Kodi Community Forum
Solved KodiBuntu, after update want load Kodi at all - Printable Version

Kodi Community Forum (https://forum.kodi.tv)
+-- Forum: Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=33)
+--- Forum: General Support (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=111)
+---- Forum: Linux (https://forum.kodi.tv/forumdisplay.php?fid=52)
---- Thread: Solved KodiBuntu, after update want load Kodi at all (/showthread.php?tid=233067)

Pages: 1 2


KodiBuntu, after update want load Kodi at all - pettergulbra - 2015-07-24

Hi

It worked yesterday, but to day it want load Kodi at all.
Just goes directly to the login screen for Lubuntu.
If I select Kodi in the upper corner, write my password, it start to load, but just goes back to the login screen.

I used the "sudo apt-get update" and "sudo apt-get upgrade" commands.

It started to not remember my settings inside Kodi, sound, video settings etc.
Always got back to "standard" when I booted up again. Now it want start Kodi. :-(

I can`t seem to understand. I have tried to run the commands all over again, but there is nothing to update.

Hope someone can help me :-)

This is the last log I got out before it would not load Kodi. http://xbmclogs.com/pf1tmrzap


RE: KodiBuntu, after update want load Kodi at all - DaVu - 2015-07-24

Not sure if this is related....but:

Quote:14:16:46 T:140056752531200 ERROR: IOError: [Errno 28] No space left on device

And never saw anything like this in a log:

Quote:14:13:56 T:140057298056960 ERROR: SQL: Insertion failed because database is full

post the output of:

Code:
df -h



RE: KodiBuntu, after update want load Kodi at all - un1versal - 2015-07-24

Login to the box and run

Code:
sudo apt-get autoclean && sudo apt-get clean

find /var/log -type f -delete

find /var/log -type f -name "*.gz" -delete

That should recover some space

Then once that is done reboot.

Once rebooted download texturecache.py 158373 (thread)

Login again into box execute texturecache.py with P option then with R option then with Xd option

That should clear you all the crud and wast of textures that are dead from your Thumbnails folder and recover at least a few GB space from there.

Code:
python ./texturecache.py P; python ./texturecache.py R; python ./texturecache.py Xd



RE: KodiBuntu, after update want load Kodi at all - pettergulbra - 2015-07-24

(2015-07-24, 15:03)David1977 Wrote: Not sure if this is related....but:

Quote:14:16:46 T:140056752531200 ERROR: IOError: [Errno 28] No space left on device

And never saw anything like this in a log:

Quote:14:13:56 T:140057298056960 ERROR: SQL: Insertion failed because database is full

post the output of:

Code:
df -h

This is what I get:
Filesystem Size Used Avail Use% Mounted on
/dev/sda1 11G 5.8G 4.4G 57% /
none 4.0K 0 4.0K 0% /sys/fs/cgroup
udev 1.9G 4.0K 1.9G 1% /dev
tmpfs 390M 908K 389M 1% /run
none 5.0M 0 5.0M 0% /run/lock
none 2.0G 4.0K 2.0G 1% /run/shm
none 100M 4.0K 100M 1% /run/user



(2015-07-24, 19:22)uNiversal Wrote: Login to the box and run

Code:
sudo apt-get autoclean && sudo apt-get clean

find /var/log -type f -delete

find /var/log -type f -name "*.gz" -delete

That should recover some space

This I just get Access denied for every line?

Quote:Then once that is done reboot.

Once rebooted download texturecache.py 158373 (thread)

Login again into box execute texturecache.py with P option then with R option then with Xd option

That should clear you all the crud and wast of textures that are dead from your Thumbnails folder and recover at least a few GB space from there.

Code:
python ./texturecache.py P; python ./texturecache.py R; python ./texturecache.py Xd

This seemed to run ok, ended with:
Summary: 20,997 files; Total size: 1,461,351 KB

Found 613 orphaned files for 5,116 database files.

This is far too many orphaned files for this number of
database files - more than 5% - and something may be wrong.

Check your configuration, database, and Thumbnails folder.

Add "orphan.limit.check = no" to the properties file
if you wish to disable this check.


I got into Kodi again, but still think there is something wrong someplace.
It won`t download from my server, an addon. It stops on 4%, and that maybe is for the other post? 232312 (thread)

Log: http://xbmclogs.com/pafwid7ak


RE: KodiBuntu, after update want load Kodi at all - un1versal - 2015-07-25

Access denied?.. can you pastebin your dmesg log please.

Also

Code:
ls -all /home/petter/.kodi/



RE: KodiBuntu, after update want load Kodi at all - pettergulbra - 2015-07-25

Dmesg. http://xbmclogs.com/pngcbrrpd

ls -all /home/petter/.kodi/:
total 32
drwxr-xr-x 8 petter petter 4096 Mar 17 08:49 .
drwxr-xr-x 21 petter petter 4096 Jul 24 21:06 ..
drwxr-xr-x 40 petter petter 4096 Jul 24 20:46 addons
drwxr-xr-x 2 petter petter 4096 Mar 17 08:49 media
drwxr-xr-x 2 petter petter 4096 Mar 17 08:49 sounds
drwxr-xr-x 2 petter petter 4096 Mar 17 08:49 system
drwxr-xr-x 5 petter petter 4096 Jul 24 21:06 temp
drwxr-xr-x 9 petter petter 4096 Jul 24 20:05 userdata


RE: KodiBuntu, after update want load Kodi at all - un1versal - 2015-07-25

You resuming device, can you please do a proper shutdown and restart device.

