Kodi Community Forum
MythTV front-end client built-into to XBMC - Printable Version

Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Discussions (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=222)
+--- Forum: Feature Requests (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=9)
--- Thread: MythTV front-end client built-into to XBMC (/showthread.php?tid=2297)



- elupus - 2008-09-17

nunrgguy1:
just one check more. if you start livetv, pause playback. wait 5 seconds. start playback again. let me know how long it takes before it starts stuttering again.


- nunrgguy1 - 2008-09-17

I tried that one last night - I didn't pause it for a huge amount of time but stuttering started within a few seconds. I can't remember my cache size of the top of my head but I think it's set for 4Mb.


- nunrgguy1 - 2008-09-17

Yup - just checked it and counted. Roughly 5 second pause and then played for 5-7 seconds before starting to stutter again.


- akacia - 2008-09-24

HI

I'm sorry for asking these questions: I spent some time to read this thread and seems it is a bug trace tool Smile

I'm looking on it like a user (and possibly as a tester) and my questions are:

1. what is the latest version for xbmcmythtv? is it still under development? I have only 0.20.34 - it seems out dated because of used protocol 34. Am I right?

2. trying to use myth://
I'm able to open LiveTV, recordings, Guide, but unable to play: seems I see *.png not avi or mp2

Thanks


- elupus - 2008-09-24

akaxia:

xbmcmythtv is not under development so that most likely won't work much longer. (or even now)

for the myth:// protocol you need to have a dns server that gives the hostname of your myth backend server, and it must be configured with an actual hostname not the default localhost. if you don't have a proper dns server, you can configure a static dns entry in advancedsettings.xml for xbmc (check online manual).

after you have checked/fixed the above and it still doesn't work, post a Debug Log on pastebin and link it here.


- akacia - 2008-09-24

elupus:

Sad Are there any reasons from technical point of view why you stopped xbmcmythtv plugin? Or you just don't have time for it?

for myth:// I'll post log later, when I come back home, but most likely this is not dns (may be I'm wrong), because I do see the list of channels in Guide folder, list of Live channels and list of recordings. They just won't play because they are repsented as *.png images

Thanks


- Gamester17 - 2008-09-24

xbmcmythtv was never developed by Team-XBMC, it is a third-party python script, see:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/xbmcmythtv/

Team-XBMC is instead currently in development of an native XBMC GUI interface that will when complete fully work as a (unified) PVR front-end, however it is still in early development and is not yet part of the main branch of XBMC, but if you which you can read more about that endeavor here (note that is still that the upcoming native PVR front-end and API side in XBMC is not quite 'production' ready yet, it is not even yet in the main branch of XBMC):
http://wiki.xbmc.org/?title=GSoC_-_Unified_PVR_Frontend


- akacia - 2008-09-24

Gamester17:

yeah, I know that it is third party.

Anyway, is there anyway to enjoy that team which working on PVR? (i know a little about c, c++, OOD etc)

thanks


Help is always welcomed - Gamester17 - 2008-09-24

akacia Wrote:is there anyway to enjoy that team which working on PVR? (i know a little about c, c++, OOD etc)
See => http://www.xbmc.org/forum/showthread.php?t=28918
more specifically http://www.xbmc.org/forum/showthread.php?t=28918&page=7

Wink


Strange behavoir in windows beta 2 - ptipton - 2008-10-07

Not sure whether this should be posted here or in the windows forum but am having several issues with myth:// and xbmc windows beta 2 ( Note everything works fine with other video sources)
Firstly the sound stutters and repeats itself
Secondly I have to have the GUI res set at 1920 x 1080 and video res at as "best available" to avoid the menu text issue here:http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=37373&highlight=blocks However TV playback doesn't play in widescreen. I can fix this by using a zoom of 1.3 but when the picture fits horizontally its slightly to big vertically (have double checked the screensize and this is set correctly)
Thirdly when I select a channel I get asked whether I want to Resume or Play from the start, obviously the program hasn't been recording from the start so am not sure where this option comes from.
Debug log is here.
http://pastebin.com/m96306f7
Am using HDMI connection to 1080p LCD TV and optical out for sound. If I hook up the good old xbox to the same TV and amp Livetv plays in full widescreen ( seems like better picture too) and with perfect sound!
Thanks


- akacia - 2008-10-08

I've tried couple times myth:// but it doesn't work for me with XBOX and Windows: unable to play something, but able to see channel list or recordings. How you did this?


- ptipton - 2008-10-08

ptipton Wrote:Not sure whether this should be posted here or in the windows forum but am having several issues with myth:// and xbmc windows beta 2 ( Note everything works fine with other video sources)
Firstly the sound stutters and repeats itself
Secondly I have to have the GUI res set at 1920 x 1080 and video res at as "best available" to avoid the menu text issue here:http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=37373&highlight=blocks However TV playback doesn't play in widescreen. I can fix this by using a zoom of 1.3 but when the picture fits horizontally its slightly to big vertically (have double checked the screensize and this is set correctly)
Thirdly when I select a channel I get asked whether I want to Resume or Play from the start, obviously the program hasn't been recording from the start so am not sure where this option comes from.
Debug log is here.
http://pastebin.com/m96306f7
Am using HDMI connection to 1080p LCD TV and optical out for sound. If I hook up the good old xbox to the same TV and amp Livetv plays in full widescreen ( seems like better picture too) and with perfect sound!
Thanks

OK have sorted the third, Play from start issue as this was simply a skin setting I had missed.


MythTV Stuttering - flammon - 2008-10-08

Hi, I also have MythTV stuttering problems in the latest beta. Fortunately, I have a June 2008 T3CH snapshot because it works fine - no stuttering. I'm not sure what has changed since June but there's definitely some regression. I'm anxious to start using the newer stuff but I can't because of the MythTV problems.


- teresa - 2008-10-10

I just upgraded to beta2 and I don't see any stuttering with this build and mythtv. I use mostly xbmcmythtv python script plugin because the mythtv:// stuff doesn't seem as functional since it doesn't group recordings. But I tried mythtv:// recordings and live tv and I haven't seen any stuttering with that either. What are your cache values? My video cache values are set at 1024kb.


- elupus - 2008-10-11

cache values doesn't affect dvdplayer.


This forum uses Lukasz Tkacz MyBB addons.