Kodi Community Forum
Am I asking too much? - Printable Version

+- Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: General Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Raspberry Pi (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=166)
+---- Thread: Am I asking too much? (/showthread.php?tid=176031)

Pages: 1 2

Am I asking too much? - eds72 - 2013-10-18

I've been fiddling off and on with XBMC on my RPi for probably 6+ months now but just cannot seem to get things to a point that I find acceptable. My primary goal is to get live TV, PVR and timeshifting functions working well enough to dump my lousy Comcast DVR.

I could fill pages with all the permutations of configurations I've tried. The short version is that I've tried lots of combinations of RaspBMC and OpenElec on the pi, and NextPVR and WMC on the back end. I've overclocked, tried different skins, etc. I've had varying levels of success with each, but none has clearly jumped out as superior.

My primary issue at this point is speed. Channel changes are at least 5-10 seconds. But the bigger issue is that seemingly simple tasks - like bringing up the guide - typically take at least 5 seconds. I will sometimes wonder if perhaps the keypress didn't register, only to have several get queued up and happen in rapid succession.

I've read a lot about recent speed improvements in Gotham, but I'm not sure the PVR clients have been updated to work with this release.