Kodi Community Forum
Raspberry Pi 2 quadcore-chip - Printable Version

Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: General Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Raspberry Pi (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=166)
---- Thread: Raspberry Pi 2 quadcore-chip (/showthread.php?tid=217063)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19


RE: Raspberry Pi 2 quadcore-chip - RageCrap - 2015-02-15

(2015-02-14, 15:59)bertybassett Wrote:
(2015-02-14, 02:14)username145 Wrote: Since I bought a Pi 1 like a week before the Pi 2 came out (Pi 2 on back order for March), decided to see how it runs as a PVR backend and client on Raspbmc, while recording to a NAS over wifi. It did surprisingly well, no problems at all. Only issue is UI sluggishness. Simply scrolling the EPG timeline, for example, or even navigating menus during playback, is quite choppy. If this choppiness does not exist with the Pi 2, I'll order 3 of them :P


here is my tube video of a fully set Raspberry Pi 2 with Aeon Nox with OPENelec and TVheadend and the guide going insanely fast and smooth.

Live TV bits are near the end.

P.S. don't forget the advancesettings.xml with <algorithmdirtyregions>3</algorithmdirtyregions>

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jjqEj0ArQEg

That looks really impressive thanks for posting. Can I ask a couple of questions.

1. Is your Pi2 Overclocked?
2. Do you have the TV Headend server running on Pi2 or on another computer?
3. Have u purchased the MPEG2 codec?
4. What is CPU percentage when watching live tv


RE: Raspberry Pi 2 quadcore-chip - P-Worm - 2015-02-15

For those that already have a unit, does software decoding of DTS core work? I had to give up on my previous Pi because most Blu-Ray rips have DTS instead of AC3 and I would constantly get stuttering. I am hoping that the Pi 2 will now be able to play these files and I can stop plugging my laptop into my TV.

P-Worm


RE: Raspberry Pi 2 quadcore-chip - noggin - 2015-02-15

Yes. On a Pi2, software DTS decoding to PCM works, as I believe does software Dolby True HD decoding.


RE: Raspberry Pi 2 quadcore-chip - menakite - 2015-02-15

(2015-02-15, 19:14)noggin Wrote: as I believe does Dolby True HD decoding.
Confirmed.


RE: Raspberry Pi 2 quadcore-chip - jpcolin - 2015-02-16

(2015-02-15, 13:50)RageCrap Wrote:
(2015-02-14, 15:59)bertybassett Wrote:
(2015-02-14, 02:14)username145 Wrote: Since I bought a Pi 1 like a week before the Pi 2 came out (Pi 2 on back order for March), decided to see how it runs as a PVR backend and client on Raspbmc, while recording to a NAS over wifi. It did surprisingly well, no problems at all. Only issue is UI sluggishness. Simply scrolling the EPG timeline, for example, or even navigating menus during playback, is quite choppy. If this choppiness does not exist with the Pi 2, I'll order 3 of them Tongue


here is my tube video of a fully set Raspberry Pi 2 with Aeon Nox with OPENelec and TVheadend and the guide going insanely fast and smooth.

Live TV bits are near the end.

P.S. don't forget the advancesettings.xml with <algorithmdirtyregions>3</algorithmdirtyregions>

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jjqEj0ArQEg

That looks really impressive thanks for posting. Can I ask a couple of questions.

1. Is your Pi2 Overclocked?
2. Do you have the TV Headend server running on Pi2 or on another computer?
3. Have u purchased the MPEG2 codec?
4. What is CPU percentage when watching live tv

Hi,

Would you mind sharing your setup?
NFS - SMB?
Advanced settings
sd card brand-type
overclock...

You system is very responsive. At the moment i use confluence en my system is not as responsive!


RE: Raspberry Pi 2 quadcore-chip - abpostelnicu - 2015-02-16

Hello guys, i use 1080XF and it works like a charm on the new raspberry pi 2 oc to 1000ghz, the main problem is that if i leave it on stand by for a long period it freezes and needs a reboot.


RE: Raspberry Pi 2 quadcore-chip - popcornmix - 2015-02-16

(2015-02-16, 09:15)abpostelnicu Wrote: Hello guys, i use 1080XF and it works like a charm on the new raspberry pi 2 oc to 1000ghz, the main problem is that if i leave it on stand by for a long period it freezes and needs a reboot.

Remove the overclock and see if the freeze stops.


RE: Raspberry Pi 2 quadcore-chip - abpostelnicu - 2015-02-16

Will do that and let you know. Another issue that i've encountered is when changing to the new skin 1080xf my library was no longer present and no scrapping was done..


RE: Raspberry Pi 2 quadcore-chip - Memphiz - 2015-02-16

(2015-02-16, 09:15)abpostelnicu Wrote: Hello guys, i use 1080XF and it works like a charm on the new raspberry pi 2 oc to 1000ghz, the main problem is that if i leave it on stand by for a long period it freezes and needs a reboot.

Way to much... Wink


RE: Raspberry Pi 2 quadcore-chip - abpostelnicu - 2015-02-16

(2015-02-16, 15:36)Memphiz Wrote:
(2015-02-16, 09:15)abpostelnicu Wrote: Hello guys, i use 1080XF and it works like a charm on the new raspberry pi 2 oc to 1000ghz, the main problem is that if i leave it on stand by for a long period it freezes and needs a reboot.

Way to much... Wink

How can that be way to much since the default speed is 900mhz?


RE: Raspberry Pi 2 quadcore-chip - Memphiz - 2015-02-16

because its more then factor 1000 man ...


RE: Raspberry Pi 2 quadcore-chip - da-anda - 2015-02-16

(2015-02-16, 15:37)abpostelnicu Wrote:
(2015-02-16, 15:36)Memphiz Wrote:
(2015-02-16, 09:15)abpostelnicu Wrote: Hello guys, i use 1080XF and it works like a charm on the new raspberry pi 2 oc to 1000ghz, the main problem is that if i leave it on stand by for a long period it freezes and needs a reboot.

Way to much... Wink

How can that be way to much since the default speed is 900mhz?
mhz vs ghz Wink


RE: Raspberry Pi 2 quadcore-chip - abpostelnicu - 2015-02-16

sorry for the misspelled word


RE: Raspberry Pi 2 quadcore-chip - disrupted - 2015-02-16

(2015-02-16, 16:13)da-anda Wrote:
(2015-02-16, 15:37)abpostelnicu Wrote:
(2015-02-16, 15:36)Memphiz Wrote: Way to much... Wink

How can that be way to much since the default speed is 900mhz?
mhz vs ghz Wink

getting nerdy in here Wink


RE: Raspberry Pi 2 quadcore-chip - Memphiz - 2015-02-16

i have put a smiley behind my statement - didn't think that this ended up in a bubblegum Wink


This forum uses Lukasz Tkacz MyBB addons.