Kodi Community Forum
Testing audio engine ActiveAE - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Development (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=32)
+--- Forum: Kodi Application (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=93)
+--- Thread: Testing audio engine ActiveAE (/showthread.php?tid=170338)



RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - ray1112 - 2013-08-30

(2013-08-30, 22:46)fritsch Wrote: Does anything change, if you do:

sudo -s
echo 0 > /sys/module/snd_hda_intel/parameters/power_save
echo N > /sys/module/snd_hda_intel/parameters/power_save_controller
Nothing

(2013-08-30, 22:57)fritsch Wrote: I pushed another code change, so just go to the folder you checkout xbmc and do git pull, that will update, afterwarwards a make -j5 is enough.
It's working! Great job.

Log: http://pastebin.com/zzenn3Ft


RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - fritsch - 2013-08-30

Okay, same thing again:

git pull / followed by make -j5

Still working?

Quote:01:03:01 T:3074030400 INFO: CAESinkALSA - ALSA: pulse.c:243Sadpulse_connect) PulseAudio: Unable to connect: Connection refused

-> sudo apt-get remove --purge libasound2-plugins, it seems to be left.


RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - ray1112 - 2013-08-30

(2013-08-30, 23:26)fritsch Wrote: Okay, same thing again:

git pull / followed by make -j5

Still working?

No. Blinking.

Quote:01:03:01 T:3074030400 INFO: CAESinkALSA - ALSA: pulse.c:243Sadpulse_connect) PulseAudio: Unable to connect: Connection refused

I purged PulseAudio and use only ALSA.

Quote:-> sudo apt-get remove --purge libasound2-plugins, it seems to be left.
I will try this late. Thank you.

Log: http://pastebin.com/LU2MqDCK

P.S. Good news: Now exit from XBMC is working. Before this I use "kill -9 xbmc.bin".


RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - fritsch - 2013-08-30

Okay, that is funny. I think I know what the problem is.

What happens now?

git pull and make -j5


RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - ray1112 - 2013-08-30

(2013-08-30, 23:45)fritsch Wrote: Okay, that is funny. I think I know what the problem is.

What happens now?

git pull and make -j5
It's working.
Log: http://pastebin.com/8p03yaRJ

P.S. XBMC exit is not working (hung up). I need "kill -9".


RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - fritsch - 2013-08-30

@FernetMenta: The flashing is cause of the "Silence Package" that triggers a format change (int the AVR), when the Noise is put through later again.

@ray1112: Thanks for testing that out.

At the end, the diff is quite small:
Code:
diff --git a/xbmc/cores/AudioEngine/Engines/ActiveAE/ActiveAESink.cpp b/xbmc/cores/AudioEngine/Engines/ActiveAE/ActiveAESink.cpp
index 834e938..9900cbd 100644
--- a/xbmc/cores/AudioEngine/Engines/ActiveAE/ActiveAESink.cpp
+++ b/xbmc/cores/AudioEngine/Engines/ActiveAE/ActiveAESink.cpp
@@ -402,7 +402,8 @@ void CActiveAESink::StateMachine(int signal, Protocol *port, Message *msg)
         switch (signal)
         {
         case CSinkControlProtocol::TIMEOUT:
-          OutputSamples(&m_sampleOfSilence);
+//          OutputSamples(&m_sampleOfSilence);
+          OutputSamples(&m_sampleOfNoise);
           m_extCycleCounter--;
           if (m_extError)
           {



RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - charlie0440 - 2013-08-31

@fritsch - compiled OE with your xbmc master build, enabled "Stream silence on idle" and the flicking has now stopped. Also the GUI sounds now work properly. Before it only played a noise every so often ie when scrolling a list say every 5secs


RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - fritsch - 2013-08-31

(2013-08-31, 09:51)charlie0440 Wrote: @fritsch - compiled OE with your xbmc master build, enabled "Stream silence on idle" and the flicking has now stopped. Also the GUI sounds now work properly. Before it only played a noise every so often ie when scrolling a list say every 5secs

Fix is not fully correct. Can harm passthrough. The other problem is untriggered stream silence Option.


RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - charlie0440 - 2013-08-31

if you post here when theres a new commit. I'll retest


RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - stupid-boy - 2013-08-31

just tested XBMCSetup-20130830-b08bd0e-master.exe ( windows ) over spdif with EA_ENGINE=Active.
stream used: http://live.btvradio.bg/z-rock.mp3
regular drops with both wasapi and DX. nothing in log file.
same stream work with 12.2, winamp, ....


RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - arnova - 2013-08-31

@stupid-boy: When reporting problems, providing a debug log is mandatory else it isn't of much use.....


RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - afedchin - 2013-08-31

Hi all,

I have issue with AC3 on lastest (2435cf3) master and ActiveAE.

I have a lot of IPTV channels with mp2 or(and) ac3 audio streams. After starting htpc the channels (or movies) with ac3 plays perfectly. TV displays that input audio format is DD. After some time when I changed audio track to non-ac3 (or started other channel or movie) then change back to ac3 (or start other channel or movie with ac3) i have the following lines in the logs and no sound with any ac3 streams. Restarting xbmc doesn't solve issue. Only a reboot of the htpc solves this issue for a while.
Code:
23:38:13 T:3604  NOTICE: Creating audio stream (codec id: 86019, channels: 2, sample rate: 48000, pass-through)
23:38:13 T:3604   ERROR: ActiveAE::ActiveAE::CActiveAE::MakeStream - could not create stream
23:38:13 T:3604   ERROR: CDVDPlayerAudio::Process - failed to create audio renderer

My TV supports DD stream. My audio settings is:
Output: HDMI
Configuration: 2.0
Boost: on
Stereo to all: on
DD (AC3): on
LPCM: on
Silence: on
Output: WASAPI - HDMI - Philips FTV (Intel® Display Audio)
Passthrough: WASAPI - HDMI - Philips FTV (Intel® Display Audio)
GUI sounds: never

There is no difference between WASAPI or DirectSound. The issue exists on both. If I disable DD (AC3) capable all is fine but TV displays that input audio format is digital stereo of course.

There a few logs: google drive


RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - FernetMenta - 2013-09-01

I have identified an issue but not sure about the reason, maybe just a timing problem. Can you try setting the timeout here:
https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/blob/master/xbmc/cores/AudioEngine/Engines/ActiveAE/ActiveAE.cpp#L2359

to 10000


RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - afedchin - 2013-09-01

@FernetMenta,

I'll try. Thanks.


RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - manio - 2013-09-01

Tested on 617b1ce. Everything i tested played correctly:
- mp3/wav/flac stereo and multichannel
- ac3/dts with analog output and passthrough
good job, thank you Smile