Kodi Community Forum
Add a remote source (smb) the GUI may freeze for a considerable time - Printable Version

Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Development (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=32)
+--- Forum: Feature Discussion (read-only) (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=183)
--- Thread: Add a remote source (smb) the GUI may freeze for a considerable time (/showthread.php?tid=153220)



Add a remote source (smb) the GUI may freeze for a considerable time - joebrady - 2013-01-24

topfs2 Wrote:Problem: Add a remote source. If we navigate to smb the GUI may freeze for a considerable time.

Solution: Canceble busy popup? or just a busy icon in label2?



RE: Add a remote source. If we navigate to smb the GUI may freeze for a consider - jmarshall - 2013-01-24

It should already be cancellable with the busy dialog. Does it not pop up?


RE: Add a remote source (smb) the GUI may freeze for a considerable time - sho - 2013-01-27

My limited testing revealed that either XBMC pops up an error dialog or shows a busy (Working) animation.
Former is by definition not cancellable, latter does not seem to be either.


RE: Add a remote source (smb) the GUI may freeze for a considerable time - Ned Scott - 2013-01-27

I've been able to use BACK to get out of the busy dialog, but I do recall sometimes not being able to. I know for sure that I've been able to cancel out of a bad SMB source in the past. Will test in depth later.


RE: Add a remote source (smb) the GUI may freeze for a considerable time - topfs2 - 2013-01-27

What sho said, at best it popped up a kai like dialog which is not cancellable


RE: Add a remote source (smb) the GUI may freeze for a considerable time - jmarshall - 2013-01-28

The busy dialog for directory browsing (assuming that's what it is) is cancellable. I don't think the busy would be there otherwise.

IMO the issue needs stating more clearly so that it's reproducible easily and we can focus on exactly what is hitting.