Kodi Community Forum
OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi Part 2 - Printable Version

Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: General Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Raspberry Pi (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=166)
---- Thread: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi Part 2 (/showthread.php?tid=184866)



RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi Part 2 - dhead - 2013-08-24

Hi rbej and popcornmix

Is xbmc-995.01-xvba_support-e70c101.patch included in latest Gotham builds ?
It may fix an issue with few media keys.

https://github.com/FernetMenta/xbmc/commit/c643928909249f536c65d96683576b2df907fcf6
https://github.com/FernetMenta/xbmc/commit/df180bc99ab2c68661426d6a186dacba044aacc3

https://github.com/OpenELEC/OpenELEC.tv/issues/2520


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi Part 2 - Squall13 - 2013-08-24

Hi guys. I did a fresh install of rbej's and ran into a couple of problems. I have some questions and I hope you folks can educate me.

As you can see from this screen shot, why does it look like that by default? And yes I copied the advancedsettings.xml from website to my userdata folder and changed guires to 1080

Image
Image



Secondly. I just thought I'll just fix it in the video calibration overscan stuff but every time I reboot or shut down the Pi it reverts back to being disfigured (default)

Lastly. My clock is always wrong even though I set the correct location.

I would greatly appreciate any help and thanks in advance


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi Part 2 - misa - 2013-08-24

Try to remove <guires>1080 or 720</guires> from advancedsettings.xml


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi Part 2 - tuxen - 2013-08-24

(2013-08-24, 12:20)popcornmix Wrote:
(2013-08-24, 11:58)SSC_Jarod Wrote: 3D Problem, that TV doesnt automatic switch to 3D (preferred mode = none) still there.

I think that got broken by:
3099 (PR)

I did patch the 3D audo switching code after that went in, but didn't have a 3D tv to test it on. I'll try to investigate more this weekend.

Note: XBMC doesn't support automatically switching to 3D mode on any platform, so until this happens, it's going to be an unofficial hack, and is subject to breaking with other xbmc commits.

I did submit a PR to try to get 3D auto switching support into main XBMC, but the result is that it's complicated and there's no scheme that fits well with the current architecture.
3072 (PR)
Hi popcornmix, your 3D patch in Frodo works absolutely flawless.
Just a heads up, hope you can squeeze it in and the openELEC/omxplayer guys take it in like they did with Frodo. It seems a bit silly to have to choose a global mode and wearing glasses in the rest of XBMC. I also like your refresh changes I do it from advancedsettings.xml as it is. But your solution is ofcause better. Actually I think saw this in some very old builds of openELEC can that be true? Not that its relevant.

Thanks for all you do.
Take care..


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi Part 2 - doveman2 - 2013-08-25

(2013-08-23, 17:59)evanspae Wrote:
(2013-08-23, 16:52)doveman2 Wrote: xbmc.log is an hour out (it's 15:49 here now but the log shows 14:49). I think the problem started at 14:27 in the log.


I confirm this has been broken for at least last two Gotham builds

Ah, I see it affects XBMC completely and shows the wrong time on Home and in the EPG (i.e. it shows the current programme as the one that was on an hour ago) and not just the log Sad

Can anyone advise which was the last build that has the right time, didn't have the GUI calibration bug and uses the new databases (I can go back to using the old databases if necessary but I really need to use a build without the other two issues)?


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi Part 2 - Squall13 - 2013-08-25

(2013-08-24, 19:04)misa Wrote: Try to remove <guires>1080 or 720</guires> from advancedsettings.xml

Hi there.

I tried that and it still reverts back to it's default settings (deformed) when I restart the thing.

Does guisettings.xml have anything to do with this? I came to an advice on the previous thread that I should delete it. I deleted it, and it looked fine. Made some adjustments on the overscan then when I restarted it it was messed up again.

How about config.txt? I remember one time that I should be changing gpu_mem in there somewhere depending on if its a 256 or 512 Pi.


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi Part 2 - Trickname - 2013-08-25

Newest Build is fantastic Big GrinBig GrinBig Grin

Reduced bootimes a lot !!!
runs even fast only on SDCard (list loading is not as fast as usb install but fast)
XBMC works propper
faster movie startup (25.08)
ultra fast live tv channel switching
fast GUI

only little thing system-settings-system seems a bit buggy (seem to be fixed 25.08)
and strange cache full before reaching required amount msg in addons

Thanks Rbej, popcornmix and all involved,
never thougt Pi could be that strong !!


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi Part 2 - evanspae - 2013-08-25

(2013-08-25, 02:42)Squall13 Wrote:
(2013-08-24, 19:04)misa Wrote: Try to remove <guires>1080 or 720</guires> from advancedsettings.xml

Hi there.

I tried that and it still reverts back to it's default settings (deformed) when I restart the thing.

