Kodi Community Forum
Screen resolution computer-tv hdmi not accurate samsung hdtv - Printable Version

Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Discussions (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=222)
+--- Forum: Off-Topic (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=113)
--- Thread: Screen resolution computer-tv hdmi not accurate samsung hdtv (/showthread.php?tid=171950)

Pages: 1 2 3


Screen resolution computer-tv hdmi not accurate samsung hdtv - woutaccor - 2013-08-24

Hello, i have a problem.

When i connect my laptop with hdmi to my samsung hdtv the edges are cut off, i searched for many threads on google already but couldn't solve my problem so i post this. The hdmi cable is in the hdmi/dvi input and i changed it in the source meno to 'PC' but nothing changed/happend. Then i saw on threads much things about going in 'menu' to 'picture' and search in 'screen adjustments' to something like 'fill' or 'mode' or whatever it was, but if i go to picture there is like only 1 usefull setting for the resolation and thats the format button, when i press it 16:9 is highlighted, the other 2 options are 'zoom' or '4:3' but both still not fixing my problem, any one can help me? I'll read the answers as fast as possible, or you can send me a mail: [email protected] because i have to sleep now.. it's CET here.

Thanks!


RE: Screen resolution computer-tv hdmi not accurate samsung hdtv - Ned Scott - 2013-08-24

What model of Samsung TV? I can try to look it up for ya. Samsung isn't very good about consistency of their menus :)


RE: Screen resolution computer-tv hdmi not accurate samsung hdtv - jammyb - 2013-08-24

Close laptop so its only on the telly screen and set picture mode on Samsung to "screen fit"


RE: Screen resolution computer-tv hdmi not accurate samsung hdtv - woutaccor - 2013-08-24

(2013-08-24, 04:08)Ned Scott Wrote: What model of Samsung TV? I can try to look it up for ya. Samsung isn't very good about consistency of their menus Smile
Where can i see what model i have? Can i find it on the TV?
Edit: wait, if i look on the back of the TV it says this:
Model: LE27S71B [R] C
Model code: LE27S71BXIXEC
Type no.: BD27EO
Anything usefull?

(2013-08-24, 08:24)jammyb Wrote: Close laptop so its only on the telly screen and set picture mode on Samsung to "screen fit"

Did it but can't find anything like 'screen fit'


RE: Screen resolution computer-tv hdmi not accurate samsung hdtv - twelvebore - 2013-08-24

On one of my Samsung TVs it says "just scan", which is 1:1 pixel mapping.


RE: Screen resolution computer-tv hdmi not accurate samsung hdtv - jammyb - 2013-08-24

Screen fit is in picture mode

16:9
4:3
Etc
Etc
Screen fit.

Or 1:1


RE: Screen resolution computer-tv hdmi not accurate samsung hdtv - aesalazar - 2013-08-24

So, I am not 100% clear. woutaccor, are you talking about overscan? Thats a normal thing when send sending a pc signal to a TV. Why dont you just do the video calibration in the XBMC settings menu to adjust it?

Ernie


RE: Screen resolution computer-tv hdmi not accurate samsung hdtv - woutaccor - 2013-08-24

(2013-08-24, 13:16)jammyb Wrote: Screen fit is in picture mode

16:9
4:3
Etc
Etc
Screen fit.

Or 1:1
Not in my menu, i only have 16:9, zoom and 4:3

(2013-08-24, 13:26)aesalazar Wrote: So, I am not 100% clear. woutaccor, are you talking about overscan? Thats a normal thing when send sending a pc signal to a TV. Why dont you just do the video calibration in the XBMC settings menu to adjust it?

Ernie
how do i do the video calibration?

(2013-08-24, 13:12)twelvebore Wrote: On one of my Samsung TVs it says "just scan", which is 1:1 pixel mapping.

Not on my TV, for a reason



RE: Screen resolution computer-tv hdmi not accurate samsung hdtv - aesalazar - 2013-08-24

It would be Settings > System > Video Output> Video calibration...

See if that helps.

Ernie


RE: Screen resolution computer-tv hdmi not accurate samsung hdtv - coolasice - 2013-08-24

if it is an ati video card there is a setting you can adjust for that


RE: Screen resolution computer-tv hdmi not accurate samsung hdtv - woutaccor - 2013-08-24

(2013-08-24, 14:16)aesalazar Wrote: It would be Settings > System > Video Output> Video calibration...

See if that helps.

Ernie

On the TV or PC?


RE: Screen resolution computer-tv hdmi not accurate samsung hdtv - aesalazar - 2013-08-24

(2013-08-24, 14:26)woutaccor Wrote:
(2013-08-24, 14:16)aesalazar Wrote: It would be Settings > System > Video Output> Video calibration...

See if that helps.

Ernie

On the TV or PC?


XBMC. I assume you are talking about setting up XBMC on a PC connected to a TV.

Ernie


RE: Screen resolution computer-tv hdmi not accurate samsung hdtv - Richard39 - 2013-08-24

problem is with TV it isn't problem as such u just have to change the setting in the TV menu to "Just Scan"


RE: Screen resolution computer-tv hdmi not accurate samsung hdtv - woutaccor - 2013-08-24

(2013-08-24, 14:50)aesalazar Wrote:
(2013-08-24, 14:26)woutaccor Wrote:
(2013-08-24, 14:16)aesalazar Wrote: It would be Settings > System > Video Output> Video calibration...

See if that helps.

Ernie

On the TV or PC?


XBMC. I assume you are talking about setting up XBMC on a PC connected to a TV.

Ernie
Yes, but can't find it.

(2013-08-24, 14:57)Richard39 Wrote: problem is with TV it isn't problem as such u just have to change the setting in the TV menu to "Just Scan"

I know but on my TV there isnt a just scan option


RE: Screen resolution computer-tv hdmi not accurate samsung hdtv - aesalazar - 2013-08-24

US TVs dont have an option like that - at least I have never seen one. Wish they did, sounds handy.

If you are running a skin other then confluence, try switching back to find it:

http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=File:Settings.system.video_output.png