Kodi Community Forum
Amazon Fire TV for XBMC - Printable Version

Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Discussions (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=222)
+--- Forum: Hardware (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=112)
--- Thread: Amazon Fire TV for XBMC (/showthread.php?tid=191109)



RE: Amazon Fire TV for XBMC - DiegoMejia - 2014-04-05

(2014-04-05, 08:21)tential Wrote:
(2014-04-05, 08:16)DiegoMejia Wrote: XBMC Video playback workig perfectly on the Amazon Fire TV
720p,1080i,1080p, and possible DTS working
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rHL42krl7IA

Can you please just post a summary of what you did?
and what the video is about. The video is 7 minutes long and you can definitely explain it in text that will take me 30 seconds to read.

on the notes of the youtube video i provided a link to my thread on XDA
http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2703716

not going to explain how i installed it, same method thats been posted 10+ already on this thread alone
1. installed XBMC on Ouya apk from my ouya, the link i provided on the XDA page is the last working XBMC for ouya that had working DTS. DTS worked on the ouya using xbmc but my Av receiver broke so i cant test XBMC DTS from the Amazon Fire TV
2. i own a Mele Pro f10 that i was using on the ouya but connected it to the amazon fire tv and was able to use keyboard and air mouse.
3. connected amazon fire tv running xbmc to my collectiong using NFS, took 20mins+
4. showed 720p,1080i and 1080p videos working flawlessy.
5. the XBMC v13 is the latest build that Koying released designed for the amazon TV. still lagging so the ouya xbmc version is currently the best bet for good video playback.


RE: Amazon Fire TV for XBMC - Koying - 2014-04-05

Hardly make sense to me that "XBMC on Ouya" and derivative would work, but not libstagefright on Gotham, it's the same code Wink

Could someone produce a log with libstagefright on Amazon Fire, i.e. just deactivate mediacodec?


RE: Amazon Fire TV for XBMC - thezoggy - 2014-04-05

@Koying so i see your updating the wiki to point to your build, right now I see its built off: https://github.com/koying/xbmc/tree/fixamcoutput
Do you plan on keeping it based off that branch or should I monitor another place (besides the wiki)?


RE: Amazon Fire TV for XBMC - Koying - 2014-04-05

(2014-04-05, 11:07)thezoggy Wrote: @Koying so i see your updating the wiki to point to your build, right now I see its built off: https://github.com/koying/xbmc/tree/fixamcoutput
The branch is just a temporary one for tests. I'll PR the changes to master, so no point in following it.


RE: Amazon Fire TV for XBMC - thezoggy - 2014-04-05

(2014-04-05, 11:20)Koying Wrote:
(2014-04-05, 11:07)thezoggy Wrote: @Koying so i see your updating the wiki to point to your build, right now I see its built off: https://github.com/koying/xbmc/tree/fixamcoutput
The branch is just a temporary one for tests. I'll PR the changes to master, so no point in following it.

okay cool, i plan on trying out that build this weekend (got my fire today). ill let you know if i see anything funky


RE: Amazon Fire TV for XBMC - nordr - 2014-04-05

(2014-04-05, 06:48)Ned Scott Wrote: Anyone want to post a debug log (wiki) where you go through and press all the buttons on the remote? From other logs posted, it seems XBMC thinks the Fire remote is a bluetooth keyboard, but I haven't seen a log with all the keys yet. With that info we can post improved keymaps for Fire TV users Smile
Yeah, here's a snippet of the log, I just took out the parts I could find that related to the button presses: http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=166485

The voice search and Home buttons don't seem to trigger anything in the log - they open up Amazon's search/launcher thing so doesn't look like XBMC even sees it? Here's the raw log in case I missed something: http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=166479

(2014-04-05, 10:47)Koying Wrote: Hardly make sense to me that "XBMC on Ouya" and derivative would work, but not libstagefright on Gotham, it's the same code Wink

Could someone produce a log with libstagefright on Amazon Fire, i.e. just deactivate mediacodec?
Koying, I'm going to produce a log for you right now.

Edit: Here's a log with mediacodec disabled (only libstagefright enabled). http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=166487


RE: Amazon Fire TV for XBMC - ~Craig~ - 2014-04-05

First of all well done to those who have been working on this box so far, It looks like good progress is already being made Smile
I have full faith that this will turn into a great product!

Living in the UK I cant get my hands on one of these yet but in a few months I will be on holiday in America, Perfect time to pick one of these up!
As the plug has a 100-240v rating there is no reason why I could not just fit an UK adapter on is there?

Also highly unlikely that this question is answerable but what would happen in terms of the services on the box itself, i.e I assume back here in the UK they would be unusable?
I assume they are software based so is it likely if and when it launches here they could be changed to what the UK will be offered?

I know that last question is pretty much impossible to answer but perhaps someone with better knowledge than me may have some insight into it (Perhaps through previous Amazon products?).

Many thanks
Craig


RE: Amazon Fire TV for XBMC - Koying - 2014-04-05

(2014-04-05, 12:13)nordr Wrote: Edit: Here's a log with mediacodec disabled (only libstagefright enabled). http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=166487
Thanks. And what's the output?
Green screen? Artifacts? Choppy?


RE: Amazon Fire TV for XBMC - nordr - 2014-04-05

(2014-04-05, 12:33)Koying Wrote:
(2014-04-05, 12:13)nordr Wrote: Edit: Here's a log with mediacodec disabled (only libstagefright enabled). http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=166487
Thanks. And what's the output?
Green screen? Artifacts? Choppy?
No green screen or artifacts. Picture looks fine except it's very choppy, basically unwatchable. Easily dropping at least 50% of frames. Audio is choppy as well.

