Kodi Community Forum
Release ESPN 3 - Printable Version

Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: Add-on Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=27)
+---- Forum: Video Add-ons (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=154)
---- Thread: Release ESPN 3 (/showthread.php?tid=230418)

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40


RE: ESPN 3 - MetalChris - 2016-01-31

(2016-01-31, 00:26)AlfredW Wrote: OK be gentle here.

I am a complete newbie. I have tried to read through much of this but I am completely lost.
Which is a state I seem to be in a lot when playing with KODI.....

So I have loaded up the ESPN3 addon but every time I try to use it I get the message:

smil url blank
unable to playback video

I have no idea where to start to fix this.
So is there anyone who has the patience to guide a completly lost newbie?

Thanks,
Alfred

Unfortunately, this is a common error. We believe the solution is to modify the add-on to so that users can enter their credentials in the settings and then allow the add-on to perform the authentication. Attempts to do this so far have been unsuccessful.


RE: ESPN 3 - awaters1 - 2016-05-03

See if this works https://github.com/awaters1/plugin.video.espn_3


RE: ESPN 3 - binder420 - 2016-05-03

(2016-05-03, 00:33)awaters1 Wrote: See if this works https://github.com/awaters1/plugin.video.espn_3

says dependencies not met on kodi 14.1 on windows and won't install


RE: ESPN 3 - awaters1 - 2016-05-03

(2016-05-03, 01:01)binder420 Wrote:
(2016-05-03, 00:33)awaters1 Wrote: See if this works https://github.com/awaters1/plugin.video.espn_3

says dependencies not met on kodi 14.1 on windows and won't install

Please try again, I lowered the version to match Gotham 13.x but I only tested on Jarvis 16.x.


RE: ESPN 3 - binder420 - 2016-05-03

ok was able to install now and signed in with directv login to access premium channels but all of the premium channels throw script error. the only one that works is espn3
here is my log: http://pastebin.com/BKs05cJ1


RE: ESPN 3 - awaters1 - 2016-05-03

(2016-05-03, 02:41)binder420 Wrote: ok was able to install now and signed in with directv login to access premium channels but all of the premium channels throw script error. the only one that works is espn3

Can you send me the debug log file? I was only able to test my provider for the login information so it is likely to be buggy with other providers. (http://kodi.wiki/view/Log_file/Easy) The NBCSN plugin (https://github.com/eracknaphobia/plugin.video.nbcsnliveextra/tree/master/resources/providers) has a specific scheme for each provider so I may have to do the same depending on what the debug log says.


RE: ESPN 3 - binder420 - 2016-05-03

(2016-05-03, 03:16)awaters1 Wrote:
(2016-05-03, 02:41)binder420 Wrote: ok was able to install now and signed in with directv login to access premium channels but all of the premium channels throw script error. the only one that works is espn3

Can you send me the debug log file? I was only able to test my provider for the login information so it is likely to be buggy with other providers. (http://kodi.wiki/view/Log_file/Easy) The NBCSN plugin (https://github.com/eracknaphobia/plugin.video.nbcsnliveextra/tree/master/resources/providers) has a specific scheme for each provider so I may have to do the same depending on what the debug log says.

how do i send u my log. the log uploader plugin throws script error whenever i tried loading up my log that is why i had to copy and paste manually from my kodi.log file to pastebin. Also directv login works well with NBCSN addon so you should check how he is using it on that.

on a side note which login did u test it with that it worked for you.


RE: ESPN 3 - awaters1 - 2016-05-03

Try the new version, I noticed that DirectTV does things a little differently so I added in a check for this. I'll look into hooking up the providers from NBCSN as a next step.


RE: ESPN 3 - binder420 - 2016-05-03

(2016-05-03, 04:27)awaters1 Wrote: Try the new version, I noticed that DirectTV does things a little differently so I added in a check for this. I'll look into hooking up the providers from NBCSN as a next step.

OK tried the new version but it says playback failed on each premium channel. i used directv as a login again. it did not throw an error this time but it says playback failed on each channel i clicked on. espn3 feed works fine


RE: ESPN 3 - siuside - 2016-05-03

(2016-05-03, 04:27)awaters1 Wrote: Try the new version, I noticed that DirectTV does things a little differently so I added in a check for this. I'll look into hooking up the providers from NBCSN as a next step.

This is just brilliant progress ! I don't think most have realized that this is the beginning of a full blown WatchESPN addon and maybe after you have dealt with a few bugs, you can have a new dedicated thread.

As far as the addon goes, none of the main ESPN channels work (but maybe that is a familiar bug?). For ESPN3, I am still getting the smilurl:none with Invalid IP for all the streams.

What provider have you tested your addon with? Are you able to play the other channels besides ESPN3 as well?


RE: ESPN 3 - locomot1f - 2016-05-03

this is awesome news!!!
I'll test it out to make sure it still works for people like me with free access.

if it's a go, i'll get it pushed to the official repo.
i'll also add your name to the developers. thanks @awaters1.


RE: ESPN 3 - locomot1f - 2016-05-03

looks good!

@awaters1, send me a pull request when you feel comfortable.
We can work to get this pushed to the official repo!
thanks for contributing, and keeping this addon going!


RE: ESPN 3 - MetalChris - 2016-05-03

Yes, nice to see someone has been able to pick up the torch on this one. My attempts at integrating @erack's authentication code failed miserably so I gave up and decided to concentrate my efforts on other things that I could understand, and where I could contribute something that actually worked.

Nice job @awaters1!


RE: ESPN 3 - awaters1 - 2016-05-04

@binder420
Pastebin is okay for the logs, but try again I made some more fixes.

@siuside
Smil url being blank is usually due to the ISP not supporting password-less login of ESPN3. Does watchespn through the browser work as is? or do you need to login to your ISP?

@locomot1f
Sounds good.

I added in some random fixes that I noticed so please try again.

I tried with Comcast XFINITY but theoretically every provider in the list should work.


RE: ESPN 3 - binder420 - 2016-05-04

OK installed the new version still does not work on direct tv login
also tried it with my cousins xfinity tv account and i get script error with that as well

kodi log: http://pastebin.com/e18afQea


This forum uses Lukasz Tkacz MyBB addons.