Kodi Community Forum
Win Trying to use VLC as an external player with frodo 12.1 - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: General Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Windows (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=59)
+---- Thread: Win Trying to use VLC as an external player with frodo 12.1 (/showthread.php?tid=162888)

Pages: 1 2

Trying to use VLC as an external player with frodo 12.1 - newman87 - 2013-04-20

Hi all,
I hope someone can help me im a bit of a noob at all this.
I am getting really jumpy movie playback through xbmc but the movies are playing perfectly through VLC so i thought i would try to add VLC as an external player in XBMC.
i have created an xml file named playercorefactory as suggested in multiple other threads and placed it into my userdata folder.
the file contents are
<playercorefactory>
<players>
<player name="VLC" type="ExternalPlayer" audio="false" video="true">
<filename>C:\Program Files (x86)\VideoLAN\VLC\VLC.exe</filename>
<args>"{1}" /fullscreen /close</args>
<hidexbmc>true</hidexbmc>
<hideconsole>true</hideconsole>
<warpcursor>none</warpcursor>
</player>
</players>
</playercorefactory>

i have left the original playercorefactory xml in the system folder aswell
i cannot seem to get the option to use an external player anywhere.
The movies still play in XBMC and even when i press C i dont get a play using option
I am totally confused and getting a little frustrated (ive been playing around with this for hours)
What am i doing wrongHuh?
Any help would be appreciated.

BTW i forgot to write the new XML i have created and placed into userdata ONLY contains the above bit of code i removed the original code. did i need to keep the original code aswell for the file i placed in userdata??
Do i need to add that bit of code to the playercorefactory xml in system??
Totally lost lol.
Thanks again