Does guisettings.xml have anything to do with this? I came to an advice on the previous thread that I should delete it. I deleted it, and it looked fine. Made some adjustments on the overscan then when I restarted it it was messed up again.

How about config.txt? I remember one time that I should be changing gpu_mem in there somewhere depending on if its a 256 or 512 Pi.

There is obviously still a bug here (I think it looks as if its an XBMC Gotham one with menu restructures) and we will have to wait for developers to sort. Config.txt will not sort this as guisettings are being overwritten on each reboot.. its becoming a real showstopper preventing latest Gotham from daily usage. We will have to be patient. Most of the earlier issues of buffering and DTS, Dolby HD etc are looking good.

Thanks to all for progress todate keep up the good work. The eternal problem here is the better the solution being offered... the more we want from it! Tongue


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi Part 2 - Trickname - 2013-08-25

No wishes left for me except gui-sound and rtmp live stuck if rewind
(maybe i only have do check my personal remote.xml)


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi Part 2 - popcornmix - 2013-08-25

(2013-08-25, 00:38)doveman2 Wrote: Ah, I see it affects XBMC completely and shows the wrong time on Home and in the EPG (i.e. it shows the current programme as the one that was on an hour ago) and not just the log Sad

Just edit advancedsettings.xml and add the correct timezone information. E.g. I use:
Code:
<locale>
        <country>UK (24h)</country>
        <language>English</language>
        <timezone>Europe/London</timezone>
        <timezonecountry>Britain (UK)</timezonecountry>
    </locale>

That will fix the time. Not sure why setting this in the gui is broken in gotham builds.


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi Part 2 - evanspae - 2013-08-25

(2013-08-25, 12:28)popcornmix Wrote:
(2013-08-25, 00:38)doveman2 Wrote: Ah, I see it affects XBMC completely and shows the wrong time on Home and in the EPG (i.e. it shows the current programme as the one that was on an hour ago) and not just the log Sad

Just edit advancedsettings.xml and add the correct timezone information. E.g. I use:
Code:
<locale>
        <country>UK (24h)</country>
        <language>English</language>
        <timezone>Europe/London</timezone>
        <timezonecountry>Britain (UK)</timezonecountry>
    </locale>

That will fix the time. Not sure why setting this in the gui is broken in gotham builds.

I included advanced settings above in earlier 21-08 build and it did work, but it does not fix time as used by log etc.
Because of guisettings issues above I have reverted back to a more stable Frodo build, however during latest Gotham 24-08 tests I have feeling even with above locale entry XBMC displayed clock was still wrong?? Could this be also overwritten in guisettings?


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi Part 2 - popcornmix - 2013-08-25

(2013-08-25, 13:18)evanspae Wrote: I included advanced settings above in earlier 21-08 build and it did work, but it does not fix time as used by log etc.
Because of guisettings issues above I have reverted back to a more stable Frodo build, however during latest Gotham 24-08 tests I have feeling even with above locale entry XBMC displayed clock was still wrong?? Could this be also overwritten in guisettings?

advancedsettings should trump guisettings. My clock is correct with those settings in advancedsettings.
However I don't understand setting the timezone from the gui does not work.
It would be useul to determine where the problem lies. I'd like to know if:
raspmbc nightly (gotham) build has the same timezone bug
xbmc nightly gothman build on windows has the same timezone bug
xbmc nightly gotham build on openelec on PI has the same timezone bug

If it affects all platforms, then a trac ticket should be submitted. If it only affects openelec or Pi, then we need to investigate why that is.


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi Part 2 - evanspae - 2013-08-25

(2013-08-25, 13:30)popcornmix Wrote: advancedsettings should trump guisettings. My clock is correct with those settings in advancedsettings.
However I don't understand setting the timezone from the gui does not work.
It would be useul to determine where the problem lies. I'd like to know if:
raspmbc nightly (gotham) build has the same timezone bug
xbmc nightly gothman build on windows has the same timezone bug
xbmc nightly gotham build on openelec on PI has the same timezone bug

If it affects all platforms, then a trac ticket should be submitted. If it only affects openelec or Pi, then we need to investigate why that is.

Latest Windows Gotham nightly 24-08 does not have timezone clock issue and does not require locale advancedsettings. Both on screen clock and log and file timestamps are ok so no bug.

I am unable to test raspbmc nightly gotham build, hopefully someone can check this, but appears to be a PI issue.


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi Part 2 - rbej - 2013-08-25

Updated Gotham Branch

- updated Xbmc Gotham

- added some Xbmc patches from internet

http://netlir.dk/rbej/builds/

http://lysin.me/rbej


RE: OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi Part 2 - popcornmix - 2013-08-25

(2013-08-25, 13:56)rbej Wrote: Updated Gotham Branch
- added some Xbmc patches from internet

Any links? Would be nice to know what should be tested.


This forum uses Lukasz Tkacz MyBB addons.