Kodi Community Forum
Linux Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: General Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Linux (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=52)
+---- Thread: Linux Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) (/showthread.php?tid=174854)



RE: Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - fritsch - 2014-10-27

Can you also please upload the crashlog from your homefolder? (Still curious, cause the ffmpeg errors look sever).


RE: Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - dEADkIRK - 2014-10-27

Sure!

flac
http://paste.ubuntu.com/8705754/

mp3
http://paste.ubuntu.com/8705761/


RE: Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - fritsch - 2014-10-27

Wargh: sudo apt-get install gdb

the backtrace was missing, please (if you find time) redo those.


RE: Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - davisdmg - 2014-10-27

(2014-10-27, 17:00)wsnipex Wrote: looks right

done and everything working as a charm Smile

great work!


RE: Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - dEADkIRK - 2014-10-27

gdb was installed but a stack-trace doesn't get included. Anything i need to do differently?

I re-installed gdb and will try again

sorry for being a noob on this.


RE: Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - fritsch - 2014-10-27

You can also try to start it directly with gdb

gdb /usr/local/lib/xbmc/xbmc.bin
set logging on rausdamit.txt
run


after crash:
thread apply all bt

and press enter until nothing appears anymore.

Afterwards:
cat rausdamit.txt | pastebinit

If you start xbmc via my upstart script (you need to install a window manager before - sudo apt-get install fluxbox) and add activate the correct option in the /etc/init/xbmc.conf, e.g. deactivating direct start of xbmc and using startfluxbox instead.


RE: Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - wsnipex - 2014-10-27

/usr/lib/kodi/kodi.bin Wink


RE: Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - fritsch - 2014-10-27

@wsnipex: yes :-)

@dEADkIRK: I tested your sample and it is working perfectly fine without any issue nore ffmpeg failures.


No Libraries - Endeavour79 - 2014-10-29

Followed the guide and managed to get existing XBMC switched to Kodi with Skins and IR settings.
However there's no libraries anymore.

How can I copy my existing XBMC libraries/folder config to Kodi?


RE: Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - fritsch - 2014-10-29

it's done automatically on first kodi start.


Edid / HDMI - Handshake workaround. - Ney - 2014-10-29

Warning: This how-to is for advanced users. If you can't cope with errors, and/or can only do a copy paste without understanding the parts, this is not for you. You have been warned :)

Ok, so fritsch did some more work on the whole edid thing while trying to help me out. So here is a small how-to on behalf of his efforts.

Steps in this howto:
1) make sure you have booted and the hdmi output works!
2) grab the correct edid
3) edit grub
4) change initramfs
5) update grub and initramfs
6) check if hdmi output works with tv off/avr on, then both off.

Note: nano is used as an example of a text editor, feel free to use another editor of your choice :)

1) boot and verify your hdmi output works.

in bash write:
Code:
for f in /sys/class/drm/card*; do echo $f && cat $f/enabled; done

Code:
a sample output could look like:
/sys/class/drm/card0-DP-1
disabled
/sys/class/drm/card0-HDMI-A-1
enabled
/sys/class/drm/card0-VGA-1
disabled

what you want is the line above enabled, and the bit after the card. In this case "HDMI-A-1". This is your enabled HDMI output. This is what you need to edit into grub later on.

2) now we need to grab the edid and save it to a file.

sudo mkdir -p /lib/firmware/edid
sudo cp /sys/class/drm/card0-HDMI-A-1/edid /lib/firmware/edid/edid.bin

3) we now need to edit grub to make sure we use the correct edid, and also force enable the hdmi output.

sudo nano /etc/default/grub

find the line that starts with GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT. It probably looks like:GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash"
We now need to append this line so it looks like:
Code:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash acpi_osi='!Windows 2012' drm_kms_helper.edid_firmware=HDMI-A-1:edid/edid.bin video=HDMI-A-1:D"

Now make sure that both instances of HDMI-A-1 reflects the actual output that you grabbed earlier, and save the file.

4)
Now we need to create a script for initramfs.
sudo nano /etc/initramfs-tools/hooks/include-edid-data

now paste the following into this newly created file: (or http://pastebin.com/raw.php?i=eWZ0c3pX )
Code:
#!/bin/sh

PREREQ="udev"
prereqs()
{
   echo "$PREREQ"
}

case $1 in
prereqs)
   prereqs
   exit 0
   ;;
esac

. /usr/share/initramfs-tools/hook-functions
# Begin real processing below this line

if [ ! -e "${DESTDIR}/lib/firmware/edid" ]; then
    mkdir -p "${DESTDIR}/lib/firmware/edid"
fi

if [ -r "/lib/firmware/edid/edid.bin" ]; then
   cp "/lib/firmware/edid/edid.bin" "${DESTDIR}/lib/firmware/edid/"
fi

manual_add_modules i915 radeon

exit 0

Save and exit then modify the user rights:
Code:
sudo chmod +x /etc/initramfs-tools/hooks/include-edid-data

5)
Update grub and initramfs:
sudo update-initramfs -u
sudo update-grub

6) turn off tv and reboot with avr on and tv off. If that works, try with both off. If this works, congratulations.

If not, try to remove the video=HDMI-A-1:e part in /etc/default/grub (this is what forces the video output). run sudo update-grub and try again.

If your machine locks up during boot, try to remove the video=HDMI-A-1:e part from /etc/default/grub. If you run into this problem during boot, you can also temporarily edit the entry in grub while pressing "e" and editing that entry. Press ctrl X or F10 to continue booting. To make that change permanent again change /etc/default/grub and run sudo update-grub again.


There has been reports with boot working fine with both avr and tv off, and even audio functioning with tv off. And reports of boot working only with the avr on but tv off. So try and see what you can get to work on your system.

Note: if you update your edid.bin you need to sudo update-initramfs -u again.


RE: Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - fritsch - 2014-10-29

Thanks very much for this writeup.


RE: Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - dEADkIRK - 2014-10-30

I finally found the time and figured out to get gdb to work

attached the result
http://paste.ubuntu.com/8738568/

and the log file here
http://paste.ubuntu.com/8738583/

For testing I rolled back to the repo ubuntu kernel release instead of 3.17.1

Thanks for looking!


RE: Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - fritsch - 2014-10-30

That's the same bug - I have seen now multiple times.

Please disable LCDProc and retry. It seems LCDProc calls into UpdateAVInfo somewhere late.

Please report back with it disabled.


RE: Radeon OSS with vdpau (howto) - fritsch - 2014-10-30

On a second look: Those message are so severly broken, that it seems something actively makes foobar with the audio. There are at least 4 Python threads running.

So: Please move your .kodi directory away. Start 100% clean without any addons, disable visualization (waveform in your case), only add one directory with the music. Best is only the sample in a directory that you send me by mail. Then try to reproduce.

We need to reduce the amount of information.