Kodi Community Forum
Linux Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: General Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Linux (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=52)
+---- Thread: Linux Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) (/showthread.php?tid=174854)



RE: Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - spiroid - 2014-01-11

(2014-01-10, 22:24)spiroid Wrote:
(2014-01-10, 20:56)locomot1f Wrote: @spiroid -- you need to post full debug logs on either pastebin.com or xbmclogs.com

that little snippet is not enough to tell us anything.

@locomot1f: here is the link to the pastebin with the full content of the xbmc.log file: http://pastebin.com/DUdcHyPm

Edit: I just recompiled and reinstalled xbmc and it now works. I added some missing libraries that were listed in docs/README.linux docs/README.ubuntu and given by
Code:
sudo apt-get build-dep xbmc



RE: Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - fritsch - 2014-01-11

Howto selfbuild xbmc, resulting targets will be in /usr/local

Code:
sudo apt-add-repository ppa:wsnipex/xbmc-fernetmenta-master
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get build-dep xbmc
sudo apt-get install libxslt-dev
git clone https://github.com/FernetMenta/xbmc.git
cd xbmc
./bootstrap ; ./configure --enable-vdpau --disable-debug (--enable-pulse --disable-vaapi --disable-crystalhd)
make -j3
sudo make install

Howto update, as fernetmenta is a fast forward tree:
Code:
cd xbmc
git fetch origin
git reset --hard origin/master
git clean -xfd
ccache -cC (if you have ccache installed)
./bootstrap ; ./configure --enable-vdpau --disable-debug (--enable-pulse --disable-vaapi --disable-crystalhd)
make -j3
sudo make install

In order to start that custom version edit /etc/init/xbmc.conf to change /usr/bin/xbmc to /usr/local/bin/xbmc

Recent nightlies have a new PulseAudio Sink, enabling it with --enable-pulse does not harm for users without pulseaudio, as the enumeration will return empty and ALSA will be used. For the desktop users this should solve long standing Audio problems. Pulse itself currently has some limitations (not xbmc dependend). A) if you configure the device with pavucontrol to have 7.1 speakers, you won't have passthrough. Passthrough mode works (AC3, DTS, EAC3) if you just activate those codecs and keep the rest to default (e.g. Stereo).


RE: Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - wsnipex - 2014-01-11

if you want debs instead, run:
Code:
tools/Linux/packaging/mk-debian-package.sh

in the xbmc source tree. You must have the devscripts package installed(or pbuilder).


RE: Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - gradinaruvasile - 2014-01-11

I built this latest version from git on Debian 64 bit and it with pulseaudio activated and has massive memory leaks.
I start it up and eats up all available memory and swaps out everything else. I have 8 GB RAM (6 GB useable because of my IGP) and had about 1-2 GB used before. I have to kill it.
First time i started up it (directly from the build directory as i always do first when i build it), showed up and i opened the sound settings to see what changed there. I opened the output device list and clicked on the "internal analog (PULSEAUDIO)" device when the hdd started to work and the mouse movement was skipping. Opened a top and saw xbmc eating 4.9 GB RAM. Killed it and restarted, but now it didnt even show up, only it begun aeting up RAM.

The log is here, although doesnt contain much, last thing is

Code:
15:04:09 T:140181269362624   ERROR: ActiveAE::Initialize - failed to init

http://pastebin.com/01nhuPwx

How can i enable full debug logging without access to the gui?


RE: Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - fritsch - 2014-01-11

Nice :-) Remove your guisettings.xml for a moment.


RE: Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - fritsch - 2014-01-11

What's that one:
Quote:15:04:03 T:140181269362624 NOTICE: m_deviceName : alsa_output.pci-0000_00_14.2.analog-stereo.echo-cancel



RE: Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - gradinaruvasile - 2014-01-11

(2014-01-11, 15:26)fritsch Wrote: Nice :-) Remove your guisettings.xml for a moment.

Same. I even removed my whole .xbmc dir and does the same.


RE: Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - fritsch - 2014-01-11

I cannot help you - no logfiles, no backtrace nothing. As long I can only say: works for me.

If you build yourself, make sure you used ccache -cC in between.


RE: Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - gradinaruvasile - 2014-01-11

I enabled full logs from the old version, see if helps:

http://pastebin.com/B2mcC2xX

Interestingly, the new xbmc started now, but as i clicked on the audio tab, the available memory (on the debug overlayed osd) started to decrease at an alarming rate and i had to kill it from the terminal as it didnt stop when i clicked on the windows close button.


RE: Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - fritsch - 2014-01-11

Quote:DEBUG: CActiveAESink::OpenSink - trying to open device ALSA:default

Why is CAESinkALSA running at all?
In the mean time, add: https://github.com/fritsch/xbmc/commit/cdc666f7f7b9ce3f3c99c2dbf51d907aede1eaab to get rid of that device with NULL channels.


RE: Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - tomn - 2014-01-11

hi,

after updating the mesa ppa:

PHP Code:
sudo apt-add-repository ppa:wsnipex/mesa
sudo apt
-get update 

i got some 404 errors.

W: Failed to fetch http://ppa.launchpad.net/wsnipex/mesa/ubuntu/dists/trusty/main/binary-amd64/Packages 404 Not Found
W: Failed to fetch http://ppa.launchpad.net/wsnipex/mesa/ubuntu/dists/trusty/main/binary-i386/Packages 404 Not Found

These errors occur because the trusty folder doesn't exist. i guess i need the saucy folder (http://ppa.launchpad.net/wsnipex/mesa/ubuntu/dists/) but i don't know how to do this, can someone help me how to proceed here? (i'm not a Linux expert, sorry).

Thanks!


RE: Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - fritsch - 2014-01-11

Don't run Ubuntu releases that are not yet out at all. Install a Saucy version and fine.


RE: Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - tomn - 2014-01-11

This is a Saucy version however i had to install a daily build ( http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/ubuntu-server/daily/current/trusty-server-amd64.iso ) because of an usb-keyboard problem in the installation of ubuntu
( https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/linux/+bug/1244176 )

edit: so if i install the original saucy version ( https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Installation/MinimalCD ) it should work?


RE: Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - pyrodex - 2014-01-11

(2014-01-11, 18:23)tomn Wrote: This is a Saucy version however i had to install a daily build (http://cdimage.ubuntu.com/ubuntu-server/daily/current/trusty-server-amd64.iso) because of an usb-keyboard problem in the installation of ubuntu
(https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/linux/+bug/1244176)

I had the same problem on one of my two IDENTICAL machines (Weird I know) but I was able to install via PS/2 keyboard. Do you happen to have a PS/2 port and an older keyboard laying around?


RE: Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - tomn - 2014-01-11

well not really, i might lend 1 of a friend/work however there is no PS/2 port on my zotac so i don't think it will work with a PS/2 to USB adapter

edit: just read a topic saying to install 13.04 and run do-release-upgrade so guess im going to do that... Thanks for your help so far