Reposts your dmesg from a clean shutdown and restart.

Then look at http://www.thegeekstuff.com/2012/08/fsck-command-examples/ I would like to see what fsck has to say about your /dev/sda1 you probably need to stop kodi from running and unmount /dev/sda1 before running fsck.


RE: KodiBuntu, after update want load Kodi at all - pettergulbra - 2015-07-25

Dmesg after reboot: http://xbmclogs.com/pzbyljaxz

Can`t get the other to work, just got errors.
Or just nothing happens.
Feel a little bit stupid now, feels like the commands in that article don`t work in Lubuntu?

# parted /dev/sda 'print' (I have put in sda1 instead to), nothing happens
Just parted, nothing happens.Or # parted.
Or just No device found


RE: KodiBuntu, after update want load Kodi at all - un1versal - 2015-07-25

Again did you stop kodi and unmounted the partition before running fsck?

We need to know what going on, what errors show up to which commands, what you typing, everything, else there's no point wasting time trying to figure out what issues you have.

And yes the commands should be fully supported they are basic tools if they werent supported it would tell you unrecognised command or something.


RE: KodiBuntu, after update want load Kodi at all - un1versal - 2015-07-25

(2015-07-24, 20:20)pettergulbra Wrote: This seemed to run ok, ended with:
Summary: 20,997 files; Total size: 1,461,351 KB

Found 613 orphaned files for 5,116 database files.

This is far too many orphaned files for this number of
database files - more than 5% - and something may be wrong.

Check your configuration, database, and Thumbnails folder.

Add "orphan.limit.check = no" to the properties file
if you wish to disable this check.


I got into Kodi again, but still think there is something wrong someplace.
It won`t download from my server, an addon. It stops on 4%, and that maybe is for the other post? 232312 (thread)

Log: http://xbmclogs.com/pafwid7ak

Regarding this, do what it says add that option orphan.limit.check = no to texturecache.cfg config file (you create this manually its on thread I linked you) and rerun python ./texturecache.py P
Its perfectly safe that message is just a safety precaution that P is really going to really remove all the crap you dont need or doesnt exist anymore, I run it once a month with the commands I gave you.

But texturecache is secondary now you can do it after we determine whats going on with your drive why you getting errors about databases being full etc...

What is primary concern is:

Dont post vague answr like it "gives me errors" type answers or sketchy information, if in doubt provide screenshot or pictures of the messages and whats going on, IF I or anyone trying to determine whats going on, were in front of the machine its one thing, when we ask you to run any commands we expect detailed feedback to determine whats wrong and how to proceed.


RE: KodiBuntu, after update want load Kodi at all - pettergulbra - 2015-07-25

This is what I get after I made the texturecach.cfg file in the same place as texturecach.py: http://xbmclogs.com/pfebfmkg6

Sorry for not to give enough explanations. Try to get better :-)

I stopped Kodi from running, logged out to Lubuntu.

Did not try to unmount then.

Tried it now, with:
Code:
sudo umount /dev/sda1
Then I get this:
Code:
umount: /: device is busy.
        (In some cases useful info about processes that use
         the device is found by lsof(8) or fuser(1))

Tries "sudo lsof", and that gives me a really long list, of thing I really don`t understand: http://xbmclogs.com/p6jmgqdpz (it`s even to long for putty)

I`m normally a Windows guy, so bear with me :-)


RE: KodiBuntu, after update want load Kodi at all - un1versal - 2015-07-25

Ah yes, it will probably be easier to boot into recovery mode and run fsck from there, since then there wont be any programs running which you need before unmounting and running fsck on any drive.

But we need you to do that to determine whats gong on with these errors youre getting.

https://wiki.ubuntu.com/RecoveryMode then pick Drop to root shell prompt (dont mount any drives or partitions leave that step alone) run fsck /dev/sda1 from there (take a snap with your phone from any errors or output... and post picture here.

If it turns out there's any reported errors on drive we can try fixing them with fsck -AR -y http://www.thegeekstuff.com/2012/08/fsck-command-examples/ while you are there.

Then post all information collected here.


RE: KodiBuntu, after update want load Kodi at all - pettergulbra - 2015-07-25

Hi

I can`t seem to make the shift key work to get in Recovery Mode on my Chromebox.

My Chromebox is set up with KodiBuntu standalone. Will this have something to do with it?


RE: KodiBuntu, after update want load Kodi at all - un1versal - 2015-07-25

no


RE: KodiBuntu, after update want load Kodi at all - pettergulbra - 2015-07-26

Sorry, but I have now tried with 3 keyboards, cabled and wireless. No one make me able to get to the GNU Grub Menu when pushing the "shift" key.
Not with the left or with the right key.

I have tried with manual restart, restart from the menu in Lubuntu, restart from the menu in Kodi.
Tried to constantly sit and push the "shift" key many times under boot, tried to hold it down in various time places at startup.
But, can`t get the GNU Grub Menu.

The Chromebox is set up as mentioned in this thread: 194362 (thread)
Standalone setup KodiBuntu, as mentioned before.

The only thing I see in the boot up is some text lines with many OK`s behind.
No logos or anything else.

I appreciate all the help I get, I`ll try as best I can to make/do what You want me to do/try.

Kindly
Petter


This forum uses Lukasz Tkacz MyBB addons.