Kodi Community Forum
CPU/GPU Temp. on Raspberry Pi - Printable Version

Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Skins Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=67)
+---- Forum: Amber (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=203)
---- Thread: CPU/GPU Temp. on Raspberry Pi (/showthread.php?tid=182494)

Pages: 1 2


CPU/GPU Temp. on Raspberry Pi - Ruschi - 2014-01-06

Is it possible to edit an .xml-file in Amber and add:
System.CPUTemperature and System.GPUTemperature labels so I can see the Rapberry Pi Temperatures below the Clock (top right corner)?


RE: CPU/GPU Temp. on Raspberry Pi - torenvalk - 2014-01-15

You can put it on all the menus by editing Includes.xml.

Image

Locate the following:
PHP Code:
<label>$VAR[Time]</label>
</
control

And paste this after it:
PHP Code:
<control type="label">
    <
posx>130r</posx>
    <
posy>30</posy>
    <
width>300</width>
    <
height>50</height>
    <
align>left</align>
    <
font>Details</font>
    <
textcolor>White</textcolor>
    <
shadowcolor>ShadowDark</shadowcolor>
    <
label>CPU$INFO[System.CPUTemperature]</label
</
control>
<
control type="label">
    <
posx>130r</posx>
    <
posy>60</posy>
    <
width>300</width>
    <
height>50</height>
    <
align>left</align>
    <
font>Details</font>
    <
textcolor>White</textcolor>
    <
shadowcolor>ShadowDark</shadowcolor>
    <
label>GPU$INFO[System.GPUTemperature]</label>
</
control




If you want it on the pause screen you will also need to edit DialogSeekBar.xml.

Image

Locate the following:
PHP Code:
<label>$INFO[System.Time]</label>
</
control


And paste the same code above after it.


RE: CPU/GPU Temp. on Raspberry Pi - Ruschi - 2014-01-19

Thank YOU very much.. That´s what I was looking for...

Very cool..


RE: CPU/GPU Temp. on Raspberry Pi - Milhouse - 2014-01-19

Pretty sure there is only one temperature sensor for both the CPU and GPU on a Raspberry Pi, as it's a SoC rather than discrete CPU and GPU silicon. Any difference in the readings is likely due to timing differences resulting from when the single temperature sensor is read out. For example:
Code:
rpi512:~ # cat /sys/class/thermal/thermal_zone0/temp && cat /sys/class/thermal/thermal_zone0/temp
59451
58376

Same sensor, two significantly different readings, only milliseconds apart.

If you want to monitor the Raspberry Pi statistics, there's this script (bcmstat.sh) which will show you the temperature (amongst other things) but runs under ssh so not as pretty as having it in the GUI (but far more informative!) Smile


CPU/GPU Temp. on Raspberry Pi - Ruschi - 2014-01-19

your right! GPU.Temerature only shows "?"
So I only implemented CPU.Temperature..
I will try your script as well, Millhouse.. ty very much..
You all do a great job that the RPi becomes more and more popular as a Mediacenter..


RE: CPU/GPU Temp. on Raspberry Pi - Ruschi - 2014-01-19

oh man how can i run the bcmstat script..
I tried it via your github but I´m a noob.. how can i run it with putty?!


RE: CPU/GPU Temp. on Raspberry Pi - Milhouse - 2014-01-19

(2014-01-19, 20:38)Ruschi Wrote: oh man how can i run the bcmstat script..
I tried it via your github but I´m a noob.. how can i run it with putty?!

Depending on what distribution you are using (Raspbmc or OpenELEC), "install" as follows:

Raspbmc:
Code:
cd ~ && wget --no-check-certificate https://raw2.github.com/MilhouseVH/bcmstat/master/bcmstat.sh && chmod +x ./bcmstat.sh

OpenELEC:
Code:
cd ~ && curl https://raw2.github.com/MilhouseVH/bcmstat/master/bcmstat.sh -o ./bcmstat.sh && chmod +x ./bcmstat.sh

To view help:
Code:
~/bcmstat.sh -h

Example command:
Code:
~/bcmstat.sh xgcd10
x: monitor extended stats (cpu load and memory)
g: monitor GPU memory
c: enable colourisation
d10: 10 second interval

To make "xgcd10" the default setting:
Code:
echo "xgcd10" > ~/.bcmstat.conf
Now just run:
Code:
~/bcmstat.sh



RE: CPU/GPU Temp. on Raspberry Pi - Ruschi - 2014-01-19

ty very much for your help... I got it.. Nice script..
OpenELEC_Gotham (Milhouse) Version: devel-20140117222505-r17035-g9d596bb my Version :-)


RE: CPU/GPU Temp. on Raspberry Pi - botribun - 2014-01-28

Make it a bit more fit the skin...

Image

Locate the following in Includes.xml:
PHP Code:
<label>$VAR[Time]</label

And paste this OVER it:
PHP Code:
<label>$VAR[Time][COLOR=Orange]  â€¢  [/COLOR]CPU$INFO[System.CPUTemperature]</label

Image

Locate the following in DialogSeekBar.xml:
PHP Code:
<label>$INFO[System.Time]</label

And paste this OVER it:
PHP Code:
<label>$INFO[System.Time][COLOR=Orange]  â€¢  [/COLOR]CPU$INFO[System.CPUTemperature]</label



RE: CPU/GPU Temp. on Raspberry Pi - pengocha - 2014-04-15

Just a noob trying to understand here; can you tell me what function '•' has in your script? With that i see the cpu temp ok but before that: •, when i delete '•' from the script cpu temp is showing ok so a bit confused what the use is. Thx in advance !


CPU/GPU Temp. on Raspberry Pi - pecinko - 2014-04-15

You can use "-" (without quotes) instead.


RE: CPU/GPU Temp. on Raspberry Pi - pengocha - 2014-04-15

so.. no use, just eye-candy?


RE: CPU/GPU Temp. on Raspberry Pi - msrn - 2014-04-23

(2014-01-28, 11:15)botribun Wrote: Make it a bit more fit the skin...

Image

Locate the following in Includes.xml:
PHP Code:
<label>$VAR[Time]</label

And paste this OVER it:
PHP Code:
<label>$VAR[Time][COLOR=Orange]  â€¢  [/COLOR]CPU$INFO[System.CPUTemperature]</label

Image

Locate the following in DialogSeekBar.xml:
PHP Code:
<label>$INFO[System.Time]</label

And paste this OVER it:
PHP Code:
<label>$INFO[System.Time][COLOR=Orange]  â€¢  [/COLOR]CPU$INFO[System.CPUTemperature]</label

great!!

is it possible to also add CPU load beside temp and what will code be for this?


RE: CPU/GPU Temp. on Raspberry Pi - msrn - 2014-05-11

.....Anyone know command for cpu load?.....


RE: CPU/GPU Temp. on Raspberry Pi - Solo0815 - 2014-10-27

System.CpuUsage


This forum uses Lukasz Tkacz MyBB addons.