I just tried playing the same video file again with same settings and there were artifacts this time. Seems inconsistent, usually there aren't artifacts but sometimes there are.

Thanks for taking a look into this! Let me know if you need anything else. Would love to get this working perfectly. Smile

Edit: With just mediacodec enabled, it handles the video much better, there is still some visible stuttering but is watchable. From what I can tell visually, it drops around a few frames a second compared to the 50% stuttering of libstagefright.

Edit 2: I've been playing around starting/stopping with only libstagefright enabled. Usually it's very choppy, but one time I resumed playback from a few minutes into the video and it was playing back perfectly! No visible dropped frames at all! Then I stopped/resumed and video was just frozen on a still while audio kept playing. I'll keep messing around and try to get a log you can look at.


RE: Amazon Fire TV for XBMC - thezoggy - 2014-04-05

(2014-04-05, 12:42)nordr Wrote:
(2014-04-05, 12:33)Koying Wrote:
(2014-04-05, 12:13)nordr Wrote: Edit: Here's a log with mediacodec disabled (only libstagefright enabled). http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=166487
Thanks. And what's the output?
Green screen? Artifacts? Choppy?
No green screen or artifacts. Picture looks fine except it's very choppy, basically unwatchable. Easily dropping at least 50% of frames. Audio is choppy as well.

I just tried playing the same video file again with same settings and there were artifacts this time. Seems inconsistent, usually there aren't artifacts but sometimes there are.

Thanks for taking a look into this! Let me know if you need anything else. Would love to get this working perfectly. Smile

Edit: With just mediacodec enabled, it handles the video much better, there is still some visible stuttering but is watchable. From what I can tell visually, it drops around a few frames a second compared to the 50% stuttering of libstagefright.

Edit 2: I've been playing around starting/stopping with only libstagefright enabled. Usually it's very choppy, but one time I resumed playback from a few minutes into the video and it was playing back perfectly! No visible dropped frames at all! Then I stopped/resumed and video was just frozen on a still while audio kept playing. I'll keep messing around and try to get a log you can look at.

can you tell if its cache? cpu usage? disk usage? thats causing the choppyness


RE: Amazon Fire TV for XBMC - garvani - 2014-04-05

(2014-04-05, 12:29)~Craig~ Wrote: Also highly unlikely that this question is answerable but what would happen in terms of the services on the box itself, i.e I assume back here in the UK they would be unusable?
I assume they are software based so is it likely if and when it launches here they could be changed to what the UK will be offered?

I know that last question is pretty much impossible to answer but perhaps someone with better knowledge than me may have some insight into it (Perhaps through previous Amazon products?).
This is actually very easily done. All you need to do is subscribe to a DNS service such as unblock.us, you then add the dns entries they give you into your firetv. This basically tricks your box into thinking its in the US. Netflix, Amazon, etc etc, they all work as you would expect. They give you a free trial, so sign up and try it on your pc before you by the firetv.. nothing to lose Smile


RE: Amazon Fire TV for XBMC - thezoggy - 2014-04-05

(2014-04-05, 13:01)garvani Wrote:
(2014-04-05, 12:29)~Craig~ Wrote: Also highly unlikely that this question is answerable but what would happen in terms of the services on the box itself, i.e I assume back here in the UK they would be unusable?
I assume they are software based so is it likely if and when it launches here they could be changed to what the UK will be offered?

I know that last question is pretty much impossible to answer but perhaps someone with better knowledge than me may have some insight into it (Perhaps through previous Amazon products?).
This is actually very easily done. All you need to do is subscribe to a DNS service such as unblock.us, you then add the dns entries they give you into your firetv. This basically tricks your box into thinking its in the US. Netflix, Amazon, etc etc, they all work as you would expect. They give you a free trial, so sign up and try it on your pc before you by the firetv.. nothing to lose Smile

or use vpn?


RE: Amazon Fire TV for XBMC - garvani - 2014-04-05

(2014-04-05, 13:02)thezoggy Wrote: or use vpn?

You could.. you lose a LOT of speed with a VPN. DNS is your full line speed.


RE: Amazon Fire TV for XBMC - Koying - 2014-04-05

(2014-04-05, 12:42)nordr Wrote: No green screen or artifacts. Picture looks fine except it's very choppy, basically unwatchable. Easily dropping at least 50% of frames. Audio is choppy as well.
I assume you are wired (not wifi), right? Looks like the Fire has a hard time keeping up, network-wise...


RE: Amazon Fire TV for XBMC - nordr - 2014-04-05

(2014-04-05, 13:07)Koying Wrote: I assume you are wired (not wifi), right? Looks like the Fire has a hard time keeping up, network-wise...
Actually no, that log was on wifi, was a little eager to try things out.

I just got a new log for you to check out: http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=166505

Wired ethernet, only libstagefright enabled. Hopefully you can make something of this?

Here's a run-through of what I did and how video playback was:

First video launch:

No artifacting, but very visibly stuttering. Audio cutting in and out as well with stuttering video. Unwatchable. Due to stuttering, movie isn’t playing back at full speed.

Pressed pause, then stopped the video. Then started playback again, started from the beginning.

For first 20 seconds or so, it’s stuttering bad, but not as bad as first playback. However, after that it seems to fix itself and is playing back completely smoothly! Doesn’t look like it’s dropping any frames at all. It’s perfect, video and audio! watched this run for a bit and paused at 4:47. Then stopped playback.

Then started again, resuming playback at 4:47. Video never shows, only keep seeing xbmc menu. Audio plays for about 5 or 10 seconds then stops. I press back and stop playback, then uploaded the log.