Kodi Community Forum
Testing audio engine ActiveAE - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Development (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=32)
+--- Forum: Kodi Application (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=93)
+--- Thread: Testing audio engine ActiveAE (/showthread.php?tid=170338)



RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - FernetMenta - 2013-09-08

@jpsdr lets keep this issue in mind. maybe it makes sense adding a user option to the new audio settings page. Since ELD can be wrong it might be required to keep the number of channels.

@bibi
ffmpeg[6D4AC700]: [dca] DTS-ExSS: unknown marker = 0x41a29547

Maybe some ffmpeg issue.


RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - StinDaWg - 2013-09-08

XBMC doesn't use high resampling unless <resample>48000</resample> is set in advancedsettings. Is this the way it is supposed to work or is it still a WIP? Seems odd that you would have to modify the xml to get a regular menu setting to work.


RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - Martijn - 2013-09-08

(2013-09-08, 10:39)StinDaWg Wrote: XBMC doesn't use high resampling unless <resample>48000</resample> is set in advancedsettings. Is this the way it is supposed to work or is it still a WIP? Seems odd that you would have to modify the xml to get a regular menu setting to work.

if you don't need to resample you shouldn't do it. if you don't understand why you need it you shouldn't alter anything.
resample is only meant for cases when the audio output can't output the actual frequency like spdif


RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - stupid-boy - 2013-09-08

(2013-09-07, 22:02)fritsch Wrote: @stupid-boy:

I took the time to undust my old AMD Fusion E350

you don't understand me, sorry.
i don't mean here is some problem. i mention that there is real difference in cpu load, not as other attendee states there is no any.
yes, i have bigger difference as i use debug build, and because i use dvdplayer for audio player. on OE results must be different. i agree, my picture is not what most of people should see. again, this is not a problem report.

but it is good if you have yet another low powered machine on hands to test on Wink
let me buy some ( virtual ) beer for you Nod


RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - fritsch - 2013-09-08

@stupid-boy:
Yeah, i think I understood you right. Just wanted to say, that "high" should be doable on E350. And concerning those, that "don't hear a difference" and "don't see a difference" - i don't really care, as I made my own measurements and understand the math behind it and also asked some, that did not know: "What sounds better?" ;-)

So all fine :-) Thanks for the beer.

@StinDaWG: /* No comment */


RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - bibi - 2013-09-08

Ok, here a new log http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=56300
I get the issue with local or smb videos.
resample is medium
The sound is like it was playing in a tank

I noticed this :
Code:
13:14:52 T:139902224389888    INFO: CAESinkALSA - ALSA: /home/fritsch/Desktop/OpenELEC.tv/build.OpenELEC_Gotham-Generic.x86_64-devel/alsa-lib-1.0.26/src/pcm/pcm_hw.c:532:(snd_pcm_hw_hwsync) SNDRV_PCM_IOCTL_HWSYNC failed (-32): Broken pipe
13:14:52 T:139902224389888   ERROR: CAESinkALSA::HandleError(snd_pcm_avail) - underrun
and this :
Code:
13:16:02 T:139902235002688   ERROR: Get - failed to get stream
13:16:02 T:139902224389888   ERROR: Previous line repeats 2 times.
13:16:02 T:139902224389888   DEBUG: CActiveAE::OpenSink - ALSA Initialized:



RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - fritsch - 2013-09-08

Please play this sample:
http://www.dvdloc8.com/dolbydtsclip.php?clipid=1 (AC3)
http://www.dvdloc8.com/dolbydtsclip.php?clipid=3 (DTS)

and post the log of it.


RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - stupid-boy - 2013-09-08

yesterday fixes really changed behavior.

i started playback without stereo upmix. during playback i enable it:
Code:
DEBUG: CAESinkWASAPI::IsCompatible: Formats Incompatible due to different :Sample Rates:Data Formats:Passthrough Formats
INFO: CActiveAE::OpenSink - sink incompatible, re-starting
my receiver switched by PCM to dolby digital.
after that, every time i hit this option:
Code:
DEBUG: CAESinkWASAPI::IsCompatible: Formats compatible - reusing existing sink
my receiver stays at dolby, just audible channels changed.
i must stop/start playback in order to get rid of resampling.

--------
i am ready with keyboard mapping for stereo upmix toggle and will made PR later, but it is not so useful if it will not drop resampling.


RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - FernetMenta - 2013-09-08

That's intended behavior without the audiophile option. spdif can't output more than 2 channels in PCM mode.


RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - stupid-boy - 2013-09-08

I mean, if I turn of upmix, then I am ok with 2 chanels. Actually I get them, but over dolby resampling, which I do not need.
I see, you don't get OnSettingChanged event, I don't know how applicable it is, but in it you can drop current sink without problem.


RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - FernetMenta - 2013-09-08

Without the change event you won't see DEBUG: CAESinkWASAPI::IsCompatible: Formats compatible - reusing existing sink
Again, we only reconfigure the sink if audiophile is set.

There may be a problem with transcode. Looking into it.


RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - stupid-boy - 2013-09-08

audiophile don't change that behavior, just tested it.

by looking only on changed code fragment, i am not sure what you expect from added if in this commit, but it seems suspicious. i believe it is one that you mention when you talk about that change. sorry, i didn't looked at entire code yet.

EDIT:
ok, i see. in CActiveAE::OnSettingsChange you lose actual reason for reconfigure. after that current sink is compatible, yes. i will try something slightly different now.

EDIT2: tried, bad idea. restored behavior, but at unacceptable price.


RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - FernetMenta - 2013-09-08

I have identified the problem, something which has been wrong all the time.


RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - FernetMenta - 2013-09-08

With this patch I can toggle stereo upmix properly on spdif: https://github.com/FernetMenta/xbmc/commit/1183182b688997b5caf725b45446d1b51bd26f6f


RE: Testing audio engine ActiveAE - stupid-boy - 2013-09-08

this works.
there are few cranks when dolby -> PCM, but not fatal.