
Code:
sleep 10