Kodi Community Forum
Send a custom NOW PLAYING screen to MONITOR 2 - Printable Version

Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: General Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: OS independent / Other (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=228)
---- Thread: Send a custom NOW PLAYING screen to MONITOR 2 (/showthread.php?tid=153126)



Send a custom NOW PLAYING screen to MONITOR 2 - Negativecreep0 - 2013-01-23

Is it possible with the latest releases of XBMC/plugins to send a custom NOW PLAYING screen to Monitor 2? So when you choose a movie or music file to play it updates monitor 2 on the fly. A user over at avsforum (mcascio) did this with a software called mainLobby. I was wondering if it was possible with XBMC and maybe JSON calls or something..............

Image


RE: Send a custom NOW PLAYING screen to MONITOR 2 - live4ever - 2013-01-23

Possible but you'd have to make a web interface addon or probably modify an existing one.
http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Category:Web_interface_add-ons


RE: Send a custom NOW PLAYING screen to MONITOR 2 - Ned Scott - 2013-01-24

Someone set this up once with XBMC... I can't find the thread, though.


RE: Send a custom NOW PLAYING screen to MONITOR 2 - DigitalAnvil - 2013-01-24

That's awesome (Anyone know what he has setup to display on that screen when XBMC is not running?)


RE: Send a custom NOW PLAYING screen to MONITOR 2 - Negativecreep0 - 2013-01-24

He uses a program called mainLobby its a software suite you can help make custom menu's and stuff, looks complicated to me........ that's why I was wondering if xbmc can do this


RE: Send a custom NOW PLAYING screen to MONITOR 2 - backspace - 2013-10-07

Holy! this would be awesome!!! any update, can this be doneHuh


RE: Send a custom NOW PLAYING screen to MONITOR 2 - spiff - 2013-10-07

sure it can be done. now go do it.


RE: Send a custom NOW PLAYING screen to MONITOR 2 - backspace - 2013-10-07

Wish I had the expertize to do it!! Maybe in a few years when I have some programming knowledge I could do this but I am only learning. Smile


RE: Send a custom NOW PLAYING screen to MONITOR 2 - SeveredDime - 2013-10-07

Check out this thread on AVS, it's what I'm using:

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1439406/movieposter-virtual-movie-poster-display-software


RE: Send a custom NOW PLAYING screen to MONITOR 2 - backspace - 2013-10-08

@SeveredDime That is it!!!! looks fantastic, I will check it out.


RE: Send a custom NOW PLAYING screen to MONITOR 2 - SeveredDime - 2013-10-09

No problem, glad I could help.

I picked up 2 40" TV's for cheap off a local buy/sell site to use for this project. I believe it was in the works to have the program support multiple tv's, so I've been holding out waiting to see if that will be implemented. If not, from my understanding it won't be difficult to run two instances of the program at the same time, one for each display.


This forum uses Lukasz Tkacz MyBB addons.